We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable short break, we will return”
Review of Min-y-mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Min-y-mor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Reviewed 19 July 2014

After reading mixed reviews I decided to see for myself and booked a two night stay. I think this hotel could be excellent if it has some improvements invested in, which I think is underway as decorating was happening while we were there.

We arrived on a very wet day, (one advantage is lots of on site parking), we were greeted by a helpful young lady who informed us where to go for the evening meal if we wanted it and how to find our room, she offered to help us with our bags which was very kind. We had booked a family room, booked last minute for two adults a toddler and a baby. Having read about the many stairs to climb and no lift I was slightly concerned as we were told we were on the top floor, but this wasn't a problem to carry the two children up stairs, I would guess in total 20 steps.

Our room looked like it had been recently revamped with fresh wall paper and new bathroom, the beds looked new as did the bedding. There was a big flat screen tv, kettle, with tea coffee milk sugar and biscuits. There were a few little things which could be improved, new carpet and new dressing table, the bath panel appeared to be coming off in one corner but these are only slight things and did not affect our stay at all (I was going to report this but had to leave rather hastily). The bed was comfy and a cot was provided with bedding for our baby.

We had an evening meal here which was FANTASTIC and very reasonably priced. The service was a little slow but worth the wait. The breakfast was a different matter (different staff) they did not seem to know what each other were doing, we were asked our order three times, and our tea/toast order likewise. We arrived 10minutes into breakfast and there were no glasses for juice left, again we asked twice for two glasses to be told they didn't have any left, there was no offer of any other drinking vessel so we used our tea cups! We had to laugh about this. The quality of the breakfast was ok.

Location: fantastic, cross the road to the promenade and beach, can walk with push chair easily to the harbour and town, don't think the location could've been better. We really enjoyed our stay, When I arrived home I realised the confirmation of booking was a lot more than I had been quoted, I emailed the hotel and was phoned within an hour with the explanation we were accidentally charged the top rate rather than the quoted amount. We were given an instant refund.
We will probably return in the future. Thank you

Room Tip: Get a sea view if possible as it's so beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thanks for your very thorough review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your compliments to our evening kitchen team. I was disappointed with your comments on the disorganised breakfast and have discussed the matter with the kitchen staff to try and avoid this happening again.
We look forward to seeing you again and hope your impression of the breakfast and service will be better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Top marks to everybody really worth a visit everything was spot on highly recommend this hotel. Nothing to much trouble booked at last minute but room and everything spotless. Not overpriced either. Go on you will

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrytach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thanks for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for three days, we have a three year old and a one year old. Lovely hotel with amazing view and amazing beer garden overlooking the beach and sea. There is a family room and games room for the kids which was a nice place for them to chill out in the main bar area. Staff very friendly. The lady in charge was lovely, always came and said hello and helped with what they could. The room we had was massive with a double and a double bunk bed cordoned off so we had privacy when kids went to bed. The only downside was no lift in the hotel, as we were on second floor and didn't want to keep taking the buggy up and down but it was safe to leave it in reception so not a big problem. We were also only a five minute walk from the town centre, which is very nice and there are a few things for kids to do like an amusement arcade with rides and a soft play place which is great.the beach is gorgeous, long long stretch of golden sand. Kids loved it. Was very quiet but that's what we wanted. Loved Barmouth.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoreenShami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for your fantastic review we are glad you enjoyed your stay in room 16 and Barmouth in general and hope you will visit us again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here in room 1 with a huge bay window overlooking the sea.
We spent several hours sitting in the window watching the World go by and the tide roll in and out.
The room was large and spacious, nicely decorated and with a lovely big bathroom - all very modern.

We dined in the bar on both nights where the food was delicious and excellent value. We stayed on B&B basis and the breakfast menu was ample in pleasant surroundings.

The staff are all pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is well placed for sitting and watching the World go by, quite close to the town centre but not in the middle of the high street. Touring from this location is a joy.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room overlooking sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Guest Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, the room, dining experience and general ambiance. I will pass on your compliments to our fantastic team. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our group of 25 booked in for 5 nights including evening meals. Varied menu, great food, really nice and helpful people. Rooms clean and well furnished. Super location right on the seafront (lovely sunsets) in easy reach of lots of picturesque mountain country. Good access to ground floor rooms and lots of parking space. Everybody went home full of praise. Many thanks. Paul

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea views. There is no lift but the ground floor rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for your very positive review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider us again and recommend us to other groups .
I will pass on your feedback to all of our lovely team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just got in from a pleasant evening with friends...had my usual chicken tikka and sides and as usual it was lovely. Big pieces of chicken served with rice veg samosa's and chapatis, excellent value for money and if you have a loyalty card you are entitled to a free drink...make sure you book otherwise you may be dissappointed as it gets busy.

See ya soon x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Guest Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for your first class review, we are glad you enjoyed your curry once again and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Were booked into room 12. Very tired and in desperate need of updating but relatively clean. However, there were numerous flies in the room and to top it all it another "guest" had a duplicate of our room key and tried letting himself into the room. My granddaughter spilled some fruit shoot on the sheet causing quite a stain, the duvet cover was simply thrown over it by housekeeping and the sheet not changed. Also found some odd hair in the bed. Breakfast was good and the location exceptional. Cut our stay short. On the front entrance there is an award of excellence from Tripadvisor which was puzzling to say the least.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12, this family room is up at least 3 flights of stairs which makes it very awkward with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for your feedback, am very sorry if you were not happy with your stay! Room 12 is one of our yet to be refurbished rooms they do vary in quality,however we do always try to maintain good standards of housekeeping and if there was a problem in this respect it would have been best to address it with us directly so we could have rectified it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
0.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
219 reviews
13 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
14.6 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
15.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Min-y-mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Min-y-mor Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Barmouth LL42 1HW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range: £81 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Min-y-mor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Min y Mor Hotel is ideally located on the Promenade in the picturesque town of Barmouth in North Wales.The Min y Mor Hotel has a licensed restaurant, Lounge Bar, Bar, Family room and Function Room, all are open to non residents as well as residents. The Restaurant has a good reputation locally and among visitors alike with our Chefs traditional and vegetarian dishes using the best market ingredients available and in generous quantities. The residents Menu is changed daily. All special diets can be catered for with prior notice.All the rooms in the hotel are en-suite and have Tea/Coffee making facilities, TV and Telephone.A few short steps from the hotel and you'll find yourself on the sandy beach of Cardigan Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Min-y-mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Min-y-Mor Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing