We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Barmouth Slabs

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #12 of 20 things to do in Barmouth
Attraction details
Upper Arley, Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Well to be true I loved it all because it was lovely to see all the nice views when we saw a view of a place we could eat we got hungry so we asked so went to get something to eat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

it is worth the steep climb up the hill behind Barmouth to reach these spectacular slabs of rock. The views alll round are amazing, across to other mountains, the mawddach estuary and the sea. You can walk back to the town from the Slabs, or you can head on further to the stone circle of Cerrig Arthur, and come back via the route of the Taith Ardudway Way. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank helidjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dades gorges tinghir morrocco
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dramatic views”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We walked up to the Slabs, through the very pretty NT land that leads up from Barmouth (don't miss the beautiful 'Frenchman's Grave', well worth the short detour), then beyond to the Carrig Arthur stone circle. It was a cold winter's day, but the views were exceptional across the mountains, estuary and sea. We really loved it up here and will come back again. The Slabs looked good for climbing, but my climbing days are over (sigh)...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank auberge_chezpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing views”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

fanatastic views of the mawddach estuary and Barmouth itself, look out for the birds of prey around the slabs. quite steep though!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank air1brading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Climbing with ropes”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I went there with a group a couple of years ago and really quite enjoyed it. It's a sheet of rock with enough holds to climb up. We went with someone who had certificates to do the assent! I think it was actually two chaps with a long rope and some knots. Anyway, I'm happy my climbing's okay, but I wouldn't like to try it without the rope.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alyosha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barmouth Slabs also viewed

Barmouth, Gwynedd
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Barmouth Slabs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing