We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, comfortable. Breakfast not great. A bit noisy at times.”
Review of Tal Y Don Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tal Y Don Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very clean, comfortable. Breakfast not great. A bit noisy at times.”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We booked this for my husbands birthday, it was book 2 nights, get 3rd free. Bargain. I looked at the website and the pictures of the rooms do seem a little off-putting, very bright wallpaper and bed covers, but they are actually really lovely and clean. The bed was more like a king size than a double and the bedding was a very high quality. The bathroom was small but spotless and nicely tiled and decorated. There were always plenty of complimentary tea,coffee and biscuits left everyday.
There is a locked door policy at mid-night which didn't bother us as Barmouth is not a late night town.
Our room was at the side of the hotel and there was noise from the pub below which is only to be expected, apparently you can avoid this if your room is at the back.
The breakfast however was a bit of a let down. The breakfast room is just lovely,there was fresh fuit, cereal and juices on the dresser. We served ourselves with these and sat down to wait for the waitress to take our order, she came in at 8.30(breakfast was 8 til 9) She didnt appear to want to be there at all.
When another guest asked if it would be possible to have a poached egg, she told her "No because we use free range eggs and you cant poach them,they just disperse"
The breakfast was a bit of a let down, just not well cooked at all. On the second day we asked for boiled eggs, they were allowed but they were snotty. My husband mentioned that they were not cooked and the look he got was unbelievable! She asked" So you want hard boiled ones then, is that it?" he just said yes as it seemed easier than arguing and she brought some back that were as snotty as the first! We didnt breakfast there on our last day.
That aside, we had a fantastic weekend and we would consider staying there again as it was cheap but we'd give the brekkie a miss!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleverCat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    64
    24
    14
    11
See reviews for
38
93
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Nice break, right in the middle of Barmouth.
A bit loud at night, from bar underneath room up till around 12pm, outside the street was noisey till 2pm on Saturday night, didn't bother us too much, but if you like quiet and still want to stay near the centre I suggest you ask for one of the rooms on the top floor at the back, then you won't hear the noise as the walls appear to be made of foot wide granite :-)
Fantastic beer garden if you like to smoke, best covered area I have ever seen for smokers!
Comfy bed, shower was great, nice wall paper.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandJ359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

stayed at the Tal Y Don Hotel, the room we had was lovely and to a high standard, breakfast was lovely couldnt fault this hotel at all.

  • Liked — Location in the center, only 2 minutes from the sea front.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkj0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2006

I stayed at the Tal Y Don for 5 days at the end of June. My room was spacious, well furnished at kept beautifully clean during my stay. My room was at the top of the house and was very quiet. I booked on-line directly with the Tal Y Don and the process was very simple. Any queries I had prior to my stay were answered promptly by the owners. The booking-in process is at the bar, but I was not kept waiting and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The cost was £35 per night for the room and a huge Welsh breakfast. I also had several lunches and dinners in the bar. Portions were enormous, freshly cooked on the premises and the service was excellent even when the pub was busy. The pub has its regular clientele and they too were very friendly. There was always interesting conversation to be had if you wanted to join in.

One downside might be that, being a pub, it is locked for the night at around half past midnight. This could be a problem if you planned a late return after your day out. However, unless you are a real night owl, ths should not cause you any difficulty. The Tal Y Don is excellent value for money and right in the centre of Barmouth, a couple of hundred yards from the beach and a pleasant 5 minute stroll to the harbour. I was made to feel very welcome and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ella303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2005

We stayed in the Tal-Y-Don Hotel in Barmouth in June 2005. We had two double en-suite rooms. Both rooms were very spacious and neat, and the bathrooms were large and sparkling clean. We enjoyed the large full English breakfasts in the morning. The hotel is very central and within easy walking distance of the beach and all shops. The hotel is situated above a busy pub, and you have to walk through the pub to access the hotel's rooms. This wasn't easy as the bar was full of people at the time. We requested rooms at the top of the hotel, and we did not hear any noise from the bar. As there is no reception at the hotel, we had to arrange our accomodation with the bar staff on our arrival, and they were unfriendly and unhelpful. That said, the staff who served breakfast the next morning was a lot more friendly and helpful. All things considered, our accommodation was worth the budget price of £25 per person per night.

Helpful?
23 Thank Trompie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#13 of 23 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tilman
The Tilman
#9 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tal Y Don Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tal Y Don Hotel

Property: Tal Y Don Hotel
Address: High Street, Barmouth LL42 1DL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tal Y Don Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 5 individually-styled double en-suite bedrooms. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking, apart from the bar. Please note that due to stair access to accommodation, bedrooms are not suitable for disabled people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tal Y Don Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tal Y Don Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing