We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are looking for amazing place, run by lovely people- this one is for you :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryn Melyn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Ranked #1 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“If you are looking for amazing place, run by lovely people- this one is for you :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were looking for nice place to get away to for a weekend and Bryn Melyn was the best choice we could have made. Run by lovely people David and Heather who share their love for the area with their guests giving priceless advice on which way to go and what places are the best to be seen. We also have been advised which tour to take on our way back home so we could still admire beautiful landscape- this was great trip so thank you very much David for the map ;))
House itself is located in a beautiful spot- views are just breath taking and we didn't mind the 5 mins walk up the hill ;) breakfasts were beautiful- cooked from local ingredients and just perfect :) rooms are made to highest standards- very clean and smell nice ;))
I would highly recommend Bryn Melyn and we will surely come back there in summer:) Thank you very much for making our weekend so nice and special :))

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your generous words - it was lovely to be able to help you 'unpack' this part of Wales and to make sure you got the most out of your short stay. Hopefully you will be able to come back in warmer weather and make the most of the longer days to explore further - there's so much to see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
151
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Near Birmingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We received a warm welcome in more than one way, both from David and Heather and into a lovely warm building on a very cold night. The rooms are nicely decorated and really comfortable with spacious en suites. Hosts were friendly and had a good knowledge of the area's amenities. If you are into baths there is a wide range of Radox bubble baths in the bathroom. Breakfast was a good variety of the usual breakfast foods with freshly cooked hot foods and local produce. Bird spotting information and binoculars are also provided for anyone wishing to watch the local birdlife on the terrace at breakfast, there's a wide variety! The views from our rooms were great, overlooking the estuary. There is also a good amount of parking available once you negociate the steep, narrow lane but it is certainly worth it. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Going up the hill you need to either go past the drive way and turn round further up and come back d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anitacott76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review and your positive comments - they really are very much appreciated. Heather and I are pleased you felt so welcomed - we try to remember that this is our home as well as our business and treat all our guests as if they were friends who had come to stay!
We look forward to seeing you again - the birds will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

It is awesome. We will definitely travel there again. Explaining it, is very difficult you have to go to see how beautiful is there and how perfect is the place with unbelievable view. David and Heather are really friendly and providing guidance to local sights and lending us detailed maps of area.

Room Tip: just remember to have tooth brush and slippers with yourself and also there is not any fridge at ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Minoo-Kami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We are so pleased you felt the same as we do about the beautiful location we have here. We felt it was special from the day we first saw it and it pleases us so much when our guests feel the same way. We very much hope you are able to return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This outstanding B&B was a phenomenal way to celebrate my 27th birthday with my family. With our usual accommodation (the caravan) full to capacity, this B&B was perfect for the overspill! My cousin and myself shared a twin room, and my parents had a double. Barmouth is a special place to us all, and Bryn Melyn accentuated this.

I couldn't write this review, without mentioning the outstanding view towards the harbour/estuary. A truly wonderful way to wake up, with a plethora of birds and a squirrel also outside the window. The large room (#6) itself was perfectly clean and stylishly and simplistically decorated. Personal taste - it was my first experience of a memory foam mattress, and I wasn't altogether convinced, but other than my cousin's snoring I slept peacefully both nights!

David and Heather were exceptional, friendly, amusing and engaging hosts, always keen to make sure everything was to our liking. We were able to purchase some great Welsh ales for imbibing on the Saturday evening. The quality of the full Welsh in the morning was great, with accompanying self-service toast, spreads, yoghurts, etc. Ample, but not overwhelming, choice!

The location of Bryn Melyn allowed perfectly for a splendid short panoramic walk. And it took no more than 10-15 minutes for a simply walk through woodland down into Barmouth itself - which is then ideal for a walk across the bridge. We had an absolutely brilliant weekend at a super B&B - I would also thoroughly recommend Bistro Bermo where we ate on the Saturday night.

I would definitely stay at Bryn Melyn in the future, and would without hesitation encourage everyone to stay there for a thoroughly indulgent and relaxing trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
It's always a pleasure to share in the celebration of special occasions, (and hey - you're only 27 once so that's pretty unique!), so it was great to have you and your family here over your birthday weekend. Thank you for all your kind words - we are just pleased we were able to make your stay so memorable and look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you to Bryn Melyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake district
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Six of us rolled up for the night after our first day cycling through North Wales. Now, a lot of people may have been put up by the appearance of 6 blokes, all of advancing years and tummies, but not Heather. Showing the good humour and helpfulness which was apparent throughout our brief stay, she gave us the warmest of welcomes and immediately opened the bar!
The rooms were excellent - comfortable with great views, and the breakfast was as good as you could wish for. David was tremendously helpful the next morning in planning our route (David - you were right about the bridge being closed but with a little begging they let us across anyway).
The best compliment I could give is that I wouldn't hesitate in returning with my wife. Barmouth itself was also a very pleasant surprise and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Front facing give terrific views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeDistrictRolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Running a guest house is one of those jobs that if you do for long enough you will have seen everything so we are not at all phased by 6 gentlemen in lycra! Indeed we were full of admiration for the fact that you had cycled here from Flint that morning and happy to be able to make your overnight stay a comfortable one.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you all back again, with or without your respective wives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay here for 3 nights with our friends. Both rooms had a view of the water and were nicely fitted and clean, with big fluffy towels and comfortable beds. David and Heather are superb hosts and accommodated every request, providing guidance to local sights and even lending us detailed maps with footpaths. David's beautiful landscape pictures decorate the walls and inspire visitors to explore the area. They offer a full bar service in the evening and the morning breakfast was superb. The house is in a quiet spot on a hill and the dining room has a lovely view that includes a pretty garden and bird watching. There is a wooded footpath nearby, and a short if steep paved walk down hill takes you directly into Barmouth and local restaurants. We were reluctant to leave and would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have less water pressure in the showers, but the water is plenty hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmculpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
One of the real pleasures of this business is welcoming people who do not know the area and helping them discover some of the wonders that lie all around. It's good that Wales seems to be appearing on the radar of our American visitors more and more and we very much enjoyed your company and hearing about your travels each evening. Our extensive collection of books and maps is there for our guests to use and we are always happy to make suggestions as to day trips, walks or tours and help you make the most of your stay.

I hope you enjoyed south Wales on the rest of your trip as much as you did the north. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I hope that when you said you needed a week to see everything up here you meant that you would have to return, but for longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

What an idyllic place to stay! Peace, tranquility, breath-taking views, well-appointed rooms, comfy beds, excellent facilities, delicious breakfasts, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful hosts. A lovely, relaxing conservatory, with lots of comfy chairs and books available. A residents' "honesty" bar, which is also furnished with lots of comfortable seating, books, games, etc.

I travelled with a ( well behaved ) dog and she was delighted to receive two sausages each day of our stay! Three rooms are dog friendly and this was very useful for myself and a dog-owning colleague who stayed in an adjoining room.

Yes, it's a bit of a hair-raising drive up there, but the turning point at the top is huge and easy to negotiate, which makes the turn into Bryn Melyn car park on the return journey very easy to negotiate. The footpath down to the town is easy enough as well.

Lots to like - quality, plentiful toiletries in the generously sized en-suite, for example.Additional bathroom available with an incredible amount of toiletries provided. Large number and varieties of native birds feeding off the wall. Binoculars and birdie identification books provided in the dining room. Nice touches worth mentioning.

Loved the subtle music being played very quietly beyond the dining room during breakfast ( Traditional Triple Harp music by Llio Rhydderch ) It complemented the atmosphere beautifully.

Room Tip: Any of the front rooms with an estuary view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pressiebiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Until recently we had not realised that there is a gathering of Welsh terriers in Barmouth each year but it was a real pleasure to welcome you and your dog, (and indeed a couple of other dogs that night), to Bryn Melyn. As you say we have three dog-friendly rooms. This allows us to offer rooms that have never had pets in them so that anyone with a pet allergy can be confident they will be fine. We also go to great efforts to make sure any dog-friendly room is completely clean before the next check-in - one reason we make a small charge of £3 per dog per night.

I am especially pleased you enjoyed the tranquillity of our location and guest house. It is always good to see guests taking advantage of the lounge of conservatory to simply sit and relax, although I must point out that the bar does not operate on an 'honesty' basis but only with service from Heather or myself!

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your lovely Welsh terrier back again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#14 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawrenny Lodge
Lawrenny Lodge
#5 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Melyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Melyn Guest House

Property: Bryn Melyn Guest House
Address: Panorama Road, Barmouth LL42 1DQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Melyn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and relaxing guest house in stunning location with far reaching views from most rooms. Full Welsh breakfast with locally sourced ingredients, evening meals by arrangement. Comfortable residents' lounge and bar. Free wifi access. Great location for walking and cycling and general sight-seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bryn Melyn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Melyn Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing