We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Estuary views at exceptionally good guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Estuary views at exceptionally good guesthouse”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed for one night and it was a complete treat. It is up a steep road from Barmouth centre so the views are staggering. I had a big room facing over the estuary, an exceptionally comfortable memory foam bed and at breakfast sat and looked out at yellowhammers and other little birds on the feeders just outside the dining room window. David and Heather are really friendly and helpful and breakfast was just delicious. I'll definitely return.

Room Tip: The double room at the front of the house overlooks the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
It's so nice to read a review that sees the steep road up to Bryn Melyn as an advantage! Seriously though, we are so aware that our location is spectacular and delighted to be able to share it with our guests. I am especially pleased you enjoyed the memory-foam mattress on the bed - we installed these in every room last year and they have proven to be very popular. For the record all our double rooms have views over the estuary, as done one of our twin rooms. Only one room, (the second twin), has woodland views, so you can rest assured if you visit again that you are very likely to be able to enjoy those views again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
158
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I visited this guest house for a one night stay and had the most relaxing stay. The guest house has the most amazing views and is so peaceful. We stayed in room 6 which was spacious very clean and comfortable with lovely estuary views. The breakfast was plentiful and very tasty - cereals, fruit, yogurts, toast a full welsh breakfast which was so delicious and cooked to perfection. It was also lovely to watch the birds on the patio from the dining area.
We have stayed in Barmouth many times and can honestly say this was the most relaxing nicest stays we have had thanks to this lovely guest house and friendly hosts who are very helpful indeed. The road up is very steep and narrow, but well worth the journey and also plenty of car parking spaces - we will definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for an estuary view, I think most rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyoreshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, despite only staying one night. It is very much appreciated and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. Barmouth is a special place and tends to draw people back again and again to stay but it is a privilege to be able to make your visit extra-special. We hope very much that you will stay with us again when you come and visit next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Finding accommodation to meet the needs of our Walking Group can be difficult but at Bryn Melyn we found exactly what we needed!
Firstly - the location - set on the hillside above Barmouth with excellent views of the Estuary and the Sea - perfect!
Secondly - the rooms - spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, excellent showers, tea & coffee making facilities and the wonderful views.
Thirdly - food - a fine start to the day with a good selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and a variety of freshly cooked breakfasts to suit all appetites. A three course dinner - with different dishes ever night during our 5 night stay, featuring local ingredients and including vegetarian options. For dinner we were seated as one group around a large table and it felt very much like having dinner at a friends house (you know the friend that is the best cook!).
Last, but by no means least, ours hosts David & Heather. They made our stay very special, always on hand when needed to give advise on walking, on Barmouth and the surrounding area, on the birds that visit the Bird Tables just outside the Dining Room windows and on numerous other matters.
The whole combination resulted in us having a relaxing and enjoyable visit to a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaToSkyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
This is only the second year that we have had the pleasure of a walking group staying with us for an extended period of time but we certainly hope we shall see more in the future. There is a particularly good 'buzz' about the house when we have a group in who all know each other. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed the evening meals. We try hard to come up with a varied set of menus so that you don't get any repeats during your stay, and thank you for the comments about dinner being like eating at a friend's house. I guess that's exactly the sort of atmosphere we hope to generate.
Obviously groups like to ring the changes and walk in different areas but if you ever feel like coming back to this part of Wales you'd be very welcome indeed - and there are plenty of walks yet to be explored!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just returned from a two night break with our two huskies .Room 7 was formidable in size and the views were just stunning , we were also lucky enough to have arrived on the sunniest weekend and just sitting on the terrace was the most relaxing place ,the whole place is so peaceful . Breakfast was lovely and our two doggies who were outside on the terrace waiting for us were rewarded for their patience with two sausages on both days !! David and Heather are most welcoming and nothing is too much trouble . My husband was very impressed with the well stocked bar , particularly the wine which he wasn't shy at ordering ,I just hope that David had some stock left on our departure . To sum up very sad to leave and will almost certainly return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We see a good number of dogs over the course of a season here in our three dog-friendly rooms but I have to admit to having a soft spot for huskies - such beautiful creatures! It's great that they enjoyed their stay as much as you did and we are so pleased everything was satisfactory for you. We try to keep our bar well-stocked and think that for a small establishment we offer a good range of drinks at reasonable prices so your husband is welcoming to keep ordering!

We look forward to welcoming you all back again - and I'll make sure I'm well-stocked!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Well from the start amazing. Owners really nice and helpful. Taking bags to room. Breakfast time cooking food for our little one. Really nice people. Room was lovely and good size even with travel cot in there. Barmouth excellent place to visit. So much to do with the family and the weather great. Couldn't ask for a better short break. Will return

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and especially pleased that you found Barmouth to be such a good centre. It has sometimes had less than positive comments but we find it to be charming, characterful and beautiful with a stunning location. Families tend to have a great time whenever they come and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I return once a year to attend a reunion and to get a few days walking in. David and Heather continue to be wonderful hosts. Every time I return something has been upgraded (memory foam mattresses this time!). Cozy little bar with Welsh beers and spirits which is a wonderful place to recover after a hard days walking. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
It's always a pleasure to welcome you back each year for your reunion and we are pleased that our standards have not slipped since your last visit! Having been here 5 years now we are almost at the end of the major refurbishments so from here onwards we may have to work extra hard to make sure there are some upgrades for you each time you visit! Hopefully there will always be something new to welcome you back and we look forward to the next occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at Bryn Melyn Guest House for a week in February. It is nestled into the hillside on the edge of Barmouth, in a quiet location with spectacular views over the bay. David and Heather made us very welcome, with tea and biscuits when we arrived, and plenty of advice about the best hikes and most scenic places to visit. The rooms were large, warm, clean, and very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the rooms. Breakfast was delicious, with a variety of fruits, yoghurts, cereals, and a cooked breakfast made using local ingredients. The dining room looks out over the small terrace where one can watch birds feeding and squirrels scampering along the stones. Having tried a few places in town for dinner, we decided that the cooking at Bryn Melyn was far better, and enjoyed several excellent dinners there. I highly recommend dinner at Bryn Melyn, again using local ingredients. One nice feature was that the entrance area provided a comfortable space to either sit and plan the day or take off and leave hiking boots and shoes after a long day out. This place is a gem that far exceeded all expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynmelyndavid, Owner at Bryn Melyn Guest House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We are always grateful when guests take the time and trouble to post a review of their stay here at Bryn Melyn on Tripadvisor, but we are doubly grateful when they post such positive comments, so thank you. We hope that we set high expectations on our website so to know that we have exceeded them is always extremely satisfying. If we were able to make this portion of your visit to the UK memorable then we are delighted and hope that you will share your memories with your friends in the USA and encourage them to include Snowdonia on their itinerary when they next visit the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#13 of 23 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#3 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Melyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Melyn Guest House

Property: Bryn Melyn Guest House
Address: Panorama Road, Barmouth LL42 1DQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Melyn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and relaxing guest house in stunning location with far reaching views from most rooms. Full Welsh breakfast with locally sourced ingredients, evening meals by arrangement. Comfortable residents' lounge and bar. Free wifi access. Great location for walking and cycling and general sight-seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Bryn Melyn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Melyn Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing