We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Ty'r Graig Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
SW England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel”
Reviewed 5 June 2008

An unusual property that sits on the high ground above and a little to the north of the town of Barmouth. We received and very warm welcome from the Chef , Jackie, who happended to be manning reception when we arrived. later we met the proprietors , Mr & Mrs Osman who were excellent hosts and took a real interest in our visit and went out of their way to be helpful.

Our room , one of the tower rooms was well furnished and had spectacular views out to sea. The only minor critiscism was the very small bathroom, one of the smallest I have come across in a hotel.

On with the positive things about this hotel. The breakfasts were great and the one evening meal we took in the hotel we excellent, dining in the conservatory with stunning sea views.

All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The historic building and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — Size of the bathrooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silchester_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    107
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
29
286
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2008

I frequently stay in Holiday Inns, mainly for business trips. The main reason for using them is that you generally know what to expect in advance. The one thing they are not is memorable. Not so the Ty'r Graig Castle.

It is hotels such as these where the reviews on Tripadvisor are invaluable – and I have found that it is a pretty reliable barometer as to what to expect. As others have stated, we were greeted with a great welcome from the proprietors Janette & Khalid who proved to be excellent hosts throughout our stay. Mention must also be made of the chef Jackie who often served the food as well; her enthusiasm was quite infectious! This all contributed towards the pleasant, relaxed atmosphere which we enjoyed and very much appreciated.

We had booked a standard double room. While it was on the small side, the en-suite shower room was positively cramped, measuring the same width as the shower tray (approximately 2’6”) by 8’. If I stayed again, I would book a large double (at additional cost). That aside, the room was clean and comfortable.

The food was a highlight – as others have commented it was very good indeed. In addition, we found the pace of table service to be very good with gaps in between courses to be about right – not so long as to make you feel you’d been forgotten and not so short as to make you feel as if you’re being rushed. Although the menu didn’t change, there was enough choice to try a variety of dishes if you are staying for a few days. The wine list was fine, and reasonably priced, but the selection of beers was rather disappointing – only two, Worthingtons on draught and Budweiser in bottles. (I accept this is not a large establishment, and a larger choice of draught beer is probably not justifiable, but a wider choice of bottled beer would be welcome). Traditional breakfasts are on offer, and these too were excellent with a wide choice of ‘cooked’.

It was generally quiet – the rooms looking towards the sea (I think most of them do) are on the opposite side to the road – we could hear no traffic noise, but there is a railway not too far away, albeit passing the hotel at a much lower level. My wife was awoken at 4am with a train rumbling along. It isn’t an especially busy line, and I suspect that most people would not find the noise too intrusive.

Finally, one major plus point – this is a totally non-smoking hotel. This gave us much confidence that our room would not smell of stale cigarette smoke. In fact, there is a note that states if anyone does smoke in the bedroom, £50 will be added to their bills to get rid of the smell! I wish more hotels would do this.

Would I stay here again? Definitely, but with the caveat of booking a Large double room.

  • Liked — Pleasant, relaxed atmosphere, and the food
  • Disliked — Cramped en-suite shower room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

I recently had a wonderful weekend break at this delightful hotel. I stayed with my brother and sister as we wanted a nostalgic weekend to remind us of the wonderful holidays we spent in this part of the world when we were very young. The hotel owners and all the staff were so welcoming and friendly. We loved the dining room and the outstanding view over Cardigan Bay. The food was very good, although we didn't always do justice to it as the helpings were so generous. We really could not fault anything and I am going back soon with my husband as I know he will love it there too.

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — Nothing that I can think of.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We just love this place after spending christmas and new year here we are back already! As usual we had a lovely warm welcome and smiley faces from all the staff and the owners Khalid and Janette, we booked an amazing room again and were lucky enough to have a sunset every evening of our stay. We dined in the conservatory (for the views) and the food was absolutely out of this world, i think we both put on a few to many pounds! many thanks to Khalid for the wine choices. We have booked our next visit already we are just so impressed with everyone and everything. Many thanks for another wonderful stay.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thepaulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

What can I say other than fantastic in all respects. Breakfast and evening meal in the conservatory overlooking the sea was fabulous, The decor is amazing, beautifully presented with careful attention to detail. Everything was spotlessly clean and the turret room with its comfy bed had everything you'd need as well as a flat screen tv - this would be our choice when we book again!. The lounge area was really relaxing - just the place to sit and read and views along the bay were amazing - even in March. The Home-cooked evening meal was delicious with a great range of choice. Wonderful welcome, from friendly owners - nothing was too much trouble. It was a shame we only stayed one night. Can't wait to return! Thank you.

M O'Hanlon

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barabrithWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2008

Ty Graig is undoubtedly a fine and magnificent looking building on the outside, and you cant fault its imposing image as you drive past or pull in..

The inside matches the exterior, and its an imposing wooden interior, that greets you as you step through the heavy main door .

Having stayed here under various management, and been subject to various whims, and changes of said people, this was going to be interesting.

New year at TyGraig awaited us, and a welcome break ahead we hoped.

However, apart from the fact that there was now double glazing in the room we stayed in, and the noisy sash windows were no longer draughty anymore, there were some things we felt were not quite as they should be .

Staying in the Four poster bed room, We had a really nice surprise, NOT ! ..

The bed A four poster ( Previous reviewers please note and think twice ) was as hard, and lumpy as a sack of spuds ...

It has no give, the mattress no softness offers ZERO SUPPORT , and absolutely no comfort whatsoever..It badly needs replacing !

We slept badly for the duration of our stay , and both went home with back ache as a result .

We were sad that should you wish to escape anything downstairs ( More of that shortly ) your room and haven was an uncomfortable prison ! .

The basic facilities are there, Tv and DVD player should you wish to take or borrow any from the front desk.

We did feel also at times, the Cleaning of the room was a tad lack lustre as well. Holiday period or not, you don't expect this ! .

Downstairs , it became apparent we as paying guests were becoming second fiddle to what turned out to be a whole gaggle of the management's friends and family.

It seems they had decided their '' friends '' etc were to be entertained in the main lounge , with them in attendance, rather than working .

We as paying guests, were therefore forced to sit at our table pre our mealtime for dinner, due to the fact the guests and parents of the management were taking up all the lounge space .

This is also due to the fact that the once pleasant conservatory and bar, has now become part of the dining experience ( if you can call it that ), and the seating for guest which was there before has now vanished, hence the problem mentioned re the lounge .

You had no choice but to move to the dining area, otherwise there was nowhere to sit .When the hotel is full, this is unacceptable !

The dining experience itself was at best shoddy..There were still HAPPY XMAS decorations in tinsel glitters on the table, ...

The room itself, is badly lit, and was a dark, and solemn affair, ...Our table, even mysteriously changed due to the afore mentioned family guests taking priority and we were consigned to this dark badly lit, back room dining .

Where we were forced to wait ages for a drink we had ordered.

Neither were the candles lit at the table, and we even had to ask for the menus from the people on the next table because we had been left for so long unattended.

Having actually gained the manageresses attention, who was having more fun laughing with her guests and seeing to their needs, she wasn't even able to tell us what the soup of the day was when asked.

You either Manage a Hotel, or entertain ..You do not do BOTH at the same time.

As a paying guest we felt this was a very poor show, and the people who dined in next to us , who had stayed elsewhere,and kindly leant us their menus were not best impressed either .

The food when it arrived, was at best average..and not up to previous standards weve experienced there.

The staff seemed muddled, ...and we were even accosted by what turned out to be the Manageress mother,whilst awaiting some food , who seemed astonished we didn't want to play her quiz that she thrust under our noses at the table.

No means No in my books....and secondly, if I want Quizzes, and Bingo ( as was promised for the day after ) I will go to a cheap and tacky guest house.

This is not the Ty Graig of old...

We retired to our room, to avoid having to suffer the onset of kareoke by the hotel staff , ( and family of course ) , and went to watch Jules hootenanny instead, with our own Champers etc.

This was one way of trying to forget the uncomfortable bed we sat on...and gave thanks, that being 3 floors up we could only just about hear the kareoke below .

When you feel like a guest, that has gate crashed a private party at a hotel, Something is seriously wrong ! ..Sadly some of those raucous guests had promised to reappear many times over in the ensuing months..

If you want a pleasant location, yes its wonderful, But think carefully about your comfort zone, and your service you will receive.

When new management take over, obviously , yes they want a full hotel,but not at the expense of genuine guests, whove come away for a break and want to be given full consideration for their needs...

Surely in a building that big, there was a room where family and friends could be entertained, without them taking over the best seats in the lounge, the dining room, and then breakfasting with the management in the mornings ........ .

This was not a proper hotel experience...

We understand they are catering for weddings shortly, ..
Whilst I love the place, I wouldnt want my experience organised by the this management.

Khalid and his wife may be nice, and the staff friendly...but they would do well to remember its a HOTEL, not a weekend retreat for ones best mates and family to take over !

I Look forward to a more professionaly run Hotel in the future.

But we WOULD NOT BE GOING BACK whilst Its run this way !

  • Liked — The Building and the views
  • Disliked — The Uncomfortable bed and lack of seating in lounge and average food !
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank review4all2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sporeman001, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 28 March 2008
As proprietors, Janette and I place great importance in always asking our guests about their comfort during their period of stay. This reviewer was certainly no exception. So we are naturally surprised to read this review particularly when it comes 3 months after the event. Ty'r Graig Castle may have been run as a hotel in the past but since Janette and I took it over in April 2007 we decided to run it as a Guest Accommodation for which we have a 4-star rating from Visit Wales. By their definition, a Guest Accommodation is 'a serviced tourist accommodation on a less formal basis than is usually expected from a hotel'. It is towards this theme and identity that Janette and I work hard to attain for the castle and guests. The many positive comments and reviews we've had so far (including from a growing number of repeat visitors) tell us that the less formal, homely manner in which we run the castle has great appeal to a large cross-section of our guests - from those who seek rest & relaxation, a romantic escapade, a base for sightseeing to those wanting to celebrate a special occassion. Naturally, we would not be able to please everyone which is evident with this particular reviewer to the extent that practically everything became unsatisfactory. For the record, aside from Janette's mum and dad the friends (1 couple) and families (1 couple) that stayed, were here as paying guests and therefore treated as such i.e. with the same courtesy and privileges as any other paying guests. No more, no less. The night in question wasn't a normal evening but a special time of year being New Year's Eve. As hosts, it was incumbent upon us to create an atmosphere full of merriment and cheer befitting the occassion and the expectation of the majority of guests who were looking forward to a joyful and festive evening. We were careful to ensure that no one was made to feel left out or forced to do anything against their will. In fact, we can recall 2 other couples who chose to spend the rest of the evening after dinner in their respective rooms. One (of the couples) would have stayed to join in the festivities if not for the fact that they had to be at the registrar's office early next morning for their wedding. The large majority of our residents did choose to celebrate (including our non-resident diners) and thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Indeed, some have since returned already . This along with all the other positive feedback we have received here serves further confirmation that we are creating the right appeal to the majority. In relation to Room 11, below is feedback we received from a guest who very recently (March 2008) spent 3 nights there:
'Morning Janette
Sorry to hear of your bad review, we had no problems with either the bed or room, both were very comfortable so you have absolutely no need to change anything. I was so chilled out that I am having trouble getting back into this thing we call work!! Best wishes to you all
Martin'

Kind regards, Khalid & Janette Osman (Resident Proprietors)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2008

We first came to the hotel in November 2007 as we were looking at venues for our future wedding. Our requirements were a homely place with a bit of history/character, good organic/free range food, enough space to accommodate all our family and friends for the weekend and great views of the sea for our wedding pictures. Well we weren't disappointed! The day after we came back home we booked a weekend again for February 2008 we loved it so much! We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms which is really lovely and with great sea and mountain views and the owners were kind enough on our first trip to show us most of the rooms to give us an idea for the wedding, including the four-poster room which is fantastic. The hotel itself is big enough for us not to be disturbed by other residents but small enough so that you feel comfortable and interact with other people if you want to. They also welcome non-residents for meals which I find a bonus. Overall it's a great place with loads of well-deserved praises in their comments book at reception. We cannot wait to get married there and come back for our anniversary every year after that!

  • Liked — I just cannot decide on just one thing so I would have to say everything!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Doublehelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
1.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#13 of 23 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty'r Graig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'r Graig Castle

Property: Ty'r Graig Castle
Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty'r Graig Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark Victorian castle-hotel situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Approx. 1/2 mile out of Barmouth. An excellent base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas. Recently described by a guest as 'an oasis of calm' it sits proudly between the mountains and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ty'r Graig Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty`r Graig Castle Hotel Barmouth
Ty'r Graig Castle Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing