We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view.”
Review of Ty'r Graig Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
monmouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room with a view.”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The breakfast was very nice and it's a beautiful building to stay in with great views. Because of it's elevated position it's quite a walk down to the main seafront attractions and would be too far to walk in bad weather, We had the small room because it was the only one available with a sea view and even though it served it's purpose it was VERY small and the bathroom was the size of a wardrobe, having said all this i would stay there again but i would chose another room the next time

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hello Catherine B

Thank you for your comments, albeit rather belatedly!

We do advise that we are approximately 3/4 mile from the town, which is a 10 - 15 minute walk. And if only we could control the weather!!

Where applicable, we do advise people on booking that the en-suite is small. The constraints of adding en-suite facilities to a room designed in the Victorian era, when the norm was a washstand and chamber pot, mean that some small sacrifice may have to be made in respect of space. Our general feedback is that guests prefer a small en-suite to none at all.

We do hope that you will be able to come and see us again at some point; our hillside views have very large bathrooms, and wonderful aspect of the surrounding mountains.

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    113
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
32
299
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed at Ty'r Graig castle in Barmouth on the 19th of September 2013, words can not express how beautiful it is, The hosts Janette & Khalid are friendly and very welcoming. The castle is over looking the town of Barmouth below with spectacular views of Cardigan bay, I had booked a sea view room, when Khalid knew we were celebrating my boyfriends 40th birthday he upgraded us to a turret room which was just perfect with stunning views from 2 windows, the room was clean and very comfy and the breakfast was excellent, the history was very interesting with the original planning papers taking pride of place hanging on the wall, The entrance hall is just beautiful as are the stained glass windows and the wood panelling and crafted staircase shows how much love and attention was used when building this Victorian castle.. A perfect base in an amazing location to explore this part of west Wales.. Thank you for a fantastic stay Angie+Ian from doncaster

Room Tip: A turret room with outstanding views, but any room with a view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angiepanjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyrGraig-Management, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Angie & Ian, thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the character and history of the building and its location. Also good to know that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back here again some day.

Best wishes, Janette & Khalid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

An Interesting house with a special history. The service and the food were excellent. We had a turret room (no 5) which was very clean and comfortable, only the small size of the bathroom was the sole disappointment.
Superb sea views from the bedroom, dining room and the lounge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilje113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Hello Bilje113,

Thank you for your comments; the history of the house IS so special, and the views are the reason for the house being built in the first place. It's always gratifying when we find guests who value these wonderful aspects.

I have passed your compliments on the food and service to the relevant staff, who do appreciate them.

We do advise, where applicable, that the en-suites are small. It's never easy catering for the demands of the 21st century when working with a Victorian house, and hopefully we have reached a happy medium.

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Beautiful location, lovely house - food is excellent, service excellent, and good value for money. Worth doing the amazing cycle route Barmouth to Dollgellau http://www.mawddachtrail.co.uk/mawddach-trail.html
Also visit Port Meirion if decent weather.

Room Tip: go for a sea view. We had a twin with a side view - still an excellent view, although the room (bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieBarry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hello JackieBarry2
Thank you for your feedback; we do appreciate all comments. I've passed your compliments regarding the food and service to the staff concerned.

We are ideally placed for both walking and cycling, as well as visiting the lovely surrounding countryside and attractions by car.

We are at a loss as to why the room seemed damp, as we check them daily, and there was no evidence of damp. We will continue to investigate, and rectify where necessary.

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

from the moment we checked in we were treated as individuals .given a short tour and then shown to our incredible 4 poster bed in a round turret room.the hotel has many original festures and the views are really special especially the sunset. breakfast was excellent served by very attentive and helpful staff--we will certainly be returning again.

Room Tip: the sea view rooms in the turret have wide views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rock1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Hello Rock1010,

We were so pleased to read your comments, as they clearly showed that we had achieved our aim, to make every guest feel welcome and special, and as if they were at home.

As you note, the views are truly wonderful, especially the sunsets, and it was good to see that you appreciated the individuality of the original features, which combine so well with the natural beauty of the area.

I've passed your compliments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend, and based on the reviews and pictures on their web, we expected something totally different. The room (which was a superior one) was really small...and I mean, REALLY small. There was no room to place the suitcases and we ended up putting them on the side of the bed (the only side where they would fit), which meant that we had to jump over them every time. The wardrobe was very small as well which made it impossible to unpack either. The bathroom was pretty old, and the furniture in general was also tired. The best of our room was the views which were actually beautiful. The place needs a complete refurb. The staff is very nice and helpful and so is the owner. The restaurant however is good. Not located in a walking distance from the town, you need to drive.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CanRC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hello CanRC R
The pictures (both ours and guests) are representative of the hotel and its rooms, but it must be remembered that no two rooms here are alike.
We suspect the room you were in is one of the standard double rooms as the others could easily accommodate extra suitcases. Nevertheless if only you had brought this to our attention we could have stored your cases safely in the office thus preserving the space in you room. Our furniture is standard size, and is usually adequate for a two or three night stay which, for us, is the norm. We do however have an annual rolling programme of refurbishment. The town is within walking distance and indeed many of our guests have done so. It's about 15 - 20 mins downhill into town and longer coming back as it's uphill!

I’ve passed on your comments regarding the staff, which they appreciate.

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Beautiful room, comfy bed and immaculate en suite. The conservatory dining room is a stunning place to enjoy dinner as the sun sets and the sitting room is delightful. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and the staff could not have been friendlier.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hello LauraK,
Thank you for your generous comments and ratings. It's always good to know when guests appreciate our efforts to make their visit special.

Our timeless views and sunsets are always a talking point and it's easy to see why Mrs Greener wanted a house here all those years ago.

I have passed your comments on to the chef and other staff, and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
1.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
209 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,459 reviews
8.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
14.8 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty'r Graig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'r Graig Castle

Property: Ty'r Graig Castle
Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty'r Graig Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark Victorian castle-hotel situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Approx. 1/2 mile out of Barmouth. An excellent base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas. Recently described by a guest as 'an oasis of calm' it sits proudly between the mountains and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ty'r Graig Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty`r Graig Castle Hotel Barmouth
Ty'r Graig Castle Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing