We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ty'r Graig Castle
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Min-y-mor Hotel(Barmouth)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morwendon House(Llanaber)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal House(Barmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Vue(Barmouth)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tal Y Don Hotel(Barmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
223
129
42
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
129
42
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret roomstained glass windowsinteresting historyentrance hallowners and staffcardigan bayoriginal featuressea viewevening mealfour postersmall hotelon arrivalbeautiful buildingfantastic viewsfish and chipsmany thanksone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stunning location overlooking the bay this quirky hotel has a unique interior and interesting history. Our turret room was light and airy with wonderful views from it's three windows. The bathroom was small but had everything needed.
Breakfast was served in the conservatory with those to die for views. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty served by two attentive and friendly waiters. The evening meal smelt good slthough we chose to eat out. Great hotel and well priced.

Room Tip: Try a turret room for quirky and views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sues2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hello Sues2shoes,
Many thanks for your feedback, which is greatly appreciated. I've passed your compliments on to the waiters, who will appreciate them. We do try to impart a little of the history of the house, to help guests appreciate the building even more.
The views are, of course, the reason the house was built in 1891, and they are as wonderful now as they were then. Hopefully you'll return at some time in the future, and enjoy our evening meals as well!
Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Went to the Castle for an end of holiday meal with my family including 2 teenagers and an 8 year old. Stunning views from the gardens and most tables in the dining area, must be one of the best locations in Barmouth. Very unique building with an interesting history. Andrei the barman/waiter could not do enough for us but it wasn't very busy for a Friday night(4 tables including ours). Food was generally good with a few hits(Morrocan Lamb, crab starter) and a couple of misses(semi frozen/cold bread rolls at the start, the duck faggot was very heavy on the thyme, the gammon was very small/plain). With drinks our bill came to £135 which included a bottle of wine, drinks before dinner and an Irish coffee which all things considered I though was good value for money. There was a strange man who came to the table and talked a load of waffle about himself and a life in Panto, no idea what his role was but he didn't add anything to the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear AndyS

We’re pleased that you enjoyed the wonderful views from the hotel, and also the service you received from Andrei. Thank you for your comments regarding the food and we have already taken on board the areas in which to improve. We are sorry for the unwelcome intrusion at your table; glad to note that it didn't spoil your overall dining experience.

Janette Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here over Easter and were blessed with beautiful weather, which always helps.
The staff were very professional, and eager to please.
The building is a little quirky from the outside, but inside is a Victorian gem, especially the stairs, and stained glass.
We asked for a bigger room and had one overlooking the hillside behind. This was perfectly fine.
The Breakfasts were good and made to order. We didn`t eat here in the evening, as we were out enjoying the scenery of Snowdonia, which, I have to say, looked particularly stunning in the sunshine.
Overall, a lovely trip

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alanhall52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hello Alanhall,

Many thanks for your review and comments. It's gratifying to find that our breakfasts and staff were appreciated, likewise our ability to assist with a room change to accommodate your needs.

As you say, there are so many aspects of Victorian decor and style in the house and these are very often missed in the rush of daily life.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Kind regards

Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

on arrival we were greeted by the owner(very nice and friendly),we were then given a tour of the hotel and informed of all the facilities before being led to our room (room 5 turret room ). lovely views of the seaside ,the room was a nice size with all you need ie a bed, two chairs ,wardrobe and a desk with hospitality tray( after reading other reviews if you need more space than this on a break away for a few days you need help).the shower room was small but when you see the property and its architecture you will see its impossible to change. then to the conservatory dining room with wonderful seaviews and the food at dinner was very good quality and freshly cooked,the waiters were very attentive and always there when you needed them .the chef was a nice fella and had a chat with the guests .breakfast was very well cooked and very nice quality ...all in all this place is a hidden gem ,great views ,great atmosphere ,superb staff ,excellent food ,nice easy parking .........will we be going back ............what do you think ?

Room Tip: seaview room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaysto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear jaysto,

Thank you for your compliments. We do put a lot of effort in making sure that our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable experience when they stay here with us. So, to hear that we have achieved that with you, is much appreciated. Now that you have ‘found’ us, we look forward to your next visit!

Best wishes, Janette Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My Mum and I recently stayed at Ty'r Graig Castle and really enjoyed it. The hotel is unique and a really different place to stay. My Mum has a disability and had originally been given a room on the second floor, however when the hotel manager discovered this he immediately offered to upgrade her to a turret room which was a very nice gesture. The views from both the turret room and single room were really great. We stayed 3 nights and had dinner in the conservatory restaurant overlooking the sea. The food was outstanding we didn't want to eat anywhere else. The staff were so friendly and knowledgeable. The location is great if you want to visit Portmeirion or the Snowdonia national park. We would recommend the hotel to both friends and family as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzy_12314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Lizzy_12314,

We are pleased to hear that you and your mum enjoyed your 3-night stay with us. The comfort of our guests is important to us so we were happy to be able to accommodate your mum in a more suitable room in light of her condition. Yes, the view of the sea from your rooms is lovely and many of our guests have commented the same over the years. It was of course, this view that first prompted Mrs Greener to persuade her husband to build their little summer castle. Your compliments have been passed to, and were gratefully received by the chef and the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you and your mum back her at some point in the future.

Best wishes - K Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews