We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel and staff”
Review of Ty'r Graig Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Portskewett, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasant hotel and staff”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have just read a somewhat jaundiced opinion of this hotel. My wife and I were in the hotel at the same time as the person with the negative opinion. I am reminded of the quote "two men looked out of prison bars - one saw mud, the other saw stars"
We found the manager's stories interesting and the young staff attentive and charming.
The meal was enjoyable and reasonably priced. The conservatory/dining room with its magnificent views was a delightful place to eat.
The bedroom was small but comfortable and perfectly adequate - who wants to stay in a bedroom all day?
The hotel decor reflects its fascinating history with an abundance of stained glass windows and wood panelling. If modern plastic is your preference then do not stay here.
You choose where to point your eyes. The views are great.
We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Conrad A,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We’re naturally pleased that you enjoyed your time here; as much as we enjoyed looking after you. The wisdom of the quote in your review is undoubtedly true. It is gratifying to know that we have managed to meet your expectations and shall look forward to welcoming you both back here again at some point in the future.

All the best – Khalid Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    110
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
30
293
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked a 3 night stay based on photos and many reviews. The hotel was described as 'a gem' 'perfect for a romantic break' etc with 'breathtaking views'. Although I understood it was a small privately run hotel it was also had a 4 star rating and priced at over £100 a night for bed and breakfast and closer to £160 with dinner I expected a certain standard of luxury and comfort. The reality was very different. The hotel is very dated and old and in major need of a refurbishment and general tidy up. The management seen to get defensive when this has been mentioned is previous reviews blaming this on the restrictions of a old
Property and keeping in line with the age of the property... I'm sorry but there are ways to build in comfort and style while being sympathetic to the original
Style and features...
It's not an excuse for outdated,
Old, shabby, peeling and bubbled wall paper, battered doors and signs. It's like time has stood still for 30 years and was more like a tacky B&B than a 4 star hotel... No one can pass this as 4 star! The so called breathtaking views of the sea were somewhat overshadowed by the scruffy council estate, caravans and train lines directly below the hotel. The restaurant in the conservatory was again basic and in need of a refurb. The menu was small and food ok but deserts in edible. A soufflé consisted of solidified jelly substance which was
Obviously not freshly made, it was accompanied by mouldy raspberries. I didn't complain as although the waiter was friendly he did not grasp English very well and we had already struggled with a drinks order and trying to establish what some of the meals were. The manager has already spent an unwelcome 10 mins at our table telling us irrelevant stories of his showbiz friends in LA while waving an unlit fag and lighter in his hand (which I though very unprofessional... He continue to talk even after the waiter had brought out starters which again was uncomfortable and unwelcome being forced to wait till he finished before eating) so I wasn't going to ask him back to the table to explain about the pudding. The chefs and waiters seem to hover around the door which was uncomfortable as felt conversation was being overheard and wanted some privacy. We stayed one night ... Bed ok and duvet comfy but windows noisy and let a draught in... We were called to advise heating was broke but as already left we thought we would give it a go. When this was mentioned to the manager in the morning he seemed to blame is for not asking for a heater... They knew heating was broke so surely for comfort of guests they would think of supplying these before the need to complain. My husband joked we were at fawlty towers and this sums the place up! We checked out without breakfast a after one night and cancelled our 2 remaining nights. I couldn't stay any longer.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrsc101214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Mrsc101214,

We are sad that you didn't enjoy anything about your stay . The majority of our guests love it here but we know that we can't please everyone no matter how hard we try. We will be speaking to our staff regarding the problems in the restaurant to which we apologise.

Regards, Janette Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stunning location overlooking the bay this quirky hotel has a unique interior and interesting history. Our turret room was light and airy with wonderful views from it's three windows. The bathroom was small but had everything needed.
Breakfast was served in the conservatory with those to die for views. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty served by two attentive and friendly waiters. The evening meal smelt good slthough we chose to eat out. Great hotel and well priced.

Room Tip: Try a turret room for quirky and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sues2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello Sues2shoes,
Many thanks for your feedback, which is greatly appreciated. I've passed your compliments on to the waiters, who will appreciate them. We do try to impart a little of the history of the house, to help guests appreciate the building even more.
The views are, of course, the reason the house was built in 1891, and they are as wonderful now as they were then. Hopefully you'll return at some time in the future, and enjoy our evening meals as well!
Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Went to the Castle for an end of holiday meal with my family including 2 teenagers and an 8 year old. Stunning views from the gardens and most tables in the dining area, must be one of the best locations in Barmouth. Very unique building with an interesting history. Andrei the barman/waiter could not do enough for us but it wasn't very busy for a Friday night(4 tables including ours). Food was generally good with a few hits(Morrocan Lamb, crab starter) and a couple of misses(semi frozen/cold bread rolls at the start, the duck faggot was very heavy on the thyme, the gammon was very small/plain). With drinks our bill came to £135 which included a bottle of wine, drinks before dinner and an Irish coffee which all things considered I though was good value for money. There was a strange man who came to the table and talked a load of waffle about himself and a life in Panto, no idea what his role was but he didn't add anything to the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear AndyS

We’re pleased that you enjoyed the wonderful views from the hotel, and also the service you received from Andrei. Thank you for your comments regarding the food and we have already taken on board the areas in which to improve. We are sorry for the unwelcome intrusion at your table; glad to note that it didn't spoil your overall dining experience.

Janette Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here over Easter and were blessed with beautiful weather, which always helps.
The staff were very professional, and eager to please.
The building is a little quirky from the outside, but inside is a Victorian gem, especially the stairs, and stained glass.
We asked for a bigger room and had one overlooking the hillside behind. This was perfectly fine.
The Breakfasts were good and made to order. We didn`t eat here in the evening, as we were out enjoying the scenery of Snowdonia, which, I have to say, looked particularly stunning in the sunshine.
Overall, a lovely trip

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanhall52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hello Alanhall,

Many thanks for your review and comments. It's gratifying to find that our breakfasts and staff were appreciated, likewise our ability to assist with a room change to accommodate your needs.

As you say, there are so many aspects of Victorian decor and style in the house and these are very often missed in the rush of daily life.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Kind regards

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

on arrival we were greeted by the owner(very nice and friendly),we were then given a tour of the hotel and informed of all the facilities before being led to our room (room 5 turret room ). lovely views of the seaside ,the room was a nice size with all you need ie a bed, two chairs ,wardrobe and a desk with hospitality tray( after reading other reviews if you need more space than this on a break away for a few days you need help).the shower room was small but when you see the property and its architecture you will see its impossible to change. then to the conservatory dining room with wonderful seaviews and the food at dinner was very good quality and freshly cooked,the waiters were very attentive and always there when you needed them .the chef was a nice fella and had a chat with the guests .breakfast was very well cooked and very nice quality ...all in all this place is a hidden gem ,great views ,great atmosphere ,superb staff ,excellent food ,nice easy parking .........will we be going back ............what do you think ?

Room Tip: seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaysto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear jaysto,

Thank you for your compliments. We do put a lot of effort in making sure that our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable experience when they stay here with us. So, to hear that we have achieved that with you, is much appreciated. Now that you have ‘found’ us, we look forward to your next visit!

Best wishes, Janette Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My Mum and I recently stayed at Ty'r Graig Castle and really enjoyed it. The hotel is unique and a really different place to stay. My Mum has a disability and had originally been given a room on the second floor, however when the hotel manager discovered this he immediately offered to upgrade her to a turret room which was a very nice gesture. The views from both the turret room and single room were really great. We stayed 3 nights and had dinner in the conservatory restaurant overlooking the sea. The food was outstanding we didn't want to eat anywhere else. The staff were so friendly and knowledgeable. The location is great if you want to visit Portmeirion or the Snowdonia national park. We would recommend the hotel to both friends and family as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy_12314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Lizzy_12314,

We are pleased to hear that you and your mum enjoyed your 3-night stay with us. The comfort of our guests is important to us so we were happy to be able to accommodate your mum in a more suitable room in light of her condition. Yes, the view of the sea from your rooms is lovely and many of our guests have commented the same over the years. It was of course, this view that first prompted Mrs Greener to persuade her husband to build their little summer castle. Your compliments have been passed to, and were gratefully received by the chef and the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you and your mum back her at some point in the future.

Best wishes - K Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
1.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
311 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
417 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty'r Graig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'r Graig Castle

Property: Ty'r Graig Castle
Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty'r Graig Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark Victorian castle-hotel situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Approx. 1/2 mile out of Barmouth. An excellent base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas. Recently described by a guest as 'an oasis of calm' it sits proudly between the mountains and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ty'r Graig Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty`r Graig Castle Hotel Barmouth
Ty'r Graig Castle Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing