We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent yet again.”
Review of Ty'r Graig Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Well, our short stay here comes to an end tomorrow. As ever, we have been looked after well. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they are all welcoming and friendly. This has been our second holiday here and I'm sure we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4. The views from the balcony are brilliant.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyhill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear andyhill101,
It has been our pleasure to look after you and Emma and we look forward to having you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Ty'r Graig Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great location with sea views over the Bay. Victorian Mansion built by a Birmingham Gunmaker. Super stained glass , floor tiles and plaster work.
Good clean rooms, en-siute a bit on the small side, but did the job well enough. Friendly and helpfull staff.
Bus stop outside the Hotel to Barmouth or Harlech.-useful if you are going Walking.
Only real niggle that I had was the tables in the Resturant where a bit on the small size.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertjrossonwye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear robertjrossonwye,
We're pleased that you had a positive stay here. Indeed, the sea views over the Bay was one of the primary reasons why the Greeners chose this spot for their summer house back in 1892. Glad to know that you found our staff friendly and helpful as we put alot of effort in making sure that our guests are well looked after when staying here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for just two nights in a standard double in a turret room. The owners and staff were all very friendly and attentive. We felt so relaxed and looked after while we were there.
Excellent views. At evening meal we saw the sunset, a crescent moon and the planet Jupiter.
The only downside - which is alluded to in the hotel description - is that out shower/toilet area was very confined. We will return, and stay in the premium room as it has a bathroom, still keeping the sea views. Well recommended!

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEFFREY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear JEFFREY L,

Thank you for your positive feedback. It was refreshing for us to have you and your wife interested in the history and architecture of the castle and loving the views it offers. It made our job of looking after you both so much more fulfilling and satisfying. Looking forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Ok, the bad point first. The rooms could do with a bit of sprucing up as they are rather dated now but they are very comfortable if a tad small (but not overly small) and the views are stunning. The brekfast was beautiful (fantastic sausages!) and set you up for the day. The staff and the owners are very friendly and do their best to make sure you are comfortable. Would i stay again? Yes, without even thinking about it! An easy 4* review. Thankyou for looking after us!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello Stuart T,

Thank you for your nice review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoyed looking after you. I hope your sunburn was not too painful! Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes, Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have just read a somewhat jaundiced opinion of this hotel. My wife and I were in the hotel at the same time as the person with the negative opinion. I am reminded of the quote "two men looked out of prison bars - one saw mud, the other saw stars"
We found the manager's stories interesting and the young staff attentive and charming.
The meal was enjoyable and reasonably priced. The conservatory/dining room with its magnificent views was a delightful place to eat.
The bedroom was small but comfortable and perfectly adequate - who wants to stay in a bedroom all day?
The hotel decor reflects its fascinating history with an abundance of stained glass windows and wood panelling. If modern plastic is your preference then do not stay here.
You choose where to point your eyes. The views are great.
We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conrad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Conrad A,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We’re naturally pleased that you enjoyed your time here; as much as we enjoyed looking after you. The wisdom of the quote in your review is undoubtedly true. It is gratifying to know that we have managed to meet your expectations and shall look forward to welcoming you both back here again at some point in the future.

All the best – Khalid Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked a 3 night stay based on photos and many reviews. The hotel was described as 'a gem' 'perfect for a romantic break' etc with 'breathtaking views'. Although I understood it was a small privately run hotel it was also had a 4 star rating and priced at over £100 a night for bed and breakfast and closer to £160 with dinner I expected a certain standard of luxury and comfort. The reality was very different. The hotel is very dated and old and in major need of a refurbishment and general tidy up. The management seen to get defensive when this has been mentioned is previous reviews blaming this on the restrictions of a old
Property and keeping in line with the age of the property... I'm sorry but there are ways to build in comfort and style while being sympathetic to the original
Style and features...
It's not an excuse for outdated,
Old, shabby, peeling and bubbled wall paper, battered doors and signs. It's like time has stood still for 30 years and was more like a tacky B&B than a 4 star hotel... No one can pass this as 4 star! The so called breathtaking views of the sea were somewhat overshadowed by the scruffy council estate, caravans and train lines directly below the hotel. The restaurant in the conservatory was again basic and in need of a refurb. The menu was small and food ok but deserts in edible. A soufflé consisted of solidified jelly substance which was
Obviously not freshly made, it was accompanied by mouldy raspberries. I didn't complain as although the waiter was friendly he did not grasp English very well and we had already struggled with a drinks order and trying to establish what some of the meals were. The manager has already spent an unwelcome 10 mins at our table telling us irrelevant stories of his showbiz friends in LA while waving an unlit fag and lighter in his hand (which I though very unprofessional... He continue to talk even after the waiter had brought out starters which again was uncomfortable and unwelcome being forced to wait till he finished before eating) so I wasn't going to ask him back to the table to explain about the pudding. The chefs and waiters seem to hover around the door which was uncomfortable as felt conversation was being overheard and wanted some privacy. We stayed one night ... Bed ok and duvet comfy but windows noisy and let a draught in... We were called to advise heating was broke but as already left we thought we would give it a go. When this was mentioned to the manager in the morning he seemed to blame is for not asking for a heater... They knew heating was broke so surely for comfort of guests they would think of supplying these before the need to complain. My husband joked we were at fawlty towers and this sums the place up! We checked out without breakfast a after one night and cancelled our 2 remaining nights. I couldn't stay any longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mrsc101214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Mrsc101214,

We are sad that you didn't enjoy anything about your stay . The majority of our guests love it here but we know that we can't please everyone no matter how hard we try. We will be speaking to our staff regarding the problems in the restaurant to which we apologise.

Regards, Janette Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stunning location overlooking the bay this quirky hotel has a unique interior and interesting history. Our turret room was light and airy with wonderful views from it's three windows. The bathroom was small but had everything needed.
Breakfast was served in the conservatory with those to die for views. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty served by two attentive and friendly waiters. The evening meal smelt good slthough we chose to eat out. Great hotel and well priced.

Room Tip: Try a turret room for quirky and views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sues2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hello Sues2shoes,
Many thanks for your feedback, which is greatly appreciated. I've passed your compliments on to the waiters, who will appreciate them. We do try to impart a little of the history of the house, to help guests appreciate the building even more.
The views are, of course, the reason the house was built in 1891, and they are as wonderful now as they were then. Hopefully you'll return at some time in the future, and enjoy our evening meals as well!
Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
0.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
211 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
8.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
14.8 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty'r Graig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'r Graig Castle

Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range: £84 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty'r Graig Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark Victorian castle-hotel situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Approx. 1/2 mile out of Barmouth. An excellent base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas. Recently described by a guest as 'an oasis of calm' it sits proudly between the mountains and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ty'r Graig Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty`r Graig Castle Hotel Barmouth
Ty'r Graig Castle Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing