We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill place to stay”
Review of Ty'r Graig Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our fourth visit. Always have a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. The en suite is small but the spectacular views make up for this and you are always warned of the size of the shower room when booking. The owners and staff could not be more welcoming and helpful while being unobtrusive. The hotel has an authentic old world charm while still offering modern day amenities such as T V, DVD, and free wifi. Super place to stay while visiting the area.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms face the sea as do turret rooms. No lifts and very poor phone reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Dear Christine A, it's gratifying to read your feedback. Thank you for sharing it with us and we look forward to welcoming you back here, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Having just returned from a 'superb' two day visit to Ty'r Graig Castle, we were surprised to read a rather scathing review, this makes us wonder if there are possibly two Ty'r Graig Castles in Barmouth ? we stayed in Room 11 on the 2nd floor of the north turret. a room with four poster bed (very comfy) and furniture that blends in with the Victorian style of the Hotel, we were extremely comfortable and had everything we needed, felt relaxed and content. The room offers a spectacular sea view looking northward towards the Llyn Peninsula. Having spent two lovely
memorable evenings dining in the Restaurant, found the food to be cooked to a very high standard, selected from a well balanced menu, we were surprised at the comment "the Chief should attend a culinary course" in our opinion this would be 'as a Teacher' Will be returning to Ty'r Graig mid September, our version of course, and that of many other people.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TrishaWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Dear TrishaWestMidlands, thank you for your kind feedback on your recent 2-night stay. We shall be looking forward to your next planned visit in September. Until then, all the best from us here at Tyr Graig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I really loved this hotel, my single room was delightful(next door shower right by my headboard and noisy), The staff were so nice and helpful. I was disappointed by the lack of fresh vegetables or salad with dinner and the venison was a bit tough and overcooked, but the fish and chips were good. No extra toiletries in room which I have had in less pricey hotels and would make a nice touch. Beautiful view from the terrace and from my window if you ignore the council estate!!
On the whole a charming place to stay and a warm welcome awaits any visitor. I would also have preferred to be served toast at breakfast and not to have to make my own, should not have to do this in a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Single room is more than big enough and with a good size en-suite, a bit noisy from next room when i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Marguerite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Dear Marguerite W, we're delighted that you really loved the hotel. Each item on the menu comes with its own accompaniment i.e. vegetables, salad or chips although we will swap and change if requested. Extra portions are also available as side orders. Many hotels now offer guests the freedom of making their own toast at breakfast as it allows them to have it as they like it. The majority feedback affirms this view but we will, nevertheless, note your comment on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Yes it's a striking structure built on a lovely cliff-top setting with an interesting history and architectural design which the owner is happy to relay during an enthusiastic tour as you arrive, but after a four hour drive I would have preferred some help taking our four bags up three narrow flights of stairs and through two staircase doors en-route to our room.
First impressions are good. It has that old-world charm in the sitting room area and the view out to sea is pleasing.
But the room, at over £100 per night, we stayed in room 11, just isn't up to scratch. It's small, but that's acceptable in an old building. It's the carpet, the furniture and the furnishings that disappoint and there are no nice little touches that you come to expect from a £100 hotel room.
The en-suite is just a partitioned section of the original room which might have been fine 35 years ago but today it is more akin to an unclassified seaside guest-house rather than a 3 star hotel. I'm assuming 3 stars, it can't be any higher surely.
Because we arrived after 8pm on the Friday we decided to just stroll into Barmouth and have a snack somewhere which turned out to be chips & gravy on a seaside bench, rather pleasant really with a glass of wine and a beer from a nearby pub.
The second night we ate in the hotel. Starter was nice, pate. My wife didn't enjoy her main as the fish came in a rather unpleasant tomato sauce based sauce and the veg was overcooked.
I had the Moroccan lamb stew which was described as spicy and flavoursome. It was a very bland dish of stewed meat in a gravy, no spice and no flavour. I'm not even sure it was lamb, it didn't taste like lamb. We both agreed it tasted more like beef. It was in fact very like one of those tinned beef stews you can buy from a supermarket. If I was 80 years old I might have enjoyed the beef stew and rice but I'm not and when I order a Moroccan Lamb stew I expect something bursting with flavour and spice, and I kind-off expect to get lamb.
And just to top off the experience the bottle of Prosecco we ordered to celebrate my wife's birthday was presented to us at room temperature and so had to sit in an ice bucket for twenty minutes before we could toast the occasion.
Breakfast was pretty nice but both mornings they served us with fried eggs when we asked for poached.
I've rated it poor because of the price. If it was £60 per night I'd say it was average. But really, in today's market it still isn't good enough. They need to re-invest in the bedrooms, bathrooms and overall interior decor. And they also need to either bring in a new chef or send the current one on culinary course in a modern day kitchen. I don't mean to sound horrible but he's currently presenting a menu and a style of cooking that went out of date twenty years ago.
My advice, research the area and at £100 per night you will find a much better standard of accommodation than is currently available here, and then have a day visit to Barmouth which is certainly worth a visit.

Room Tip: We did get a peak into another room which looked a little bigger than ours and did have a small balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark6336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Mark6336, Sorry to read that we are not what you expected. We know you won't be returning but for the benefit of others reading this, we wish to correct some misimpressions in your review. Ours is a small couple-run seaside guest accommodation. The building is steeped in Victorian history and sits on a lovely spot. We run the hotel with warm, genuine hospitality and we place great importance in good old fashioned service and quality. Some have even called us 'old school'. We're open and honest to all our guests and care highly towards their needs and comfort during their stay here. We accept, as in your case, we can't please everyone no matter how hard we try. We offer a personal service appreciated by a large majority. Our guests are taken personally to their rooms when they arrive and the welcome
tour is never forced upon them. In a separate review you suggested that we hand out information leaflets instead but that, is impersonal and not what we are. We always offer help with bags and other needs but will respect when an offer is declined. Despite this, we would have insisted on helping had you really been struggling with the small overnight bags you had with you. Any problems brought to our attention we will try and resolve as best possible. It's a shame you chose not to mention the issues you had over dinner when we did a table check.
Nevertheless, we have taken note of your comments and where valid, will take steps to improve. The good old-fashioned menu reflects the theme of the place and appreciated by many. It's not 'fine or nouveau cuisine' and the price reflects that. Most items on the menu are cooked to order and we only use lamb in our lamb stew. If we decide to use different meat it
takes no effort for us to call it what it is. You'll find that our pricing is in line with other accommodation types in Barmouth where trade is seasonal. Sorry if you found this too high for you even with a voucher to pay for your first night stay. We are comfortable in the knowledge that we meet the expectations of most people but will never be complacent about improving and re-investing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very nice room but would have prefered sea view but booled last mimite and none left
excellent breakfast

Two nights dinner First Night very good Slight problems with second night (Different chef) but rectified straight away by owners

Would stay there again

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Delia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hello Delia S, thank you for your feedback and pleased to note that you'd stay here again. We shall be be looking forward to hearing more of your charity work in India. In the meantime, best wishes from all of us here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my other half stayed here for 2 nights come home today and what can i say the place is breath taking we had a double room with a sea view when we seen the room it was breath taking we even had our own balcony such a beautifull relaxing place will be recomending to every1 we no the breakfast is delicious as well will deffo come again, all the staff are friendly and helpful
( sarah and stevie room 4)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Sarah and Stevie, it's wonderful to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all your compliments and we look forward to your next stay here. All the very best wishes to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel in a great position with fantastic coastal views was built as a folly but is far from that now. A great welcome from the owner and a little tour explaining its history before being shown to room. The hotel is clean and comfortable and my single room was a good size. The owners are very friendly and helpful as are all of the staff. The breakfast was well cooked and did a good veggie option with good quality veggie sausages. Did not dine in so cannot comment on restaurant. I will certainly stay again if in Barmouth as I had such a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Not sure how many single rooms but the one I had was a good size and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank exmoorplodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGCManagement, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear exmoorplodder, it was a pleasure looking after you and we're just pleased to hear that you had a nice experience here. Thank you for sharing it with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
0.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
339 reviews
1 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
215 reviews
8.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,508 reviews
5.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
14.8 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty'r Graig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'r Graig Castle

Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range: £74 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty'r Graig Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark Victorian castle-hotel situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Approx. 1/2 mile out of Barmouth. An excellent base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas. Recently described by a guest as 'an oasis of calm' it sits proudly between the mountains and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ty'r Graig Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty`r Graig Castle Hotel Barmouth
Ty'r Graig Castle Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing