We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, truly excellent staff!”
Review of Ty'r Graig Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely place, truly excellent staff!”
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We picked this hotel based on the reviews. It is very different to the usual sort of hotel I stay in (i.e. big, luxury, anonymous) so it's hard to compare it. Upon arrival, we were given a mini tour by the extremely polite member of staff who also carried our bags to our room on the second floor. We stayed in the premium turret room which had everything we needed, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer, very high but comfortable bed and lovely views out of the two windows. The towels are quite small so if I stayed again I'd probably bring my own and my boyfriend did get slightly scalded by the shower which up until then, we thought was very good! The best thing about this hotel were the staff, the views and the breakfast - we had an afternoon tea which was lovely, the breakfasts were cooked fresh to order and definitely cooked with care and attention instead of the usual slop you get at a buffet breakfast, and sitting looking out over the sea was very nice indeed. We had a meal in the restaurant which was also very nice and quite good value. The only thing I would say regarding value is I have managed to get much better deals on room prices in the past than what I paid here which was a bit higher than I usually fork out as I like to bargain shop for hotels. I cannot praise the staff highly enough, in particular the three Latvian staff who were extremely polite and attentive, much better than the surly staff we have often encountered in hotels and restaurants!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckwasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    111
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
30
294
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The building is fantastic with amazing views. The breakfast and service in general was excellent. The only downside we found were the rooms - a great variety it seems of size and comfort. Mine had a very comfy bed and good bathroom but there were patches of mildew which was a bit off putting. My friends room was beautiful looking with fabulous balcony and no mildew but the bed was rather soft and there was no bath - only a tiny shower-room which required some gymnastics to use. Overall a wonderfull place to stay but I think a lot depends on which room you get. Talking to other guests the tower rooms may be the best. We did not try the restaurant in the evening so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikyleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle under lyme
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We visited last may for a one night stay. The room was small, the bed very uncomfortable and the room smelt musty and stale. However the staff are lovely, the breakfast was really nice and the hotel was very tranquil. The hotel is in a great location and has plenty of private free off road parking.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alysonjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manc, Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Whoever writes a negative review about Tyr Graig needs to get a grip...We couldn,t knock anything..Its a summer house built in the shape of a castle end of!!
The views were fantastic from our room and the restaraunt also. The service from the staff was A1 regarding proffesionalism and attention to detail.
We ate in the hotel restaraunt both nights and couldn,t fault any of the courses and was well worth the money.
Its clean and beautifully maintained, your hosts take time out to speak to their guests which is a nice touch when other hotels just take your money without any interest.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who requires a very quiet get away.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinedine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Beautiful interior and wonderful staff are the positives of this hotel, Please do not go there thinking you are staying at a castle. as it is not. however maybe we were just unlucky, dinner in the evening lamb shank £18.00 was dry and hard, and my pasta dish was glutonous at £14.00 would have thought it would have been better. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in, very cheap matteress with a mattress topper said it all, shower impossible, dribbled out and the mountain views that we were promised actually did not mention that the room over looked a housing estate our views were directly into other peoples homealbeit the mountains were behind the houses . so a little dissapointing. On a positive note the staff were warm friendly and very welcoming, and the place was beautifully clean and tranquil. Enjoyed the stay for one night but dont think my back would stand any more than that.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annprice682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I booked this trip the day before and was a bit unsure what to expect as the price was so reasonable,it was amazing,so clean,room wasnt very big but it was enough for us.staff and managment were so very friendly and helpful,looking forward to our next stay,we will take family as well as we were so impressed. defdinately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bright50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We had a long weekend at Ty'r Graig Castle and was greeted immaculately and given a brief tour of the hotel before being taken to our room.
The room itseldf was a standard room but still boasted a great view out to sea. The room was spotless and tastfully decorated. Breakfast was great and on our second night we had opted for dinner in the package - the advantage to guests is that dinner is a la carte but the cost was already fixed in the package; normally a fixed menu is offered a many hotels, but not at Ty'r Graig Castle!
Dinner itself was lovely with views over the sea.
The only thing that spoiled the break was the appalling weather but we can't blame the hotel for that!
Special mention should be made to the staff who are mostly Latvian who made us so welcome and looked after us so well.
We would definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advance66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
1.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,442 reviews
5.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
14.8 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty'r Graig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'r Graig Castle

Property: Ty'r Graig Castle
Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty'r Graig Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark Victorian castle-hotel situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Approx. 1/2 mile out of Barmouth. An excellent base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas. Recently described by a guest as 'an oasis of calm' it sits proudly between the mountains and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ty'r Graig Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty`r Graig Castle Hotel Barmouth
Ty'r Graig Castle Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing