We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Richmond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond House
Ranked #4 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have been going for years, Nicky & Dylan are very welcoming, with loads of info about the local area, the breakfasts are fab and rooms modern, spacious and clean. There is great parking and it's in a fab location, Great!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Me & my partner stayed here last year. I was so impressed I took a business card & hoping to book in for this coming weekend. The welcome we received was excellent & very welcoming. Our room was gorgeous, the on-suite bath was huge & lovely. The breakfast we had was amazing & we were joined by the owner who had cooked the breakfast for a while, he was lovely & showed great enthusiasm & warmth. I met the lovely dog & dont see a problem with him, it is a family bed & breakfast after all, everything was clean & pristine. I hope to be staying this weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Officeangel229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is the third time we have stayed here and the experience remains excellent. Peaceful, comfy, clean, well-decorated; a pot of tea on arrival and chocolate in the room! Can't fault the service that Nicky & Dylan provide.

Room Tip: "Bardsey" if you want a view of the hills behind Barmouth; "Snowdon" if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looptail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a great stay here at Richmond guest house whilst down in Barmouth sorting out some of our wedding plans for later this year.

We found that this guest house was of a great location, backing out onto the beach road and the front of the house right on the Barmouth high street.

The owners are really friendly and welcoming, great rooms, great beds, lovely eco friendly bathroom products, and a exceptionally tasty breakfast.

We usually stay regularly in Barmouth but at another guest house, as this one was full we tried Richmond house,and we were very impressed.

We look forward to staying there again soon.

Michael Reid

West Midlands

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We've been visiting Barmouth for quite a few years now on and off. Everytime we go we always book into Richmond House. It has lovely spacious rooms with a number with brilliant views across to the sea (from the bedroom and bathroom!) with lots of opportunity for people watching! We last stayed there as part of a touring holiday from the North of Wales to the South. We booked in for three nights and Nicky did a little juggling to ensure we got our favourite sea view. We stayed in a lot of B n Bs that holiday but none served as good a breakfast as the Richmond. It just feels like home to us and we never get bored exploring the area. Only downside is the quality of the local food establishments in the town (an ever decreasing number as the recession hits) but largely we get by. The Richmond has parking which is always a plus given it backs onto one of the main streets (but no noise problems) and so you can reach the town and beach in minutes. It's also near to the railway station and trips up and down the coast are highly recommended. We hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: Bala and Bardsey - both have great sea views and lovely bright big bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This was our sixth stay at the Richmond House, and it was perfect..like always. Upon arrival, we parked in their private driveway that is off the street and secure and Nicky walked out to greet us. After a chat and some catching up, we went up to our room. We always stay in The Bala, which has amazing sea views from the bedroom and the bathroom. The bedroom is large and has a HUGE bed, with soft sheets and thick duvet. The pillows are superior and there are four of them on the bed. There is a dressing table with mirror and seat, perfect for hair and make-up. There is a TV/DVD combo in the room. Sometimes we bring a movie with us, or you can choose from their DVD collection down in the lounge. The bathroom is large with a huge window. It has a shower/bath combo and you are supplied with big fluffy white towels. There is shower gel and bath soap provided, which smell heavenly. There is also a large wardrobe in the room with hangers supplied. The décor is bright and beachy, and there are table lamps on each night stand. There is a coffee maker in the room and Nicky will supply you with milk for your coffee daily. There is also a variety of teas and even hot chocolate in the room.
The lounge on the second floor is wonderful for taking in the sights because there is a telescope in there and big comfy couches, books and magazines.
The breakfast room has a huge bay window and three tables and chairs. We always have the full breakfast which is bacon, sausage, fried egg, fried bread, beans, mushrooms, and tomato. You can have black pudding as well if you like and she has other items available to fit your need. There is also cold cereal and yoghurt as well. It is always delicious and fills you until dinner time.
The Richmond House is a very special B&B and we feel very fortunate to have found it, because it has become our favourite get-a-way.
And Nicky and Dylan, the owners are as nice as can be and make you feel like family.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benya2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Were greeted by Nicky and partner to a very nice B&B.
The Bala room was spacious with great sea views. A nice large clean room with everything u would expect including T&C facility and WiFi. A great breakfast. We could not fault our stay. Just 1st class.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFW15061955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawrenny Lodge
Lawrenny Lodge
#5 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond House

Property: Richmond House
Address: Richmond House High Street, Barmouth LL42 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond House is a large Victorian town house with three large double guest bedrooms with en-suites. Situated in the centre of Barmouth, we are only a two-minute walk from the beach, several excellent restaurants and pubs, and the railway station. Barmouth is on the Western edge of the Snowdonia National Park, with walking, mountain biking and a range of other activities available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Richmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing