We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, We will be coming back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond House
Ranked #4 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic, We will be coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

We enjoyed a weeks tour of wales from tenby to betws y coed staying at aberystwyth and barmouth along the way, we always research where we are going to stay but accomodation in Barmouth was in short supply during august for couples staying two nights, and we were unable to get our first choice of accomodation, I am so glad we didn't because Richmond house was without equal on our tour and was also the cheapest B&B we stayed in. The Owners are charming and helpful, our room was incredible, amazing view, a huge luxury bathroom and really comfy bed. The breakfast was the best we had in wales and the location couldn't be more central. Barmouth itself is gorgeous but suffers from a surfiet of day trippers and seems to have targetted the penny arcade, kiss me quick crowd. I hope I don't sound snobbish because I love the penny arcades and the fish and chips too but a place as geographically blessed might make more of its fabulous surroundings and allow somwhere else to be the "blackpool" of mid wales, When the day trippers have departed Barmouth becomes much quieter and a stroll along the beach with the sun setting behind Snowdonia will stay with you long after you get home. Pick up the phone and book now you will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJellybelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Stayed for two nights at the Richmond House and couldn't fault it. Nice hosts, lovely house and great breakfast, with excellent walks starting almost outside the front door.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

Let me start by saying that we would change the dates of our vacation to fit in with The Richmond House schedule. That is how much we love to stay there. One of the first great things that you will notice upon arrival is the off street private parking. The second is being greeted by Nicky, and Dylan if he is home. They are personable and inviting, and make you feel so welcome. When you enter the house, you will notice that the décor is well above average. It is lovely and warm..not sterile and cold like a hotel. It just feels like home, because it is their home. After checking in, we are always offered a cup of coffee or tea, which my honey always takes Nicky up on the fresh pot of coffee.
The rooms are incredible. We have stayed here four times..twice in The Bardsey and twice in Bala. Both rooms are very large, with nice furnishings. The Bardsey has a huge bathroom with a wonderful tub and separate shower. The view of the town below is amazing and watching the people about town is a lot of fun. It is clean and tidy and has everything you will need...even a TV with a DVD player. (very nice DVD collection in the lobby) Then there is The Bala room..which has become our favourite. It is relaxing and comfortable, with a huge bed and incredible bathroom with a view of the sea which can not get any better. Laying in the tub and watching the sun set is something you do not get to do very often. There is so much to do around town. Wonderful shops and boutiques. The beach is just across the street and will only take you a few minutes to walk to. The restaurant choice is good as well, we highly recommend Chilli Spice, the curry is exceptional and their keema nan is the best. You won't need lunch, because after Nicky's incredible breakfast, you are set for the day until dinner. There is a nice choice on their breakfast menu and we look forward to it every trip.
Richmond House is part of the reason that Barmouth is so special to us...we could not ask for more from it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benya2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

Stayed for 2 nights.
Breakfast was lovely especially scambled eggs.
Nikki was lovely and a welcome pot of tea when we arrived.
Room was lovely and brilliant sea views.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topsy8432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

Smell of dog on arrival. Room good, but not cleaned during our entire stay!! Surely not a 4star place. Staircase dusty - you could write your name in it - and lots of dust on loo-brush holder. Tables in dining room sticky. Breakfast excellent and hosts friendly, but thorough cleaning needed before we'd go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefuls42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondHouse, Owner at Richmond House, responded to this review, 28 August 2010
Thank you for the feedback from your visit to Richmond House – we’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy your visit as much as we’d hoped.

As we’ve mentioned previously - and as we mention on our website - we have a dog. He’s a large chocolate Labrador called Oscar, and he has to enter and exit the house through the main hallway – so if you follow him in when he’s been for a cool down in the sea - you may be (briefly) aware of him. However, he lives in our apartment and is not allowed to go into any other guest areas, so the issue is generally very short lived, unless guests specifically ask to meet him – a request to which he is usually very pleased to oblige.

Regarding your other comments, we are sorry that you didn’t feel that you could raise the issues at the time so that we could rectify them during your visit – we like to think that we are approachable and will sort out any issues that guests may have. In particular, cleanliness is very important to us - we generally score highly in that regard on various review websites - and any reduction from our usual high standards is very untypical. Hopefully, should you decide to pay a return visit to Richmond House, you’ll find that things are to your satisfaction!!

Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We had 3 nights at Richmond House. The bedroom and en suite we stayed in were large, comfortable and nicely decorated with sea views. The house has a very friendly atmospere and being in the town, is handily situated for eating out and evening strolls along the beach. It is an excellent base for walking, you need hardly drive at all. We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LboroVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We stayed at Richmond House for 3 nights as a base for exploring Snowdonia. Our hosts could not have looked after us better - a pot of tea and a chat when we arrived, local knowledge about the town, very filling breakfasts - all combined to make our stay truly relaxing. The location is great and plenty of off-street parking; the hotel is pleasantly decorated and extremely quiet - very much a place to return to.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank looptail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lawrenny Lodge
Lawrenny Lodge
#5 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#14 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond House

Property: Richmond House
Address: Richmond House High Street, Barmouth LL42 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond House is a large Victorian town house with three large double guest bedrooms with en-suites. Situated in the centre of Barmouth, we are only a two-minute walk from the beach, several excellent restaurants and pubs, and the railway station. Barmouth is on the Western edge of the Snowdonia National Park, with walking, mountain biking and a range of other activities available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Richmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing