We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent site & location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hendre Mynach Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
cannock
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent site & location”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We arrived on site at 11am & were told we could pitch our tent on either of the two camping areas. Lots of room & lovely flat surfaces. Bathroom area is really good, we made full use of the showers which wern't the hottest but when we had 25c heat they felt just right. The beach is just a 5 minute stroll from the site & the main town of Barmouth just 20minutes along a lovely coastal path. Our dog loved running around the beach & most of the pubs in town allowed for dogs to sit in so we found this great. We will definitely go back to this site. Thought that £23 to pitch a tent was a bit steep but I suppose you are in a great location.

Room Tip: Don't camp too close to the railway crossing as people banging the gate all night was a little a...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank russellbrown181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    51
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
110
100
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

we have just got back from a week stay at hendre mynach caravan park i enjoyed it so much i would go back we was a short walk away from the beach and a lovely eating place near beach we all so went in the town off barmouth witch is about a 20 min walk on the flat or u can catch a small train there is 2 lovely eating places there is a fish n chip shop allways busy called the mermaid and next door 2 that is a chinese its called good luck they are both worth paying a visit

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Lovely site, really helpful. We were not sure how long we were going to stay for, so they allowed us to pay for 2 nights and provisionally held the pitch for 4 nights with no obligation. We did end up staying for the 4. The only negative was the size of the pitch if another tent or caravan had pitched next to us, it would have been a little cramped, luckily, nobody did.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreamaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

After a very long drive with three of my friends. We arrived at hendre mynach campsite. We weren't in the best of moods as we were turned down by numerous campsites is black rock sands as we wernt a 'family'. Quite disappointing to say the least! We arrived around 9pm and found that reception was closed, as we were in a rush to get the tent up and settle down for the night we overlooked the telephone number we were supposed to call. So we all decided to find a pitch, set up and figured out we would go to reception first thing in the morning to pay. About 15 mins after we parked up a very accommodating chap ( the owner) turned up and welcomed us to the campsite. (no hesitation on accommodating us unlike some of the campsites we had previously been to). I have stayed here before and, would most definitely return. All the toilets/showers were very clean as usual, and the campsite is just a stones throw away from the beach. a lovely atmosphere all round! Thank you for a lovely stay and we'll see you very soon!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank waleslj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

we have been to this site several times and we really like it, the only thing that spoils it is the staff in the shop, which is seperate from the campsite staff, who are lovely. the shop staff are unwelcoming, unfriendly and unhelpful, often arguing amongst themselves, I went in one evening to get some chips from the takeaway and the woman said i was the only customer for the takeaway that day, not surprising with their attitude and £1.75 for a small portion of chips!! The site is well cared for, the garden areas are very pleasant as is the childrens play area which our two small granddaughters loved. The showers and toilets are spotless. The site is very close to the beach and a nice walk into town. Can recommend the promenade cafe, food is good and staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. All in all hendre mynach is one of our favourite sites and we will go back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Just came back from hendra mynach after two nights stay in our campervan. We usually stay in dyffryn so have always driven straight past but this time we wanted to be closer to barmouth so we could go for a drink etc. The site is brilliant, so clean and each pitch has a water supply which was handy. The staff were friendly and helpful. I didnt venture into the shop. The stay cost us £52 for both nights which is a bit steep but is the going rate for the barmouth area. We will be returning in a few weeks.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giff73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We recently stayed for a week in the campsite's static caravan. We had a puppy with us and had to pitch a separate tent for which we took turns of sleeping in with the dog on the night so it wasn't left alone. However the tent we brought had parts missing and we were unable to pitch it properly. When we were tearing our hair out over the situation a member of the campsite staff approached us with a brand new 2 man tent for us to borrow and saved the day for us!

The site is well looked after by the excellent friendly staff. We did have a bit of a grump staying in his caravan right opposite. He was annoyed with our puppy because it cried a bit on the first night and when I apoligised the following morning he replied with a grunt and asked if we were staying the week! He then packed up and left and came back at the end of the week!

When it was time to go we had a fair amount of luggage and we had travelled by train. The staff once again helped us out by taking our luggage down to the train station.
It was a shame that no dogs are allowed into the caravan but it is understandable.

The site is right next to the clean sandy beach and not far from the town centre.

Thanks to the staff

10 out of 10

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotsman8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
0.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
312 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Barmouth Bay Holiday Park
Barmouth Bay Holiday Park
#3 of 12 in Barmouth
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
417 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendre Mynach Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendre Mynach Caravan Park

Property: Hendre Mynach Caravan Park
Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Barmouth
Hotel Class:5 star — Hendre Mynach Caravan Park 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hendre Mynach Caravan Park Hotel Barmouth
Hendre Mynach Caravan Park Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing