We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly there, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Faenol Fawr Country Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A one night stay. Not the easiest place to find, and you do have to trust yourself that you are on the right track.

Hotel itself is a converted manor house, and so it has a different feel to most hotels which is good.
Finding reception was a bit of a hunt as you get the first sign from the car park, but then no more.
Receptionist friendly-in fact all the staff could not be more friendly and helpful.
Again room kind of hard to find, no obvious signs to it. Room itself, small but clean, did the business. However two lamps not working, and hard to find enough light to see clearly by.
Bathroom ok, but shower, although hot, you needed to dance around to get wet.
Bedroom got good views, and very quiet.
But little soundproofing from people in the corridor. Luckily when I was there, it was not too bad.
Meals are basic but good quality. Fish and chips really very nice. Bar had range of standard drink, but nothing outstanding.

Pool nice and warm. Again signage let it down. It was a bit of a hunt to find changing rooms, and still not really sure I got changed it the right area! The sauna did not work, even though i think I pressed all the right buttons! The gym area, not my speciality, but looked cramps and not very inviting at all, with rather tired kit. There was also some building work going on when I was there, so the loos were out of order, and you had to go to the bar if needed, (which would be interesting!)

Breakfast is a bit of a hunt to find...just keep on walking! Funny little cubbyhole contains what you need for a continental. The cooked breakfast looked good, but is £7 more.

All in all, it could be a great little hotel...but..

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank myboyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFHOTEL, Owner at The Faenol Fawr Country Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for your comments ,rightly so that we are at this instance work in progress as having recently completed the hotel reception, the swimming pool is having a facelift and new changing rooms which is due for completion the end of the Feb fingers crossed.
The signage is a tad vague at the moment as we are trying a mix between the new colours and the stunning building we have the pleasure of looking after, though over the next few months this matter should be resolved.
The sauna has been repaired now which l am sorry you did not get to use, if in the area again kindly ask for me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

The staff were pleasant, but appeared to lack knowledge;we were asked on checking in if we had stayed at the hotel before. Having said 'no', the receptionist did not inform of the facilities available, she verbal directed us to our room and told us when breakfast and dinner were, but failed to inform us of the fitness centre which we spied on our departure. The waiting staff who took our order was not fully aware of items on the menu and what was supplied with each meal, we ordered vegetables, but the were supplied with the meal so we had too much food, resulting in dreadful waste. Food was of a good quality. They had no stock of the wine we initially ordered from the wine list, we were not informed when given the wine list that some items we re unavailable.

The room! One of the bedside lamps had no bulb, which inhibited reading. The lighting in both the bedroom and bathroom was so subdued it was insufficient to shave by or apply make-up. The bathroom had mould around the window and a very marked shelf.
There was only one glass provided. The bed sheets had old black marks on them!
The building is very interesting, as you approach it along the drive you expect a special experience, sadly this isn't what we had. It was very disappointing. I was awoken at midnight by children shouting and running along the corridor outside our room, the adults with them just added to the noise, I know this isn't directly the staff's fault but it just contributed to our disappointment.
Most definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFHOTEL, Owner at The Faenol Fawr Country Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Much appreciated views from your recent stay here with us, l actually said good bye to you the morning of departure and really would have apologised to you for our misgivings had you mentioned it.
This is the time of year when we decorate and titivate the hotel hence the special last weekend dinner bed and breakfast rate of £85.00 which attracted guest's from near and far , and also the time for our lovely brand new reception lounge to open and the pool and leisure currently having new changing rooms that my receptionist forgot to mention (so new she still thought that they were not in use) though they are mentioned in our compendium in the bedroom all rooms are under the paint brush over the next few weeks .The light bulb missing and window shelf incident l have resolved and can only apologise.
Thank you for the pleasant comments on our food all duly noted and l have spoken to our chef's about serving less food to guest's which is work in progress. The excited children incident who ran past your room lm afraid is out of our hands there are signs situated on the corridor ,but lm afraid they were a little younger than reading age and where having a hoot here.
I have passed on the comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our trip to Faenol Fawr was a fabulous experience. We had a very pleasant stay. Karina was most helpful in organising one of our party's 60th birthday party decorations. The table was lovely. The ever smiling Katia was a delight to us on serving breakfast too. It was a first time there.. for 2 of our party. They will be back !

Room Tip: Having stayed a few times, They are all excellent. As we were in a party of 6 we were all in adjoini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_collier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a recent business trip to North Wales. It was a superb find and I will most definitely be coming back!

It has just the right balance of personal service without being imposing. The food was fantastic, one of the best steaks I've had, I was just gutted I could not fit anymore in.

I was in room 202 which has a lovely split level feature. The decor was traditional with a modern flair and I had a great nights sleep. The shower was an adequate height for me at 5'8" but I do think anyone taller could have struggled a little.

Now I do have to always find something 'wrong', there was no toilet roll holder! I'm sure the toilet roll sitting on the cistern will not be a deal breaker for many though!

I may even make a venture for a weekend break in the future. So relaxing, beautiful setting and great service.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mini545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A vast and imposing grade II listed historic manor dating from 1597. Situated in Bodelwyddan, North Wales. Reputed to have once accommodated Oliver Cromwell, and continues to accommodate the ghost of a French 'lady'... Some regular patrons refuse to stay in upstairs rooms on account of the likelihood of a chance encounter !!
Some large and comfortable rooms. Plenty of hot water and clean white towels, although the odour emanating from the drains does spoil the ambiance somewhat (unless it was the French Lady ).
Breakfast is in the bar area, as there is no dedicated dining room.
Continental breakfast is included in the room rate, and obtained from a small side room accessed by ducking under ancient low door arches and squeezing around protruding staircases and door frames. The full cooked breakfast is available at an extra cost of £7:00 (good quality and tasty, but hardly worth the additional charge)
A varied but limited menu is available for evening dining, though somewhat overpriced, portions are ample and quality is good.
Overall, a popular venue for adults and couples, not really suited for families with young children or teenagers.
Onsite swimming pool was sadly closed for "refurbishment"
Would definitely return

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank lavabread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed New Years Eve and had a wonderful time, they had a black tie event on but we were attending a party elsewhere. The hotel was beautifully decorated. Room lovely, staff very friendly. Breakfast lovely, if only they just offered a bagel along with the other bread. Can't complain about anything, apart from the rain.

Room Tip: The rooms we have stayed in have been very good. We always stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Fabulous selection of food,and the tables were set beautifully,. Good variety of music to dance to and the staff are super. Excellent parking facilities .We had a terrific evening. All functions held here are superb.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bonny445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodelwyddan
3.3 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
381 reviews
3.3 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
559 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
629 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
641 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Faenol Fawr Country Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Faenol Fawr Country Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5UN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Price Range: £103 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
The Faenol Fawr Country Hotel And Leisure Club
The Faenol Fawr Country Hotel & Leisure Club Bodelwyddan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing