We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welsh Bowlers shine at Bodelwyddan Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welsh Bowlers shine at Bodelwyddan Castle”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

As Secretary of the Welsh Indoor Bowls Association I have just come back from Bodelwyddan Castle where we held our annual Champion of Champions event which is sponsored by Warners.
We have all had great time and have been we'll looked after by the staff. The facilities are very impressive and even if you are only on a visit to North Wales the hotel is well worth a visit. Rooms were clean, food was very good, staff very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your feedback.

I am happy to see that you were well looked after and you all enjoyed yourselves throughout your stay!

Many thanks Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    483
    176
    72
    64
See reviews for
124
844
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The standards of customer service that Warner aim for at all their properties are not let down by anyone at Bodelwyddan Castle- all the staff are polite and helpful putting guest satisfaction first. The quality and variety of food is excellent with a full and varied menu. With activities during the day and entertainment in the evening nobody can say that there is nothing to do. Obviously trying to please a varied audience not all the entertainment will appeal to everybody but there is enough choice so that you cannot have any reason to dislike it overall. Will definitely be using Warner again.

Room Tip: Bedrooms are in blocks away from the main building therefore if you have walking difficulties ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. At all of our properties our priority is our guests having a fabulous time.

As a team, we always give it our all and try our very best to meet all of our guests needs with such a huge variety of entertainment and activities.

Kind regards Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

First timers but will definitely return for more. Enjoyed everything. Plenty to see and do. Food excellent and all the staff very friendly and professional. This holiday destination certainly rocks!!! Better than a cruise.

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading to signature. All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferrit69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your comments!

How great to read that you were 'first timers' and had such a good time.

We would love to welcome you back again!!

Regards Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Thank you to Jodie, Niamh, Gary and the team in the Mulberry café: Emma Laura, Mikaela and all the entertainment team; and all staff who did their jobs with a smile and professionalism that is unusual in many British Hotels. The food was excellent and good choices followed by many activities during the day(where did we find time to do it all) and then excellent entertainment in the evening, from dancing, quizzes, specialist acts (Johnny Cash Story) and 'Dream Lover' arranged and choreographed by the tem. Superb. It was our second visit in 11 months and we will be back and may bring family & friends next time.

Room Tip: We had standard room on ground floor opposite reception. Same room on both occasions. No problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your comments, it is lovely to read so many names of team members who obviously made a great impression during your stay.

Thank you also for your positive feedback with regards to the food and the entertainment.

Many thanks

Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed there recently for work. Beautiful place and location. Food and accommodation are first class. One great thing this place has going for it is the very enthusiastic and forward thinking manager Gary Johnston. Running me through his plans for renovations etc. I'm sure this will be a gem under his management

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your comments, I am happy to see that you were well looked after during your visit!!

Many thanks Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Four day mid-week break with friends - our first Warner break. Thought this would not be for us but what a surprise! Everything from food to facilities and entertainment was fantastic. Standard room was ideal - very clean (thanks to Clare, our housekeeper!), and all of the staff went out of their way to be friendly. Good resident band and young, very enthusiastic, entertainment team who put on some great shows. We enjoy ballroom and sequence dancing and were able to strut our stuff early evening with disco later. Couldn't think of anything to complain about - I'm sure we will return.

Room Tip: We had second floor room in Princes building. Had to walk about 25 yards outside to main building en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dancer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I am happy to see that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you had a wonderful time here at the Castle.

Many thanks Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have been to Bodelwyddan several times before this, but not for about 5 years now. Much improved generally in its ambiance. A cheerful welcome,and a very well appointed room in the Princes Hall (no 219) to start us off. The food was much improved to our last visit, well presented and a nice variety; although this time you have to pay for tea and coffee after your evening meal (not sure this is worth persuing Warners, just charge a little extra for the stay?) Day time activities were diverse and enjoyed by my husband and I (although not always together!); tai chi, rifle shooting, archery, table tennis, snooker, legs tums etc; oh then there's indoor bowling, and a swiming pool and beauty salon we never got time to utilise ...... and still lots more i havent mentioned! Night time entertainment was good with both the resident teams and featured artists working hard for our guest enjoyment.
St Margarets (the Marble Church) is nearby and within easy walking distance,and is well worth a visit due to its interesting and sad background stories, as well as its magnificant construction. The castle itself is also well worth a visit and is open to the general public ( we didnt go this time). All in all a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadders58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback, it is great to welcome you back after 5 years away.

I am happy to see that things have greatly improved since your last visit, and that you were happy with the room allocated.

We greatly appreciate all of your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodelwyddan
4.4 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
352 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
610 reviews
4.3 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Address: Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Grade II listed Historic Hotel has walled gardens, sweeping lawns and ivy clad turrets. Soak up the rolling Welsh hillsides, or take in the scenery from the top of nearby Snowdon. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing