We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here recently with my in laws. 4th time we have been at a Warner's Hotel. We were not let down. The grounds and castle are superb. All staff very helpful. We had a ground floor signature room which was very comfortable,we had a Patio which would have been nice in the Summer, but still to cold and wet to try out.
Food was very good, however the dining are is a little cramped if Warner's could sort that out then this would be excellent. Our only complaint was it seemed we were on top of each other with other guests (shoulder to shoulder) also dodging waiters and guest as you went back and forth to the Carvery.Service was sometimes indifferent depending on how busy they all were
Whilst there we played Table Tennis, Snooker and Indoor Bowls,(also outside crown green) I used the pool,gym,sauna and steam room. There are also lots of other activities that anyone can try.
Entertainment was good especially Memphis Belle Orchestra and the entertainment team came a second best on the last night with their tribute to the sounds of the 50's.

Keep up the good work team, just try and sort the dining area out to reach top marks.

Room Tip: Signature for us everytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor. We appreciate all of our guests feedback as we use this to continually improve the services we offer.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed all of the entertainment and activities that we provided for you during your stay. We also take on board your comments regarding the space in the dining room. I have brought this to the attention to our Restaurant Manager who is currently reviewing what we offer and how we can improve even more.

Many thanks Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    459
    171
    69
    60
See reviews for
114
799
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

As a first timer we did not know what to expect but first impressions were good.Check in was easy but as our room wasn't ready we were invited to leave our cases and they would be taken to our room whilst we looked around.The grounds were well looked after and every thing was close bye.
When we went to our room we found it very clean & pleasant.the bed was HUGE & very comfortable and we were lucky enough to have a patio,which would be lovely in the summer.As it was it was convenient for my husband who is a smoker.The bathroom was large and well equipped,although the cheep,thin toilet paper was a let down.
The dining room was light,airy & modern and the food was tasty and plentiful,nothing was too much trouble for the waiting on staff and Linda with help from Kate were wonderful ladies and very helpful. If you get a chance try the chocolate,apple &beatroote pudding,it was sublime.
We were disappointed with the entertainment lounge which was quite soulless and not very comfortable.Not having been on a Warner's break before we did not know the emphasis that was put on dancing,as we are not dancers we found this very boring and would have enjoyed a nice comfortable bar to relax in.
We very much enjoyed the Memphis Bell big band which was our reason for going.There was a mix up with our prebooked table but it was dealt with quickly and generously,and saved us from being upset.
All of the staff were very good and were a great credit to the hotel.All of the activities we tried were fun,especially the archery.
If you fancied a change the village pub was a short drive or walk away and a Spar shop was close bye too if you wanted any thing.
The parking close to the hotel,especially for disabled guests was not sufficient for the guests and made it difficult if you went out as you new you would have a problem parking when you got back.There was parking further down by the entrance but as you had to climb the hill up to the hotel it was not convenient for guests with mobility problems,as many guests had.
All in all we enjoyed our stay but would hesitate to return for more than a night or two due to the abundance of dance and lack of a comfortable bar to retire to in the evening.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a room close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turk0file
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback here on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed most aspects of your holiday. I will feedback your thoughts and comments to the team.

I am also sorry to read that you were left disappointed with the entertainments and the venue that it was held. We do try and cater for all of our guests needs and have such a huge variety of activities/entertainment going on throughout our breaks, including dancing, singing, leisure activities and much much more.

Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding our team.

Kind regards

Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby northants uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

A nice hotel. Food good, rooms large and clean , staff very attentive. But if you think you are
Staying in the castle wrong. It is in the grounds , the hotel is an annex. The rooms are across the
Courtyard to the main reception to the hotel. If it rains well you know the answer to that. The gym
Is up a hill from the main entertainment centre. So a lot of outside walking. Hard to push a wheel
Chair around. But have to be fair the hotel was very well run, but more for seniors.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your recent review.

I am sorry to learn that you found it difficult to push around a wheelchair throughout your stay with us. We do endeavour to have wheelchair access to many of our facilities and due to the layout of the building there is a short walk involved to our accomodation.

However, I am happy to see that you enjoyed the food, your room and the team.

Kind regards

Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our first experience of a Warner break and we thourougly enjoyed the whole weekend. Our spacious standard room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the food was excellent with plenty of choice and our waitress Linda was extemely helpful and cheerful. There were plenty of activities on offer during the day. The evening entertainment was second to none, an unusual comedy act on Friday. The Memphis Belle band on Saturday and the Entertainment team put on a brilliant Dream Lover show on the Sunday. All the staff were very professional and friendly. The location was very picturesque and a good base to visit places like Conwy and Llandudno. We booked early and got a discount which made this break excellent value for money. On the whole we were very impressed with the whole experience and would certainly not hesitate in booking another Warner Weekend.

Room Tip: Ask Warner staff they will choose the most appropriate room. There are plenty of ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so happy that you had such a great time, and that the team looked after you very well.

I agree that both The Memphis Belle orchestra and our in - house team put on great entertainment for you over the weekend.

Kind regards Claire GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have had a few Warners breaks and really enjoy the format but this was our first stay at Bodelwyddan and it was very good. Excellent food as ever with 1st class service from our waiter Lewis. Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean with a very large comfortable bed.
The entertainment was overall good, however the team was short staffed and it showed at times with a couple of events not covered and the team having to work very hard indeed. Emma's efforts and Carly from the resident band particularly doing an lot of work, we look forward to Billy a very talented singer being given more of a chance too.
The leisure club is very good although it is not the warmest pool! The shooting and archery activities were great fun with Jack the instructor very helpful
The hotel is well located in a very scenic area with lots of lovely walks and several seaside resorts within a very short drive. We will return to Bodelwyddan in the near future no doubt.

Room Tip: Many rooms are located up stairs so be sure to advise Warners if you have mobility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALOP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was our 3rd Warner break; our first at Bodelwyddan. The setting was lovely, even in the rain! As usual there were plenty of 'in-house' activities, which kept us on the go, and the young members of the entertainment team worked extremely hard. Praise must go to Emma who was leading the team that weekend; you did a fantastic job! Needless to say we took advantage of the very good food which was on offer for breakfast and dinner. Only minus point would be that you have to be 'quick off the mark' to get a seat in the Lowther Hall for the lead entertainment on the Saturday night. Other than that it was great and we are booked in again in May for the fabulous Talon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine2Salop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just got back from a three night break. Excellent value only paid £188 each after discount and we had a fantastic time. The food was lovely and tasty and spoiled for choice. Must comment on the in house entertainment team never seen young people work so hard. The main act was a tribute band -The Bee Gees- but must say it was the on site team that made it for us.
The grounds are a must and the wildlife ; I even came across a wild deer about 10 feet away from waer I was walking.

Room Tip: If you like a smoke book a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lang4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodelwyddan
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
12.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Address: Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Grade II listed Historic Hotel has walled gardens, sweeping lawns and ivy clad turrets. Soak up the rolling Welsh hillsides, or take in the scenery from the top of nearby Snowdon. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing