We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Booked four nights at the hotel but came back after three room very comfortable and clean. The food is probably the best in any hotel I have stayed at and that is an awful lot of hotels Big! Problem dinner is served at the ridiculous time of 6 30 to 8 pm!! At home we normally start our evening meal at 8 30 pm at the earliest. As for entertainment and I am well aware of how subjective that can be the whole place was akin to holiday camps of the 60s it was impossible to find anywhere to sit and have a quiet drink check your E mails etc read a book. Thought we had found our haven then this rank amateur started playing ( and I use the word loosely) an electric organ and made several abysmal attempts at being humorous.If you want a base to tour North Wales I would highly recommend this hotel and at the risk of sounding pompous and arrogant if your tastes lean to the aesthetic think twice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terence V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us!!

I apologise that on this visit to us you were left feeling disappointed by the entertainment we had to offer and with regards to our meal times.

As you can see from the many other reviews, that we have many other guests who regularly enjoy what we have to offer, so again we apologise we were not to your taste.

Thank you again for leaving your feedback as we certainly take all comments on board!!

Kind regards Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    499
    182
    75
    67
See reviews for
136
879
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were very impressed with the stunning scenery and location. Our bedroom was very good, overlooking an inner courtyard,with the courtesy tray refreshed daily. Food was excellent, service was good, although the tables were very close together, making it difficult for larger people or those with slight mobility problems. Enjoyed swimming pool which had easy access and was nice and warm. Team show was worst one we have seen. On site was the Elwy Lounge where drinks and snacks could be obtained and in the evening there was entertainment provided by Fletch. He was so good, involving audience, having a laugh that on the last evening they had to bring over more chairs. Many were standing, which proves that the team show did not draw people to it. All staff were very helpful and we had a welcome break. This would have earned an excellent if team show had been better. We will go there again. Reception area was very cramped with only 2 chairs. Unfortunately all the chairs in Main Hall are very uncomfortable to sit on for the evening - this is general for Warner's, extra cushions were insufficient for numbers needing them and were booked early.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello

Thank you for such a lovely review of your recent stay with us!!

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and you had such a great time away!

I have taken on board your comments with regards to the chairs in the entertainments venue and hopefully these will be replaced soon as possible.

Kind regards Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Went to this hotel as previously spent time in a Warner hotel at Nottingham so thought we would try different location,we were not disappointed as this was an excellent location and beautiful hotel,excellent food and service,nice friendly helpful staff,and to top it all off the Saturday night entertainment was mercury queen tribute band who get better every time I've seen them(fourth time)

Room Tip: We had a signature room and very spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POSTYLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello

Thank you for such a lovely review of your recent stay with us!!

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you have tried one of our other properties.

We have a total of 13 hotels which are all completely different and have different characteristics so you will experience something different at each one you visit.

Kind regards Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We got a deal for a two night package and it is the first time we have been on a Warner Leisure break. We were not disappointed! From the moment we arrived we were met by staff to direct us to the car park and take our luggage to reception. Booking in was quick and efficient. We then went to the dining room to select a table - which was ours for the duration of our stay. So there was no rushing into the dining room at meal times to get a decent table! We also opened a charge card, which meant we didn't have to carry money or cards with us but could stow our valuables away in our room safe.

We went to our room which overlooked an inside courtyard. Very spacious with two comfy chairs. There was a well stocked bathroom and courtesy tray.Also all the usual things you would expect.

We orders newspapers from the shop and collected them from the reception each morning.There is a well stocked gift shop on site.

There are 2 coffee shops and as the weather was lovely we were able to sit outside and eat our lunch and enjoy our coffee.The gardens and grounds are well laid out and beautifully cared for,There are plenty of walks and areas where you can just sit and enjoy the scenery.

The food was good and swiftly served by our waiter, Matthew. He was lovely - always a smile and nothing too much trouble for him. Dinner is mainly waiter service except if you want the carvery where you go up and are served at the plate. Breakfast is self service but, even those it was busy, it wasn't a rush.

There was evening entertainment both nights although we didn't go. We did make use of the Spa facilities- a back massage and the pool facilities were excellent.

The break was far too short as we enjoyed it so much! We would definitely partake in another Warner Leisure Break. Excellent!!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quiet. I guess if you are mobile upstairs is better, although there are lifts t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
WOW!!

Thank you for your 5star review!!

I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday and that the team looked after you so well.

We would love to welcome you back at Bodelwyddan Castle Hotel anytime, so give us a call!!

Kind regards

Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Bodelwyddan Castle for 4 nights, using the hotel as a base to explore the many interesting attractions in the area, which included the superb museum and art gallery located in the adjacent premises and maintained by the local Council.
Our Signature suite was well-appointed and spacious with attractive decor and a very comfortable bed. Since all rooms are located across an external courtyard it was unpleasant walking through the drizzle each evening to and from the public areas for dining and entertainment.
Throughout our stay the meals were always of a high standard with a varied menu, excellent quality, attractive presentation and served by friendly and attentive staff.
Unfortunately the public areas did not match the quality of the individual bedrooms and catering. The reception area is cramped with dingy decor, it certainly does not give a welcoming ambience on arrival. The tables in the dining room were placed impossibly close together so that any movement to the serving areas required the agility of a gymnast! Both the dining area and the main hall are exceptionally dreary and desperately in need of a facelift - the decor is reminiscent of a 1960s working men's club. Because there are insufficient chairs for everyone in the hall, most guests started their evening meal at 6.30pm so that they could secure a seat at 7.30pm for the evening's entertainment. Since we prefer to eat later it was virtually impossible to find seats together for the shows which commenced at 9.30pm. This was very frustrating as the entertainment team presented what appeared to be a superb new show during our stay, but we could hardly see the performance from our standing position at the back of the hall.
In our opinion the entire public area requires a massive update to bring the property up to an acceptable standard. Until this occurs we would certainly not return to Bodelwyddan Castle Hotel, nor could we recommend it to others.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank flowersRus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your review!!

I apologise that on this occasion you were left feeling disappointed with the public areas of the hotel. Out of our 13 properties we are the oldest, however, we have some new and exciting plans in the pipeline for 2014/2015!!

Thank you for your lovely comments with regards to our location, your room, the food and our wonderful team.

We hope you reconsider your decision to not stay with us again and would love to welcome you back again in the future!!

Kind regards

Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We (husband and self, mother, sister and brother in law) have recently returned from Bodelwyddan Castle Hotel after spending an excellent first class break with Warners. The hotel setting and the grounds were all beautifully well kept and ideal for our long weekend break.

We all had rooms in Princes Hall which was ideal for my elderly mother and my semi disabled husband as it was so near the main hotel facilities. We had three 'Signature' rooms and found them to be very large, spotlessly clean, and well kept the whole four days of our stay, by a very friendly maid.

Every member of staff were polite and courteous and always passed the time of day as you met them, we were made to feel very valued guests. The restaurant was very well set out and had a wide and varied menu at all mealtimes and our waiter Darren was a very friendly and competent young man.

We did encounter a problem on arrival to our rooms but this was immediately rectified to our complete satisfaction by Kaye the Guest Relations manager. I personally cannot thank her enough for the solution she came up with and suffice to say my mother was made to be a very 'special' person on Mothers Day............many grateful thanks.

The swimming pool was so warm and we enjoyed a couple of good swim sessions. My husband and brother in law enjoyed their sessions of Archery and the Rifle Shooting, but unfortunately due to their popularity couldn't get on all the sessions they would have liked. Whilst they were on their Archery my mother, sister and self enjoyed a nice walk round the castle and art gallery and found this very interesting. The quizzes that were put on were well organised and our family team even won one of them.

The evening entertainment was brilliant, although we personally found the dancing a little long winded, but hey that was someone else's gain, as they floor was always full of dancers. The last show, 'Dream Lover' put on by the entertainment team on the Sunday night was excellent and so professional, that I likened it to a West End show.

I think that quite a few of the rival large holiday chains could learn a lot from the Warner group of hotels who appear to have a very successful organisation. This was my first holiday with Warners and it wont be my last now I have discovered them.

Room Tip: We found the 'Signature' rooms to be very large and excellent choice. Rooms in the Princes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us with your feedback!!

I am so happy to see that you had a wonderful time with us and the team looked after you so well.

I am sure you can appreciate that with a hotel of our size, things can go wrong from time to time. However, I am so pleased to see that Kaye put right any issues you may have had so quickly and you all enjoyed your mothers day break away!!

Kind regards Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We are returning this month for our second visit and I am really looking forward to it. The staff are very helpful, always smiling and nothing seems to much trouble. Staying in Williams Village again. Thoroughly recommend this.........far better than Thorsby Hall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for your very complimentary review!!

I am so happy to read that you enjoyed yourself with us so much you are returning. William's Village is such a beautiful area of the Hotel, I am positive you will have a brilliant time!!

Thank you again for your recommendation and we will see you soon !!

Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodelwyddan
4.4 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
366 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
598 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
2.9 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
541 reviews
2.0 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Address: Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Grade II listed Historic Hotel has walled gardens, sweeping lawns and ivy clad turrets. Soak up the rolling Welsh hillsides, or take in the scenery from the top of nearby Snowdon. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing