We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter 4 nights mid week break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter 4 nights mid week break”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Very good break. Staff helpful,entertainment sounded lame but turned out to be top notch and we'll worth watching. My only note would be to management, please utilise the grounds and gardens, whilst they were pleasant to walk around remember this was built as a folly and the gardens could be stunning with just a little work. We have already booked another Warner break for June.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrro5e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review.

I am pleased to read that you had a great time with us regardless of your original doubts about the entertainment.

Thank you for your comments with regards to our grounds, I have passed these onto our hardworking ground team who will be working throughout the summer, continuing to improve our already gorgeous gardens

Kind Regards Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    483
    177
    72
    64
See reviews for
125
846
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here in March, a very impressive building as you drive long the road below it and it looks like a Castle and does not disappoint inside.
Yes this is a Warners run property so you expect good standards and we were not disappointed.
Car parking can be a bit tight but there are porters on hand to help with luggage on arrival if needed. Check in was easy and quick and we had a large room with a patio, a big bed and
well furnished bathroom. The room looked as though it had been recently decorated. The bedding and bathroom towels were of a very good quality. A good selection of bars and coffee shop all at very reasonable prices. There is only one large dinning room at this property but you
have the same table for the whole of your stay. The quality of the food was very good and the meats in particular we're was of a good quality and the food was always hot. The entertainment was very good particularly a visiting comedian (apparently a replacement) who is one of the best
we have ever seen. There are a lot of things going on during the day, quizzes, archery, etc and
a fitness room Spa and. Pool. The grounds are well kept and easy to walk around. This is good location for touring around, the coast is nearby as is Snowdonia National Park and the Isle of
Anglesey. As always all the staff were excellent hard working, very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and will return again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandjowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review.

How lovely to see that you had a great holiday experience with us and that you will be returning to see us again in the future.

Kind Regards Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just spend a wonderful five days at this beautiful castle. It is the first time we have stayed and it most definitely will not be our last. We honestly could not fault it. We had a standard room which was large, airy and spotlessly clean. The food was first class with a choice of either carvery or waiter service. We alternated this and was delighted with both options. The staff could not do enough for us and the entertainment was first class. I have never known a group of young people work as hard as they did to produce entertainment of such high standard. We spent an hour before we ate having a gin and tonic listening to one of the lovely singers in the bar and had lovely walks round the grounds which are immaculate. We went out in the car most days because there is so much to see but, had we not had our own transport, there was always something to do in the castle. The free museum is a must as is the morning tour round the grounds. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We did not choose but ours was lovely and everyone we spoke to said the same so just take a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review.

I am very pleased to see that you had such a great time with us whilst on holiday. I agree we are lucky to have such a wonderful hardworking team here at the castle who work tirelessly to ensure our guests have a memorable time.

Kind Regards Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is the first time we have been here & have only stayed at Warners hotels once before. We arrived early & knew our room wouldn't be ready until 3pm but we booked in & were made to feel very welcome. We had lunch then went to our room 2.45pm. It was only a standard room but was fabulous, a huge bed, plenty of drawers & wardrobe space, flat screen TV & the usual tea, coffee & biscuits. The bathroom was imacculate as was the whole room. There were various things on during the day but we went off site to do our own thing. The food was really good, either waitress service or buffet & the all staff were so friendly & keen to please we were made to feel special. The evening entertainment was good & the team excellent, my only complaint was 10pm was too late to start with the main show. Whist we were there on the Fri there was a comedian (clean) who was good & Sat night Clem Curtis & the Foundations who were excellent. Warners is adults only so there were quite a few older folk there but I cannot wait to go on another warners. The only negative is it is out of the way, need a car & not on a bus route.

Room Tip: Standard room was excellent, we had room 306 but imagine they are all similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroxLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello

Thank you for your lovely review.

It's great to see that you really enjoyed your accommodation and the food whilst you were with us.

We have taken on board your comments with regards to the start time of the evening cabaret and constantly review the entertainment we provide to ensure that we are meeting with our guest expectations.

Kind regards Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend on half board basis with drinks included between 6pm and midnight. We arrived shortly after 1 o'clock and check in was efficient. We knew that the room would not be available until 4 o'clock but went to see where it was located. The chambermaid saw us and said she would service our room next so that we could get in early. The bar service was excellent, even during the inclusive period whent it did get busy. At dinner the starters and desserts were served to the table and for the main course there was a choice of going to the carvery or buffet or selecting from the a la carte menu so everyone was catered for. All the staff from check in to check out were wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased to see that from the second you checked in the team looked after you so well. The team here do work really hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful time with us.

Kind regards Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were met by staff who led us to reception, booked us in and showed us our room. She also carried our bags. The room was very good. Large, clean and comfortable ( but the window was a bit draughty.) The meals were excellent! The young man who served us (Darren I believe) couldn't do enough for us. The hotel grounds were amazing. The walks were beautiful. Parking was great. The pool and activities were great (but a bit deep for me). Daytime activities were good. Bingo started a bit early on Wednesday but horse racing was great. Evening entertainment - a bit too much dancing. Too much build up. Too much pressure to get up even when you say no. But the entertainment team were FAB! Very professional. As good as any West End Show I've seen. Watched a young lady in the Elwy bar on the bar pre dinner on the Tuesday night who had outstanding operatic ability! Really, really impressed. Surprised she was at this type of venue as she has fabulous potential with the right opportunities. She also shone in the main shows. Good luck for the future young lady you will go far. A fab stay all round tgank you to you all!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello

Thank you for your lovely review.

It gives us great enjoyment to read review such as yours, to see that you had such a great time with us. I am happy to see that the team looked after you so well and that you enjoyed the entertainment we provided for you.
Come back and see us again soon!!

Kind regards Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Arrived 11th April for 30th anniversary celeberations on Monday 14th. Stayed in large Historic room which was very spacious and clean. Food was excellent but did not like layout of dining area very military style and tables far too small. Arrived in resaurant on 1st evening at 7.30. Waited 25 mins to be served. We ordered starters-only 1 left that we selected. Ordered bottle red wine brought us white! Waited further 10 mins only to be told wine we requested had sold out and we should have done a package (what package we asked). Ordered main meal only to be told that what we selected had also sold out. Very helpful waiter informed us if we wanted to make sure in future on meals being available to get into restaurant earlier!!! GOOD START. Later complained to restaurant manager who apologised and said he would look in on us during stay and would "make up" for the inconvenience on our special day. STILL WAITING.
There is nowhere to relax as they have no lounge only snack area and bar. The entertainment room was not enticing and the entertainment was awful apart from the Saturday evening unless you like doing things like playing a quiz every night (blankety blank) or being taught how to dance. These activities are fine for day time. Many people complained how cold it was in the public areas-to no avail.
The entertainer Fletch was very good, he would have been better as the entertainment manager.
There is only a small part of the castle which is adult only, the rest is all open to the public. Have stayed at other Warners before no problems but dont know if this one has put me off trying others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonsey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello

Thank you for your leaving us with your review.

I apologise that on your first evening you were left feeling disappointed with the service you received in the restaurant. I will definitely be discussing this with our Restaurant Manager.

With regards to the lounge area and the entertainments venue, I would like to inform you that we have some new and exciting plans for the end of this year into 2015.

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for bringing these points to our attention and hopefully they will be immediately rectified.

Kind regards Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodelwyddan
4.4 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
352 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
611 reviews
4.3 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Address: Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Grade II listed Historic Hotel has walled gardens, sweeping lawns and ivy clad turrets. Soak up the rolling Welsh hillsides, or take in the scenery from the top of nearby Snowdon. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing