We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“great holiday”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a four night midweek break here.
This is our fourth trip to a Warners Hotel, and our first one here.
The castle and grounds are extremely well kept and there are lovely walks and views.
We stayed in a large, clean room (standard) which we were very satisfied with.
It had plenty of storage space, a comfy bed and daily service if you needed it.
The only thing that some people may not like is it was above the the coffee shop, and as the weather was so nice, people were outside there all the time (it didn't bother us at all though).
We had a great time, the staff, as ever were friendly and helpful and the entertainment team are a very talented bunch indeed.
The food was very good, plenty of choice, either table service or help yourself buffet style.
The table staff are friendly and efficient.
We didn't use any of the facilities or daytime activities as we were out for most of the day.
There was only one thing we were disappointed with, which was a "day trip" to LLandudno. It's not very far from the hotel, but we decided to have a day off from driving. It was £12 each.
An 8 seater cab turned up for us at 9.30.
After an hour in Conwy , which was neither here nor there, you can't do much in an hour, we arrived at Lladudno at 11.30, The cab driver wanted to collect us at 2.30, we were all unhappy with this and negotiated 3.30. He couldn't wait any later as he had other pick-ups to do elsewhere. We were expecting to be there till 5 / 5.30pm
We were all very disappointed. I suppose I should have checked when I booked it.
Apart from this, we had a brilliant time, and we will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: You may want to avoid being over the coffee shop as it has outside seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for leaving us with your review.

I apologise that you were not happy with the Excursion to Llandudno. We have taken your comments on board and we are constantly looking to improve the services that we offer.

Kind regards
Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    499
    182
    75
    67
See reviews for
134
879
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Booked this hotel for a long weekend away over the whitsun bank holiday, and as it is an adult only holiday, there are no problems with busy school holiday bookings. We stayed DB&B and overall the food is excellent with carvery or al a carte food options every day. The rooms are a little small but the bed was very comfortable and the view we had over the estate towards the presilli hills more than made up for this. The entertainment was good (we had a comedian on friday and a tribute band to the 'drifters' on saturday). All in all the breaks represent good value for money in some superb locations around england and I would definately recommend these holidays to anyone over 40 years old.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor for good views (there are lifts) facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 329Jools999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for leaving us with your review.

It is pleasing to see that you had such a great time with us and also enjoyed some of the magnificent views we have to offer.

Come back and see us again soon

Kind regards
Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great experience to stay in an authentic castle accommodation, good location and we thoroughly enjoyed driving around sightseeing in Wales as we had exceptionally warm weather. We did a package deal for 4 nights through Warner Leisure Hotels, with accommodation, breakfast, dinner and entertainment which was all great. We enjoyed the fact that this venue catered to the over 50's (no children) so we could enjoy the music and dancing. Everything was great and we had no problem with basic or "old" room. Actually, we rather enjoyed the french doors opening into the courtyard.The gardens and the setting were beautiful. The breakfasts and dinners were huge and you could certainly gorge yourself. We enjoyed the fact that you had a set place for your meals and could get to know the people around you. Certainly a great experience and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackdog45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for leaving us with your review.

I am so happy to see that you enjoyed the ‘Whole Package’. It really is our intention to ensure that our guests have a relaxing home from home holiday where they can do as little or as much as they want.

Kind regards
Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked this hotel just for 1 night on a last minute booking, overall it was very pleasant...standard room was quite basic, old style bathroom and old windows, bed was really large and very comfy. We stayed Db&b I like that you are allocated your table so you don't have any fuss about where to sit. Service in the restaurant was great very efficient and friendly staff. Main course carvery was disappointing, overcooked. Service at the main bar in the evening very slow prices not too bad. We enjoyed staying here for 1 evening but are unlikely to return, obviously the whole package suits lots of people but not really for us!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for leaving us with your review.

I apologise that the Hotel was not suited to yourselves. However, thank you so much for your lovely comments.

Kind regards
Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel this time we took my mother in law it was her first time she loved everything about it .the restaurant food was fabulous, are waiter was norbi excellent lad very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and warm .the grounds are breath taking in the sun .on arriving are bags were taken to our rooms by the staff who meet us at the door .no stress there .entertainment was good not great but on a weekend just what you need .very enjoyable time good value for money break .the B.BQ on the Sunday was excellent. the sun was shinning and drink was flowing really nice day all round .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albieplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for leaving us with your review.

I am so happy to see that you had such a great 2nd visit to us and that your mother in law also enjoyed her time here.

You are most welcome back any time

Kind regards
Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed at most of the Warner hotels, but this was simply the best, better than all the rest! We had a great weekend in a very comfortable room with lovely food, excellent service and most enjoyable entertainment. The Entertainments Team there is better than any we have come across at Warners, and that is saying a lot! The only drawback was noisy floorboards in the room above ours (702).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGB501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for leaving us with your review.

A great quote from Tina Turner there (simply the best). We love that!!

I am so happy to see that we are one of your favourites in the Warner Chain! Thank you for visiting us
Kind regards
Claire Fletcher GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our third time here as previously we had a lovely time, we had the same room as we had last time, when got to the room found it was two singles, we had a word with Claire and Viv, and we went for some lunch when we got back it was changed to a King Size, we found Claire and Viv very good nothing was to much trouble the room was always clean and tidy.
The only thing that spoilt it was the entertainment, We booked to see the tribute to the Four Tops, and we were very disappointed Well, first of all, if they were supposed to be a tribute to the Four Tops, how come two of group members were white caucasian and the other two were black? Secondly, they only sang one song of the Four Tops. Third, their sound system left much to be desired, it was too loud and had an annoying booming background noise that some people left. I have to admit too that they all could do with singing lessons as most of the Motown songs they sang, they sang flat. We'd had enough after 30 minutes and left as we thought we had originally booked and paid for this holiday under the description of a Tribute to the Four Tops, not an evening of Motown songs, all crucified.
Also, we were not impressed with the resident Entertainments Manager, Matt. I am afraid he has no charisma as a host or funny man. His tone is one of, if he does not get the right reaction first time, then he makes out we are wasting his time being there. If this alternative comedy nowadays, then I am afraid I do not like it. Apart from that, the entertainment team were not too bad, but not quite as good as they have been on our previous visits. We were originally considering returning for the 'Turkey & Tinsel' prior to this last visit, but I think we will try elsewhere and hopefully have a better time.
The food was good as usual plenty of choice, but we did notice that if you wanted water you had to pay for it unless you asked for tap water. Which we didn't on previous visits, and on the Sunday night whether they were short staffed, but we had to wait quite a while to ask what we wanted and the evening meal, we had got our meal before they came round and asked us if we wanted a roll but it was to late by then.
We have written to Warners and the complaint has been sent to the guest liaison office and have been told that we should hear within 28 days so we will see what sort of reply we get.

Room Tip: We had a signature room which we find good as we were just across the road from the entertainment an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodelwyddan
4.4 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
365 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
597 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
2.9 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
541 reviews
2.0 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Address: Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Grade II listed Historic Hotel has walled gardens, sweeping lawns and ivy clad turrets. Soak up the rolling Welsh hillsides, or take in the scenery from the top of nearby Snowdon. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing