We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamilton Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed here for just 3 nights but had a great time. Steve was really friendly and helpful and gave us lots of advice when we were deciding what to do in Fishguard. Our room was nice and very comfortable. The place was a reasonable walk from the train station, but there is a bus that you can catch that doesn't take long at all. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    10
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
32
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Not sure what Richard is talking about in his review. We stayed here during the summer and found the owner to be one of the most welcoming and helpful hosts we've ever had. He's got a great knowledge of things to do and see around Fishguard and the local area, we went to Castle Henthliss (not sure of the spelling!) which was an amazing iron age fort, and he really goes out of his way to make sure you are happy and comfortable.

Just to make this clear though- When I say he'll 'go out of his way' I don't mean he'll follow you around in a car! There's nothing creepy about him, he's just a really friendly, professional guy who helped to make our holiday one of the most relaxing breaks we've had for a long time. So thanks for a great time Steve, see you next summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stay regularly at Hamilton Backpackers while on walking breaks and have always found Steve to be a welcoming and generous host. I was shocked to read the negative review from previous guest - can't believe it is genuine. Keep smiling, Steve you're doing a grand job. S.Spalding of Brecon

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexbot
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had an en-suite, double room and it was perfect. Clean, warm and comfortable.
The kitchen was for everyone's use and was our only problem - We ate out so we didn't have to use the facilities. Just needed a bloody good clean.
We would definitely return as it is in the centre of Fishguard's new town, perfect for exploring all over.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Skeptic about what we were letting ourselves in for..I sat in the car(still idling) whilst my wife ran in to check if there was a vacancy for the evening. Marlene was welcomed by the proprietor, Steve, who immediately showed her the double on suite room and confirmed an bed and breakfast rateat less than half the rates the local and surrounding B&B's for asking. All I can say..is that we had a great evening. Steve was a great host. This establishment also offered free WiFi and internet facilities if you did not have your own. The kitchen was well stocked and well equiped. Off street and closeby parking is also available....we will be certain to return...

Room Tip: This is a backpackers lodge...you get more that what you bargained for....run in and check for yours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanAndreRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

went travelling around with a friend and stayed two nights at the Hamilton Lodge and it was really the best backpackers we stayed in! even if fishguard isn't the most exciting place, this hostel is.

the furniture seems to be collected from all over the world and lets you just guess what a kind of guy the owner has to be.
we took the room with the double bed, because it has an own bathroom, which was very clean, especially in comparison to some other hostels we had already visited (!!) For breakfast you can use nearly everything in the kitchen, which includes different sorts of bread, cornflakes, marmelade, coffee and stuff like that.

At first we were a bit confused, because it really looks like you're just staying in his house and using his kitchen, but when you get to know Steve you realise that it doesn't matter to him and he really wants you to behave as if you were at home. Everytime we asked him if we could use something he just laughed because it was so obvious to him and said something like "easy-going" and "just make yourself at home".

Steve is a real adventurer and after spending some time with him you know that he just runs this hostel, because he can't travel all the time and having people stay there, who have their own stories to tell, is a bit like travelling.

It's lovely there and I can just recommend this hostel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The friendliest bloke runs this backpackers. It feels like home to stay here..
Our camper broke down here and we're glad it did just to meet Steve and friends.
Comfy beds and he even put a load of washing on for us and cooked us a feed.
Must stay place if around the Pembrokeshire Coast :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke-ashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fishguard
0.1 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Seaview Hotel
The Seaview Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fishguard
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Tara Hotel
#4 of 4 in Fishguard
24 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hope and Anchor Inn
The Hope and Anchor Inn
#9 of 21 in Fishguard
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Backpackers Lodge

Property: Hamilton Backpackers Lodge
Address: 23 Hamilton Street | Fishguard, Fishguard SA65 9HL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Fishguard
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Fishguard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Comfy bedrooms (1 en-suite), free Wi-fi, kitchen/diner, garden, patio, sleeps 9 in total - ideal for walkers, cyclists, divers, backpackers. Dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hamilton Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Backpackers Lodge Fishguard, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing