We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamilton Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here on a Thursday night at the end of May; we were arriving off the ferry around half past 12 at night and worried about arriving too late, but Steve was very accommodating and was at the door to welcome us in. We didn't see much of the lodge or eat there as we were up and out first thing in the morning but the room was homely, clean and the bed was lovely - felt like feather bedding. Best bed I've slept in in a while, better than my own!

Room Tip: The double room - well worth it for the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaomiHanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were travelling south from Holyhead at 19:30 when we called up this place that we booked in advance to ask them what time they shut because we were worried that they will shut before when we get there. So I kindly asked them and told them that we'll get there about 21:30 the they said that is the time they will shut.. Ok fair enough. So I hurried along the through the narrow roads perhaps speeding on some occasions and along the dusky foggy Snowdonian park roads risking everything. At 21:40 I get a call from that same guy who I spoke to before. I couldn't pick up as I was driving and in a frantic mood because we were lost! So I stopped at a random town and decided to ask for location and directions. It soon became clear that we were no longer in Wales but now in Hereford, England (130 miles away!) and then realised we would never make it and started to think of either sleeping in the car or head towards Bristol. At that moment I then get another call from that guy at Hamiltons demanding where we were in a angry tone. I'm angry too we wanted to go to Fishguards but common sense would tell you to not go back (something that the guy at Hamiltons didn't have). He had no compassion and all he cared about is his £££. He demanded us to go back but I said it's not sensible for use to go back and now the national park and the other narrow roads are getting dark and foggy. But yet he still demanded us to come back! Why would anyone from Hereford travel 130 miles, waste time, safety and money on fuel to pay £40 to stay a night and then make another 130 miles back towards Hereford again the next day and waste time and money again! The people there are RUDE and inconsiderate! This is mitigating and unfortunate for us and yet this guy was yelling down the phone saying we stitched him up!! Keep the bloody deposit! That's what it's for! I think they need it desperately!
BOYCOTT Hamilton Backpackers Lodge!! Uncalled for and unpleasant!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kwok t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This place has just such a warm and cosy atmosphere that I would highly recommend going there. The owner, Steve, is very friendly and will see that everything is to your content. He will even share his food with you. The bedrooms are unbelievably comfortable, shower always hot and nice. My favorite was the lovely decorated kitchen. If you like cooking: you wont miss a thing there! Also, I enjoyed some Yoga in the backgarden which is very nice to sit and listen to the birds and enjoy the sun. The biggest plus: free breakfast! Cereals, toast and various spreads (peanutbutter, jam, nutella etc) with free coffee, milk, biscuits, tea. No better way to start a day. I planned staying one night and booked another cause I felt so comfortable. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandawonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A warm welcome with a friendly and homely atmosphere. The kitchen was very cosy and the garden was absolutely fantastic.
It was also great that breakfast was included. And all this at a reasonably price.
Steve was very helpful, with many tips regarding our travels and even helped us find our next accommodation, because Hamilton lodge was fully booked for that night.

P.S. Louise from Loulou's cafe in Newport says hi :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_freckles14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

well what can I say arrived friday evening and met Steve the owner he couldn't have been more helpful,the room and en-suite was spotlessly clean and the bed was the most comfortable we have been in,that first night before bed I had gone outside to have my last cig,when I got up next morning I couldn't find my bag[panic] guess what I'd left it on the counter in the kitchen thats how much Ifelt at home,breakfast cereal supplied,tea,coffee bread ,milk and butter not to mention all sorts of spices if you want to cook when I go back its the only plase I would consider staying in so if you read this Steve keep me a place and thanks for your help and friendlyness xxx

Room Tip: no pool or fitness centre the en-suite as good as any 3star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyshotpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was my best stay on the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path (and most of my accommodation was very good). I arrived at 7.30pm having walked all day in the pouring rain. The hostel owner, Steve, was very welcoming and chatty and even had a home-made stew waiting for me which was wonderful (and free!) – I think that was a special though! The hostel is more like a home and is clean, warm, friendly and relaxed. Great bathroom too! It is close to the Path and central to Fishguard. Do stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My 5 days stay in Hamilton Backpackers hostel was a totally positive experience! It's a very cosy place, which is important for me! The landlord is chatty, openminded and very helpful! Eventhough the weather was not always perfect, the atmosphere in this small, clean and tidy hostel conributed to a really nice week in Fishguard. I will recommend it, also the good value for money which is highly important to budget travellers like me... Thanks for that!!!
(included in the price was WIFI, breakfast stuff, a small library of travellers guides, TV lounge)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fishguard
0.2 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
445 reviews
17.1 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Seaview Hotel
The Seaview Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fishguard
137 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
13.2 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 6 in Haverfordwest
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Backpackers Lodge

Address: 23 Hamilton Street | Fishguard, Fishguard SA65 9HL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Fishguard
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Fishguard
Price Range: £41 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 comfortable bedrooms (1 en-suite), FREE WIFI, secluded garden, kitchen/diner, covered patio, small drying room.. Sleeps 9 in total - ideal for hikers, cyclists, divers, backpackers etc Dog friendly. Price includes light breakfast - cereal, fresh bread, jams, tea, coffee etc Late arrivals no problem, by prior arrangement (e.g. Ferry/train etc) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hamilton Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Backpackers Lodge Fishguard, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing