We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cefn-y-Dre Country House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cartref Hotel(Fishguard)
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seaview Hotel(Fishguard)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Haze Hotel(St Davids)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel(Haverfordwest)(Great Value!)
US$143
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel(Haverfordwest)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mariners(Haverfordwest)
US$135
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tara Hotel(Fishguard)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
95
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgallery roomfull welsh breakfastcosy sitting roomb bfruit cakeold houselarge gardensmoked haddock with poached eggroom was beautifully decoratedflask of fresh milkfresh vegetableswonderful welshrural locationstayed for nightsshort drivewarm welcomebay window
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Desperately needed a refuge from the rain and cold. We were in our campervan near to Fishguard and I had flu to make matters worse. We were welcomed by Geoff with afternoon tea and wood fire. Bliss. Breakfasts are amazing and if you book a dinner there you will so enjoy!!
Geoff and Gaye are extremely gracious hosts and we felt very welcome and cossetted. The room with the wonderful bathroom was excellent--underfloor heating is to be recommended!!
As for the bedroom itself. one felt as if one could disappear among the duvet and pillows and only emerge in spring!! Plenty of tea and coffee and fresh milk available in your room if you want it and really, nothing was too much trouble for the hosts. Thank you so much for much needed TLC.

Room Tip: If the weather is cold go for the underfloor heated bathroom!!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Cefn-y-Dre Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We were delighted that you were able to relax and enjoy the surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We loved our room (especially the bathroom with underfloor heating), and the views. Gaye and Geoff were friendly and welcoming; always happy to help find local places to eat and to visit. We stayed for four days but it wasn't long enough!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PandaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Cefn-y-Dre Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Really glad you enjoyed your Winter break with us. Hopefully you will find time to discover the delights of Pembrokeshire in the Summer months. Your comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We recently sayed here for one night. The house is absolutely delightful, like being in your own home. We were welcomed with tea and fruit cake in the cosy lounge with a log burner and such comfortable chairs.
Our room was immaculate with a wonderful shower room and views over the gardens which in summer i'm sure are suberb.
We took the option of having an evening meal prepared and served by Gaye and Geoff, from a couple who enjoy a good standard of food this was as good as any reputable resturant and with the luxury of being served in a lovely dining room all to ourselves. An added bonus is they are licensed which enabled us to enjoy a bottle of Chablis followed by a second one relaxing by the fire after our delicious meal.
A full welsh breakfast was suberb, with home made lemon curd, raspberry jam and marmalade from a local souce to try on the toast.
A first class B&B without a doubt, wouldn't heasitate to recommend and will return with a doubt. Thankyou both.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillyNewportGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Cefn-y-Dre Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully the coming Summer will provide sunny weather giving you an opportunity to return to enjoy the panoramic views while enjoying some of our home grown strawberries and raspberries. Thanks for choosing Cefn-y-Dre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We loved staying at Cefn-y-Dre; Gaye and Geoff really have made this a special place to stay. Delicious tea & cake on arrival after a long journey (thanks for the recipe, Gaye - I have baked it three times since we stayed!), a very comfortable room and delicious food. The elegant but cosy sitting room (with a grand piano to play, a log fire and no TV) was the perfect place to relax after a long day walking on the coast path. Gaye and Geoff have put so much care into every aspect of the b&b and were the perfect hosts - partly because they were so welcoming and had plenty of good local area recommendations, and partly because they really know what guests are looking for, from their careers in the tourist industry. The breakfasts were really memorable, not just the beautifully cooked full breakfasts, but also the selection of fruit (raspberries from the garden), yoghurt and muesli and home-made bread, jam etc. We stayed in the Preseli Room, but I would recommend the ensuite double at the front of the house which has been very tastefully redecorated and thoughtfully remodelled, with a lovely view over the garden and away from the workings of the farm behind. I very much hope to come back and would recommend Cefn-y-Dre unreservedly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Cefn-y-Dre Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We are always delighted when guests share their views on what we offer. The newly refurbished Gallery Room is now fully functional and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to experience it for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Terrific house in the hills above Fishguard. Peaceful location, friendly and warm welcome, spotlessly clean rooms and fantastic breakfast.
Very large gardens to roam and a guest lounge with a log burning stove, just the job for those chilly evenings.

Room Tip: All are great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlejohn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Cefn-y-Dre Country House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the peaceful location. Thanks for sharing your views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews