We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, shame about the weather”
Review of Cartref Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cartref Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fishguard
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the weather”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed for a few days to visit seaside and surrounding area. Weather rainy so bit limited. Hotel comfortable and clean with a nice breakfast. Dog friendly so our little pooch enjoyed herself!!
Centre of town within easy reach of shops, restaurants, pubs etc.
Would recommend if not expecting any sunshine!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funseeker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us! Toby and I hope to see you all including Millie again! As to the weather, the good thing is that it changes so quickly and so often - the day you left it was gorgeous sunshine by noon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    49
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
36
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2012

A delightful stay in a comfortable, freshly decorated room in this plesant hotel. We had a great breakfast with local sausages, and the owner was helpful and welcoming, offering advice on good places to eat and local bus services. I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightbulb_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you! It was a pleasure to have you as guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed for three nights recently as part of a group walking part of the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path. The owner was friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful, offering information on the town and wider area. Breakfast was excellent and I would certainly recommend the Cartref to anyone visiting or passing through Fishguard.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you! I hope you all come again to explore beautiful Pembrokeshire! And - the chocolates were delicious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

With my husband, dog and another couple I stayed at the Cartref while on a walking trip of the Pembrokeshire coast path. I had found the Cartref on the web and selected it because it looked comfortable and it allowed dogs. We arrived there after our 3rd day out, tired and muddy, to find it a very good choice indeed. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well layed-out and the showers good-sized with a strong flow of hot water. The hotel is centrally located in Fishguard and Kristine, the owner/manager, was well informed on the local restaurants and sights. Breakfast was of excellent quality and well cooked, and we took a down-day there to stay on a 2nd night. As an earlier review said, excellent value for money, and a pleasant part of our trip.

Room Tip: I had asked for rooms at the back of the hotel, so that's what we got, but the hotel overall was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen_120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you, Colleen, for taking the time to write your kind words! Best wishes from Toby and me to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

A friend (and his dog) and I stayed at the Cartref for two nights from 25th May 2012 so that we could walk part of the Pembrokeshire Coast path on the 26th (we took a bus from Fishguard to Newport then walked back to Fishguard). Our stay at the Cartref was fine - very convenient for parking, buses and restaurants/pubs, and friendly and helpful service. Although the hotel is somewhat dated the rooms were clean and comfortable. We'll be happy to stay again when we walk another part of the path. Our thanks to Krtistina for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jefftravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you Jeff! I'll be looking forward to seeing all you three again in the Cartref!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions due to working in the area. It is all you could ask for, lovely breakfast and very clean. The owner could not do enough to help and treated me as part of the family. If you are looking for home comforts then look no futher, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you! We enjoyed having you stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

my partner and i stayed at the cartref on 16/11/11 to 17/11/11 we had driven from tywyn with no plans as to where we were going or where to stay we went to cardigan and then drove on to fishguard on arrival the cartref was the first hotel we came across.The owner was very nice very friendly and gave us some ideas of places to visit in fishguard. our room was very nice a twin room at the top of hotel and the room was supplied with plenty of tea and coffee making facilities the bathroom ensuite, had towels, soap ,shampoo and a bottle of bubble bath wow a real surprise and this was not a four star accommodation.our beds were very comfortable.The owner asked us what time we would like breakfast which was superb a choice of cereals and fruit juices we had the muesli which i think was home made it was wonderful seeds, nuts and oats and not sugary ,i ordered a cooked breakfast egg bacon sausage mushrooms i declined tomatoes ,we were given a pot ot tea with extra hot water we both had toast which was nice and thick.there was plenty of sugar and marmalade on the table too this breakfast was more than adequate.The owner was very attentive and when she asked us where we going to next we told her we weren,t sure the owner gave us some ideas and was extremely knowledgeble
and even brought a map to the table to show us where there were places of interest along the coast and of places to eat, the map had been photocopied and the owner wrote down place names etc on the map for us.The jack russel toby was shut away we r big animal lovers and what people need to realise is that the hotel is also the owners home so she is welcolming people into her house so her pets are her life too

Room Tip: if you want a double not a twin then make this known at checkin
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I enjoyed having you both! Pembrokeshire is a wonderful area and there is so much here to explore, be it the stunning varied landscape, historical monuments, arts, or just the people! Twenty years ago I fell in love with Fishguard and decided to stay - but that is another story... I am glad you accepted the twin room as that was all I had left that night. One of my doubles is under renovation at the moment - you are very welcome to come and test the result later on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fishguard
1.2 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Seaview Hotel
The Seaview Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fishguard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Tara Hotel
#4 of 4 in Fishguard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
6.4 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
15.0 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartref Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartref Hotel

Property: Cartref Hotel
Address: 15-19 High Street, Fishguard SA65 9AW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Fishguard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fishguard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cartref Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 2 double rooms 2 twin rooms 2 family rooms and 4 single rooms All rooms are en-suite, have hospitality trays,freeview televisions and free Wi-Fi in every room. The beds have crispy all-cotton sheets.There is a bar and a restaurant for guests only. Two free garages are available. We are open 24 hrs.The Cartref Hotel has been here since early 1900's! Then it was advertised with 'well aerated beds' - and we still claim the same.'Cartref' is the Welsh word for home. We hope you will feel at home with us! Croeso!Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Cartref Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartref Hotel Fishguard, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing