We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely coffee and a good range of light eats” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Janes of Fishguard

Janes of Fishguard
Ranked #16 of 41 Restaurants in Fishguard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee and a good range of light eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very good cafe in an interesting setting - inside a very well stocked wool shop. Polite and helpful staff. Homebaked goodies.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place with excellent customer service and home made food. The cafe was busy on our arrival but we were treated like the only customers in there. Our food arrived quickly and was really tasty at good value. Our kids really loved the smoothed which was a nice change from the normal fizzy drinks. I would and will be visiting next time we are in Fishguard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gailleight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishguard
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“best scones in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Best scones in town. Imagine a perfectly cooked scone served with lashings of cream and delicious rasberry jam............... mouthwatering and enjoyable. Yes that is what is served at Janes

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olwen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Friendly cafe with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We are locals and I have shopped in the wool/craft shop many times over the years, but we had not eaten in the café before. The actual café is very attractive, with a lovely garden (too cold and wet for us to venture out there on that day). We were met with friendly staff, quick service and a good menu. We chose a baguette and a sandwich, both of which were stuffed with fillings, presented well and came out to us quickly. We would definitely return when in the area again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richaliPembrokeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Toasted sandwich was cremated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I really wanted to like Jane's because I like the idea of a knitting cafe. However, I was very disappointed with my lunch. I ordered a toasted sandwich and while I waited for it, I could hear the sound of a knife scraping off burnt bits from toast. It came out and sure enough when I turned it over, there were big black bits on it. There is no way it should have been served to me like that. It tasted greasy too, as if the bread had been dipped in oil and fried. It was burnt black and generally not edible. As I was in a hurry I ate some of filling without the bread. The girl seemed surprised that I would complain about it and said she didn't think it was burnt when she served it, just a bit crispy! I nearly fell over in shock, particularly as I could hear her scraping the burnt bits off trying to salvage it before serving it to me. To be fair, they did not charge me for the toastie but it was not a good experience and I'm not sure I'd go back. The Welsh tea was good though and the cafe itself is really well kept, very clean and fresh. I think it would be a good spot for tea and cake but avoid the toasties!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cork1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Janes of Fishguard also viewed

Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
 
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
 
Goodwick, Fishguard
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Janes of Fishguard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing