We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquill, beautiful & charming little cottage we...”
other travellers have booked this property
Two large ponds border the cottage with views across the Gwaun Valley to Dinas Mountain
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two large ponds border the cottage with views across the Gwaun Valley to Dinas Mountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Two large ponds border the cottage with views across the Gwaun Valley to Dinas Mountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise A
1 review
“Tranquill, beautiful & charming little cottage we will defintely book again.”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had the loveliest weeks holiday at Dovecote. The cottage was a well equipped, charming and restful environment. It was great to sit on the deck in the summer evening with a wine and passing the time with a gorgeous view. Dovecote is situated away from any hustle and bustle which is just what we were looking for, but also very easy to visit the many more beautiful sites of Pembrokeshire. We will most definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eero K
Oulu, Finland
2 reviews
“Just what we expected”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Dovecote is a nice place, if you like to be in peace. Location is good and we liked the nature around the house. There were a lot of maps for walking in the coast paths and surrounding areas. Exactly what we wanted. And we got WiFi at our last day in Dovecote.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
We're so pleased you loved the Dovecote as we do. It's also great that we FINALLY managed to get WiFi in the cottage! One of the drawbacks of being out in the countryside is that standard broadband doesn't reach the cottage. The local community has been working on a novel wireless broadband solution which is now in the final stages of completion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFA559
Neu-ulm
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
“Breathtaking surroundings”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a nice Cottage, part of a farm, beautiful sourroundings, sheep, pigs and lots of beautiful birds. It is quite well kept, although definitely not 5-star. There is a quite untidy arrangement of cleaning utensils below the stairs and a lot of mismatched kitchen utensils. Might be useful to put a small tabble in front of the TV cause you can't put your drinks anywhere except the flor. But: A lovely terrace, Pond and a beautiful conservatory - although we didn't use the wirlpool. Very comfortable mattrasses and a clean modern shower.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in Pembrokeshire
Liked least: Missing comfort in the living room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
There is a portable side table provided that is normally left in the sun room. You would have been more than welcome to move that into the lounge. We decided against another in the lounge as we felt it would make it feel cluttered. We're sorry that the untidy cleaning equipment under that stairs was a problem for you. Although we could keep all this locked away out of sight, many customers like to have access so they can keep the cottage clean during their stay. Thanks also for the feedback on the kitchen utensils - we will investigate. We are keen cooks ourselves and pride ourselves on the Dovecote having a very well equipped 'cooks kitchen'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJ15T
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in good location”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Dovecote is a warm and comfortable cottage (there is under floor heating and a wood burner) well situated for exploring the northern part of the Pembrokeshire National Park, so why only a 3* rating – to find out you need to read the detail.

We found the cottage to be fine for our needs, with a well-equipped kitchen and comfortable bed. It is wonderfully quiet and has good views over the surrounding hills. The conservatory is great in the morning and evening, once the sun goes behind the trees, but is basically unusable at other times, on a sunny day, as there are no roof or window blinds. The big selling point is the double Jacuzzi bath, with candles and a bottle of Prosecco provided to help you make the most of it, but the weekly rental seems relatively high as a result.

In warm weather (it was unseasonably cold during our visit) the upstairs would be very hot and stuffy at night as there is no opening window. There is one roof window with no blind so the sleeping area is light as soon as the sun comes up (about 5 am when we were here!). That may not trouble you, but it’s good to know. One final point, there were no basic provisions provided – not even tea bags – so you need to bring absolutely everything with you from the start.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Stuffy bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
I can't tell you how disappointed we are with your review. Anything less than 5 stars we view as a failure as we strive to provide a perfect holiday experience for all our customers. We put our heart and soul into renovating Dovecote and treat it as our own home. The issues with the sky lights have not been raised by any other customers in the 10 years we have been renting Dovecote. The sky light without a blind is some distance from the bedroom, and especially with the canopy on the bed, the amount of light doesn't bother me and I'm normally quite sensitive to such things. As for predicting that the upstairs would be hot and stuffy, that's not the case. The en suite bathroom has an opening window and this provides ample through draft. I would also dispute that the sunroom is 'unusable' when the sun falls on it although we will investigate the possibility of adding roof blinds. We find most Brits are desperate to soak up the sun on the odd occasion it pokes its head out and if it gets a little warm in there they simply open the many large windows. As for the price, we strongly refute that it is 'relatively high' but people can judge that for themselves quite easily by comparison with other similarly sized cottages on this website. There are very few approaching the quality of Dovecote for the price.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc m
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic, can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We spent 3 nights at dovecote and it was fantastic! I booked this as a last minute surprise for the wife and she loved every minute of it. Peter was very good and confirming the booking and providing good information. Arriving at dovecote we were surprised with a bottle of bubbly which was a great touch. The cottage was clean, tidy, well equipped, cosy and we really enjoyed the log fire and the hot tub. The cottage really made our weekend away perfect and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quite break away. Will be returning soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt32123
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic - best self-catering place we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Everything from the equipment in the Kitchen to the spa bath was perfect! Lovely area
Brilliant owners (fantastic communication)
Will certainly be staying again, you couldn't ask for anymore!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and all the cottage had to offer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing