We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Sunday lunch for years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Globe

The Globe
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Fishguard
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Sunday lunch for years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We went into the Globe on local recommendation - we decided to have a Sunday lunch and were really bowled over by it- generous portions, very tasty with loads of flavour, really friendly staff and above all it was hot when it was served. We cannot recommend it highly enough- we were made to feel welcome and would definitely return. It really was the best Sunday lunch we had had in years!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rgrey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just had a fantastic Sunday roast at the Globe, one non-vegan and 3 vegans all catered for. As one of the vegans I can honestly say that the pudding was the best I've ever experienced in the 4 years I've been vegan - that's not to say the rest of the meal wasn't excellent, it was, it's just that I've had excellent vegan main courses before but so many places, even renowned restaurants fall down on the pudding with the usual "we can do you a fruit salad" grrrrrrr. Not a mistake they make at The Globe where there was a choice of 2 vegan suitable puddings (proper puddings that is, not just fruit). I opted for the black forest chocolate trifle - delicious. The main course was mushroom and nut roast with all the usual veg including roast spuds and cauliflower in a lovely white sauce delicately flavoured with nutmeg, all topped off with a tasty gravy. Serving sizes were plenty to satisfy our very healthy appetites, service was friendly and efficient and the atmosphere and décor are both great. We're planning to book a table for lunch next Sunday too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming, and vegan-friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We ate here twice (dinner, & then lunch next day) during an overnight stay in Fishguard waiting for the next day's ferry. The owners could not have been more helpful, even pre-booking a cab for us, and the food was exactly what we needed. Their general menu is not vegan or vegetarian but the blackboard outside mentions vegans are catered for, and they made us lovely vegan meals on both occasions -- huge pizzas with vegan cheese on top, hot chips, soup and the loveliest pudding with vegan custard you could ever want in cold, windy weather. They are very happy to cater for vegans and know how to do it (also good for lactose-intolerant). My husband was happy to find a fellow Pixies fan! The jukebox has Pixies and more... At night there was a lovely fire and a home-like atmosphere. Thanks, Jean & Brian, we'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Teejaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishguard
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brian and Jeans Place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a place not to be missed, everything is made from scratch with fresh ingredients.

Value for money is incredible.

It's a proper pub run by real people not people who swallowed the tourist board pub managers manual.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rhys h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“V friendly place and food hit the spot :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Cute pub, buzzy in the evenings and the food hit the spot - we had omelettes and a sandwich :-) Great cider!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Globe also viewed

Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
 
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
 
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing