We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Globe

The Globe
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Fishguard
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Letterston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

a sunday lunch that was out of this world! it is not often that 3 vegans receive such a reassuring welcome and outstanding food [with large portions!] jean and brian are friendly landlords, and jean ensured that we were happy, throughout our meal. the globe is an attractive pub [with an excellent logburner]; the kitchen is spotless and the chef is accomplished and friendly. apparently, the pizzas are superb; as we hope 2 find out tomorrow!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjmgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    24
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NW England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tried to book, but was told we had to be out by 8 to accomodate the drinkers!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

When we tried to book for a Good Friday dinner we were told that we would have to be out by 8 because to regulars wanting to come in for a drink. We suggested that we book for 6.30 but the chap said for us to 'just turn up and see'.

I am sorry, but that is no way to encourage customers, so we stayed at home and cooked for ourselves.

Very dissapointed

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WillMakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe873999, Owner at The Globe, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
I'm sorry you were disappointed on Good Friday, what my husband tried to explain was that we anticipated being busy with both diners and drinkers that evening as it was a bank holiday. This is a very small pub, not a restaurant - only 5 tables, with no separate dining area - and if people are already sitting at the tables having a drink it isn't really fair to expect them to get up to accommodate others, and neither is it realistic to mark the tables as reserved and expect people to stand when they can see empty tables. In an effort to not offend anyone we tend not to take evening bookings when we think it's going to be particularly busy and just work on a 'first come first served' basis instead. I understand that this might not be ideal for everyone but it is the only way we can try to keep the majority happy. As anticipated, that evening we were very busy at about 7.30 but a bit quieter earlier so had you decided to come in at 6.30 we would have found you a table. We do take lunchtime bookings (especially for Sunday lunch) and bookings on quieter evenings so I do hope that if you are in the area again you will pop in!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Sunday lunch for years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We went into the Globe on local recommendation - we decided to have a Sunday lunch and were really bowled over by it- generous portions, very tasty with loads of flavour, really friendly staff and above all it was hot when it was served. We cannot recommend it highly enough- we were made to feel welcome and would definitely return. It really was the best Sunday lunch we had had in years!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rgrey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just had a fantastic Sunday roast at the Globe, one non-vegan and 3 vegans all catered for. As one of the vegans I can honestly say that the pudding was the best I've ever experienced in the 4 years I've been vegan - that's not to say the rest of the meal wasn't excellent, it was, it's just that I've had excellent vegan main courses before but so many places, even renowned restaurants fall down on the pudding with the usual "we can do you a fruit salad" grrrrrrr. Not a mistake they make at The Globe where there was a choice of 2 vegan suitable puddings (proper puddings that is, not just fruit). I opted for the black forest chocolate trifle - delicious. The main course was mushroom and nut roast with all the usual veg including roast spuds and cauliflower in a lovely white sauce delicately flavoured with nutmeg, all topped off with a tasty gravy. Serving sizes were plenty to satisfy our very healthy appetites, service was friendly and efficient and the atmosphere and décor are both great. We're planning to book a table for lunch next Sunday too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming, and vegan-friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We ate here twice (dinner, & then lunch next day) during an overnight stay in Fishguard waiting for the next day's ferry. The owners could not have been more helpful, even pre-booking a cab for us, and the food was exactly what we needed. Their general menu is not vegan or vegetarian but the blackboard outside mentions vegans are catered for, and they made us lovely vegan meals on both occasions -- huge pizzas with vegan cheese on top, hot chips, soup and the loveliest pudding with vegan custard you could ever want in cold, windy weather. They are very happy to cater for vegans and know how to do it (also good for lactose-intolerant). My husband was happy to find a fellow Pixies fan! The jukebox has Pixies and more... At night there was a lovely fire and a home-like atmosphere. Thanks, Jean & Brian, we'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Teejaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Globe also viewed

Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
 
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
 
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing