We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Film & theatre fan.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Theatr Gwaun

Theatr Gwaun
Ranked #7 of 19 things to do in Fishguard
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dear Traveler / visitor/ person looking for something to do, Theatr Gwaun is an Independent Theatre, Cinema, Bar and Cafe in Fishguard, North Pembrokeshire. It's been a place for entertainment since 1885 when it was built as a Temperance Hall, becoming one of the first cinema's in Wales in the early 1920's. We're an intimate venue of only 180 seats and a single Cinema screen, but we're equipped to be able to accommodate the highest level of professional theatre and live music, and our 4K resolution, Dolby surround sound digital cinema system is a match for any screen in the country. Search our website for events. Most of all though, we're a friendly lot and like nothing better than to meet new people for a chat and to show off our venue! So if you're in the area, please call in and we'll give you a tour. Feel free to send me an email about anything you like using the listed email with FAO Paul in the title. Best Wishes, Paul Theatre Manager
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Film & theatre fan.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Brilliant to have the Theatr up and running, with so many different projects. The comedy, Jazz, Writers Festival, Children s projects. And now, going digital. On ward and upward for Theatr Gwaun. :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeliaMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    5
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delightful, intimate theatre with a varied programme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The building is unimpressive, but the programme is widely varied with films, stage shows and community events. Look at their web site (http://www.its4u.org.uk) and you'll see what I mean.

They are in a state of flux at present, as they are waiting for an upgrade to digital projection, after which they will be even better!

If you're in Fishguard, have a look and be entertained!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmChisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spaghetti Western Film Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had the pleasure of attending the Fishguard spaghetti western film festival this February. I was surprised to find this unique little venue, which even more surprisingly is mainly run by volunteers.

The aim is to provide music, theatre and much more to the community, and I for one am glad to see such an initiative. The fully functioning theatre its a 5 minute walk from the town square, and easily accessible from all sides. Inside a small, quaint box office sits below a glorious big screen, which on this occasion showed some of the great western classics.

It was a pleasure to see such response from both locals and visitors alike.

The facilities here are very well maintained. From the box office, the bar, the screen, all throughout the building, you can see this space is cared for by people with a passion, and a unerring community spirit.

Look forward to going back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank michaelwallbespoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishguard
Level Contributor
187 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Community spirit at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This independent cinema/theatre is now owned by the community and benefits from using a mix of paid staff and enthusiastic volunteers. Licenced bar and a welcoming feel to the place. A good mix of recent films and all types of live performance and music. Long may it thrive. Boasts the cleanest loos for miles!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank brynelfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clunderwen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A nice size theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The theatre is a nice size to put on Live performances. It is also good as a cinema and shows the latest films. It has a good variety of live performances and film shows.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cawscerwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theatr Gwaun also viewed

Goodwick, Fishguard
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Theatr Gwaun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing