We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Ffwrn

Ffwrn
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Fishguard
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely converted church hall. The freshly-baked croissants are out of this world. As are the huge pasties! The coffee is good too and it also serves a nice pint of Kozel beer. Spent most of the Aber Jazz festival here as it just had such a great atmosphere I didn't want to move anywhere else. Friendly owners and staff too. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    13
    3
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect sunday morning”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

fresh coffee (brilliant blend - no lingering after taste) and fresh baking - the pain au chocolate are delicious and their fresh strawberry tarts melted in the mouth. We took one of their Oggies - which were filled with recognisable ingredients - for a picnic later.
This is a place to go where you want to chill and forget about time. Read your paperbacks and newspapers - not your kindle/phone. The quirky touches they have in the building will make you smile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lolo1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best thing to have happened to the town”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Let's get this straight - this is quirky, original, friendly and not always in a hurry. But, you are ensured of a welcome, great bread (freshly baked), and superb crepes. Yes, at times service can be a bit slow and those who come and expect instant service and then to just shovel their food down ought to look elsewhere.
This is a place to relax, use the chess board, read your paper, meet friends and have another coffee or glass of wine. It is not a metropolitan get 'em in, then get 'em out venue.
It's also a great and successful venue for a variety of musical events that are part of the fabric of this town. Ffwrm deserves to succeed even though you sometimes have to be patient- this is their first season so, let's wait and see.
And, it is, I believe, the only Welsh speaking food business in Fishguard for those who wish to preserve their native language. Personally, it has to be English for me!
Will I go again? Certainly and take friends without the hassle of one of the chain outlets.
Long may it flourish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OppidanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant addition to Fishguard”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We've been coming to Fishguard for over 12 years and Ffwrn is a truly fantastic addition to the centre of the town.
Savour the interior, go there to chill and relax - don't go there expecting clinical fast-food type service.
Truly deserves to succeed - it has style by the bucket-load, character and charm - and yes they may need to consider staffing levels but cut them some slack - this is their first summer season and they are learning.
In any case, they are not trying to do fast food, or have quick turn round business - if that's what you want, go to Tesco in Goodwick and join a queue.
Opening hours on the door would be good !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Q M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A shocking hour and a half spent.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We've never been to a restaurant where we we felt insulted, this was the first. Our order, or part of it, arrived after 25 minutes. Three in our party were left without food and when we approached the staff to enquire of the missing dishes we were told that we had placed a special order and that was why. The special order was ham and bread for our son, tricky to muster I'm sure.
When the other dishes still didn't arrive, we then approached the staff once more and were told that they weren't McDonalds, somewhere we never go, and that they didn't do fast food, you don't say! They also said, 'Well. You're not from around here are you?' Which I can only assume meant we weren't Welsh. Even if we were Welsh, we would have been asking for the food we had paid for. In addition, we were over charged by about £15.
Never have we been to an eatery where we were at fault for placing an order. This almost spoilt our holiday to Fishguard but thankfully, after visiting another restaurant in the locality, our faith was restored.
A truly shocking experience which we'll never repeat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ffwrn also viewed

Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
 
Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
Goodwick, Fishguard
 

Been to Ffwrn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing