We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of Tara Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tara Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fishguard
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stopped overnight here on our way to Ireland via the Stenaline ferry with the wife and kids. We were in the family room (four poster bed and a set of bunks) and we were very pleased with it. We are not "B&B snobs" and understand that not everywhere we stay has to have a boutique feeling or the latest fashion designs. Breakfast was superb. Several options. Plenty of it. The owners were very welcoming and helped us choose a local restaurant for our evening meal. Price was definitely in our expected range and was certainly value-for-money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarw570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

There are some positives to the Tara: it was fairly clean, the owners were pleasant and the decor, though twee, had character. It's also very close to the port, so ideal if you're catching the ferry the next day. But at £100 for a family (with breakfast) they really should have done better. There was no bath and the toilet sink was in the main room, which wasnt nice. Worst of all was the toilet macerator, which emitted a grinding noise every half hour or so through the night, at a volume loud enough to wake you up. We were told in the morning that this was due to one of the taps being left on but, while that's probably true, it can only of been the slightest of drips and certainly wasn't noticeable. There was no soap or shampoo in the shower as the dispenser had not been filled. At breakfast, The cornflakes were soft but the cooked breakfast was excellent. The wi-fi was intermittent but ok. Overall, it was bearable for a night but really poor value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamoandAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotel, Owner at Tara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

We are very surpised & disappointed by your review especially as we bent over backwards to accommodate your needs, you initially asked for a room only tariff of £80 but wanted breakfast when you arrived and so you were told the price and were happy with it. You inspected the room prior to occupation and said you were delighted with it, if you had asked about a bath we would have told you that the room didn't have one if this had been a problem we would have understood you seeking alternative accommodations.

We are graded 5 stars for cleanliness and so the room was more than fairly clean. The decor is as we wish it to be and is in keeping with a late Victorian house and the majority of our guests love it.

As for should have done better for the price we think you should be more realistic and live in the real world our prices haven't increased for 4 years eventhough the cost of living has increased enormously over this period. The cost of a family of 4 staying takes into account all of you eating a hearty breakfast(which you took full advantage of) and use of our utilities.

The Macerator was entirely due to a tap being left running(very much more than a drip i might add) this has been checked by a plumber and backed up by the 5 families that have stayed in the room since (and were extremely happy with the room).

All reviews and feed back are welcome as long as they are true so it pains me to ask why you would say there were no Hand lotion, shower body and hair gel in the room when i checked myself and there clearly were, also all ceeials are put out fresh daily and I have had no complaints before (from 7 years ago) or since.

IMPORTANT NOTE TO THIS GUEST: Children should be supervised at all times it is extremely dangerous and irresponsible to allow your child to enter a kitchen during Breakfast service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I would say this is one of the best (if not the best) b and b i have ever stayed!. Excellent rooms, a homely feel and this is before i even mention the breakfast. Do yourself a favour and stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotel, Owner at Tara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment it was much apprieciated. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed here at the Tara hotel on the week of the Pembrokeshire county show and I really enjoyed the stay here I will be coming here next year if there are vacancies available. Thank you so much

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripsru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotel, Owner at Tara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments you were wonderful guests and pleasure to have stay at the Tara. hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

I have stayed in Fishguard twice, in 2008 and 2009, and heartily recommend the Tara Hotel. Both of the ensuite twin rooms I stayed in were clean, cosy and well maintained. Steve and Pam are both very welcoming to their guests, and the breakfast provided is both tasty and ample, setting myself and my travelling companion up well for 12-plus mile walks on both occasions.

The only cautionary note would be that this place won't appeal to those who may be allergic to, or dislike, dogs, since the owners are very fond of bulldogs. However, the flip side of the coin is that pets are welcomed here.

I love Fishguard, and would always try to book here in preference to anywhere else.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank MRFThorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotel, Owner at Tara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for your kind review it would be lovely to see you back .

We have unfortunately lost both our bulldogs now and so sadly we do not have a dog now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

I have had really great time in The Tara Hotel. This place was fantastic. I was there 3 years ago and i still remember it:))))

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karolina_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotel, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you Karolina hope you are well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

I cannot believe that anybody could recommend this place. We booked in for one night in the family room. The room was very shabby: curtains hanging of the rails, dusty, not one corner in the room where the wallpaper wasn't ripped. Dusty rugs on old carpet. Although the owners were friendly one wonders whether they have any understanding of providing value for money. We paid £85 for the night and neither the room nor the breakfast was worth it. The hotel needs a serious overhaul stripping it down to its bare walls and getting rid of the millions of ornaments and nicknacks that are creating a cramped, overly decorated and dusty atmosphere. If you have health problems with dust and damp, I suggest packing anti-histamines before staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoseidonYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraHotel, owner at Tara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2009

Thank you for your comments and while the management accepts that the decor in this particular room requires renewing (this is the last room requiring renovation). We are not prepared to accept that our service, breakfast and cleanliness are below standard in fact we have been congratulated on all of those catagories by Visit wales and countless other customers. And while the Tara welcomes constructive criticism in this case we would not agree with much of the content.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fishguard
0.5 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seaview Hotel
The Seaview Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fishguard
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hope and Anchor Inn
The Hope and Anchor Inn
#11 of 21 in Fishguard
47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ivybridge Guest House
Ivybridge Guest House
#1 of 2 in Goodwick
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Hotel

Address: 11 Windy Hall, Fishguard SA65 9DP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Fishguard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fishguard
Price Range: £51 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tara Hotel and Restaurant, owned by Steve and Pam Fensome, exudes a very homely and friendly atmosphere where guests are made to feel welcome whether their stay is for just one day or for longer. All are treated to the same warm hospitality. The Tara is close to the Stena ferry port (gateway to southern Ireland), the town centre and the Pembrokeshire National Coast Path. The north Pembrokeshire coastline and surrounding countryside offers some outstanding scenery and is ideal for walking holidays.Our guest rooms are all en-suite and have colour television and tea and coffee making facilities. We have one single room, two double rooms, one twin room, a triple and two family rooms, the largest of which has commanding views over the bay and ferry port and will accommodate up to 4 people. There is a private car park at the rear. The open plan restaurant, bar and lounge area has been designed to create a delightful 'homely' atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Fishguard, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing