We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcoming and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highland Moors Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
North Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming and peaceful”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed in a family room, which was enormous! It had two en-suite rooms, one a shower room, the other a bathroom, both of which had been recently refurbished to high standard. The views were stunning and although the decor had not changed in a while, it was clean, well-maintained and very comfortable.

With free, good quality wifi throughout the building, plenty of space for children to run and play, wonderful views, scrumptious breakfasts and such a warm welcome, we cannot recommend Highland Moors highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gryphaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    39
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
35
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

What a wonderful place, with a great history to it. There are thousands of B&B's in the UK, and most of them are the same as one another. But this one is different, and we can't recommend it highly enough.

The hosts were fantastic, very sociable & keen to help in any way they can.

Two things stand out in our minds that highlight this:

1) They insisted on running us into town to pick up our takeaway (we were on a motorbike & it was a wet day).

2) They lit the fire in the lounge without us having to ask (most places that have open fires tend to frown if you want the fire lit unless it is snowing!)

We received a free upgrade to a bigger room, and although it wasn't modern, it was clean and comfortable.

We will be going back next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RattynToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

It was such a lovely place, with fantastic views from the room. The owners were so welcoming to us. Lovely big room, next two mornings we had a really good quality breakfast. All local produce, such a great selection. Welsh cakes, lava bread, full english, continental, or all of the above! We loved the selection of different sausages so much we stocked up at the local butchers before going home. Also the owner said that if we come back she can order in items that we like and does this for lots of her customers. Also we fancied afternoon tea one of the afternoons and the owner offered to open that afternoon just for us and offered to do anything we wanted. I can see how this place has won the awards it has, its very well deserved. Really beautiful old house all original features and so much local information on the walls and in reception area and from the owners. Also games room, pool table, everything you could think of. Trust me, if you want to stay in Wales, this place is not to be missed. So reasonable as well. Also lots of places to wall to near by, to eat and shop. I can honestly say this is the best B&B I have ever stayed at, and I've tried quite a few in my time!!

Room Tip: You can email the owners and advise of any requests and they will accommodate where they can, they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neveragain30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I loved both the welcome, the atmosphere, and the rooms. I also think that breakfast was great! My colleague and I also enjoyed spending time at the pool table...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Recommended by a nearby B&B that could not accomodate us, 4 motorcycling friends chanced upon this great B&B by sheer luck late one evening on the return leg of a trip to Scotland and Wales.
The reception received from the landlady (Sue) was immediately warm and welcoming. The two rooms allocated were both generous, allowing us to spread all our biking gear around in comfort. The beds were very comfortable and the ensuite shower/toilet had clearly recently been nicely decorated and tiled.
Although we did not have much time to enjoy the common areas, the wide staircase and the the main reception rooms were elegantly and sympathetically furnished, retaining what appeared to be many original features of the house.
Similarly, the dining room was also similary appointed, with attention to detail in the presentation and style.
A feature which was felt was entirely in keeping with the high quality aspirations of the business was the adoption of a simple black staff uniform. This conferred a nice sense of propriety and reserved professionalism that is unusual for a B&B and, at Highland Moors, was entirely appropriate.

For motorcyling enthusiasts, both the Brecon Beacons and Snowdonia are within easy rideouts for days out, so you could readily base your trip from here or, like us, it makes a great mid way stopover.

Room Tip: The ones at the front of the house with the big bays and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RL_0156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackhampster2, Owner at Highland Moors Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thank you Robert for your generous review. We're delighted to have accommodated your group. Maybe we'll see you another year on another marathon tour of the UK...
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soroe, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Friendly hostess helped us finding one of the few places to eat 8.30 PM in this town (not the best food). According to the homepage of this B&B the rooms were newly renovated, but unfortunately we got a large family room without renovated bathroom. There was mould on the ceiling and walls in the bathroom as a ventilationsystem was not installed.

The beds of the room were very old and unpleasant to sleep in.

Concluding, price and quality did not match.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soraner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackhampster2, Owner at Highland Moors Guest House, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay here and in the town. Unfortunately for this guest, we were completing our second family room shower area in Room 10 which reopened on 14th July. Although we have refurbished the bedroom of Room 5, that bathroom is the last ensuite to be redone although it is still now in good shape with a seperate bath and shower ensuite. Our king beds are quality contract king beds which we usually hear very good reports about. We were sorry not to have any feedback at the time of stay as we always welcome contrustive feedback to continually improve. We generally tell guest too as they enter that we're near completion of the refurbishment. We do try and please everyone all of the time
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

A really nice guest house with lovely, friendly people, plus absolutely superb breakfasts. Secure car park, 5 minutes walk to the nearest pub, which also served excellent food.
Already booked for next year.
John.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westfieldjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandrindod Wells hotels
0.7 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 5 in Howey
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#27 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hampton Hotel
The Hampton Hotel
#11 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Moors Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Moors Guest House

Property: Highland Moors Guest House
Address: Wellington Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5ND, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Moors Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 13 spacious rooms, including huge family rooms and elegant bay rooms with luxury walk-in shower en-suites. All rooms have flat screen TVs, hospitality trays, leather sofas/comfy chairs. The guest lounge offers evening comfort with sofas, real log fire, pool table and games. Outside there is a children's play and new decking area ready for the summer. There is plenty of free secure off-road parking space and a secure lockup for valuables such as motorbikes, mountain bikes and golfing equipment etc. Wifi and hardwired broadband points available free to help you keep in touch as you are traveling. We source the freshest, free range and local produce and offer a generous breakfast choice.We offer waffles with toppings for our younger or young at heart guests. Three course dinner options available with a minimum of four guests and with prior booking. Families and children needs catered for and are very welcome. Special mini-break offers available in the Winter. Highland Moors is ideal for conferences, meeting, training, retreats, functions, parties and a base to enjoy a huge range of outdoor adventure sports and activities. We are happy to put together a package for your group. Outdoor adventure activities in the area include: 4x4/off-roading and green laning, rally driving, golfing, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, cycling, horse riding, go-karting, trail bike riding, kayaking, sailing, canal boat trips, archery, classic car touring, canoeing, outdoor adventure centres and walking. Other attractions within easy access include the National Cycle Collection, Elan Valley, Powis Castle, Gigrin Farm Red Kite Feeding Centre, Spaceguard Centre, Silver Mines Experience, Dan-yr- Ogof Showcaves, Devil's Bridge, beach at Ynyslas/Borth, Abbeycwmhir Hall, Cantref Adventure Farm, Owl & Small Breeds Farm, Judges Lodging, Thomas Shop, Glansevern Gardens, Water-break-its-neck waterfall & woodland walk, Brecon Mountain Railway and others, Brecon Beacons & Pen-y-fan, Welsh Royal Crystal and Gilfach Farm longhouse and nature reserve.We are sure that you will enjoy your stay and we look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Highland Moors Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Moors Guest House Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing