We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highland Moors Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

It was lovely. Professional service, tasty breakfasts. Very nice and helpful host :-) We could get many informations about neigbourhood and local attractions. It was very clean, fresh cookies every days to your room.
Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal_W_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Everything was clean and comfortable.Excellent breakfast.Really friendly atmosphere. 10-15 minute walk left or right to a couple of very good places to eat at lunch or in the evenings.
14th-17th Sept 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed for two nights in a room with plenty of space and a comfortable bed plus lovely views. Breakfast was fresh and nicely cooked. A beautiful house with lots of character and a nice atmosphere. We will certainly stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We received a warm and friendly welcome upon arrival from Sue Green who showed us to a spacious and comfortable ensuite room. Exactly what we had booked. The beds were so comfortable that we both fell asleep as our heads hit the pillows and did not wake up until the morning. The breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maesyfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I recently spent some time here and found the room extremely gloomy. The lighting was poor; the decor tire with, furniture mismatched, cheap and old fashioned; washing my hair under the shower was very difficult due to the very poor stream of water; and the feather bedding was so noisy it woke me up at every turn though the bed itself was comfortable.

The cooked breakfast was very good but the cereal breakfast was in tupperware (!) containers and looked less than appealing although the fresh fruit was lovely and I even had thick yoghurt on one of the days but it was missing on the other days which was a shame.

I was there during the torrential rains of last week so that could have added to the general gloom but I'm glad I didn't spend any time other than sleep time in the bedroom.

The staff were very friendly enough but didn't "chat" to any of the guests that I was aware of.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 100JudyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackhampster2, Owner at Highland Moors Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

I am disappointed that this guest had a less than excellent experience at Highland Moors. As we were away ourselves at the time, we were not able to address any concerns which coudl have been voiced whilst they were here. Whilst we are constantly improving and upgrading all the time, we hope that a desk not matching a wardrobe & chest of drawers won't spoil your experience too much. On the up side, this room has recently been painted with new ensuite, new carpet and flat screen TV. See our Gallery picture, bottom right. The showers are fed from mains pressure throughout so we're not sure how the shower could have been low volume water.

Having just come back from Ireland, we constantly look at taking ideas and implementing them here. We use matching cereal containers for some cereals to keep them fresh, but we have added extra 4-5 choices in packets, a choice of 2-3 Bio Pots for greater choice of yogurt, and 4-5 extra sweet & savoury spread options including honey with cinammon, orange, lime marmalade, and peanut butter. We also add in croissants, & pastries options when guests are here for more than one night.

Come try us for youself. I know you will enjoy your stay at Highland Moors
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We visited Highland Moors for a Jubilee weekend break. Although the owners of the guest house were away themselves, Theresa did not fail to make us very welcome. The room we stayed in was very spacious and had lovely views of the fields and hills in the distance.

There was a good selection for breakfast which tasted great and could tell it was high quality produce. The only niggle was that they were out of Lava bread. Having never been to Wales before, I was slightly dissapointed I couldn't sample it. Other than that a fantastic stay! Oh and the bed was super comfy, I don't think me and my partner have ever slept so well!

Thank you for your hospitality, you have a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Great location, good value and massive rooms. Nice and quiet, great place to stay with very helpful and friendly hosts!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandrindod Wells hotels
0.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 4 in Howey
185 reviews
3.6 mi away
Guidfa House
Guidfa House
#1 of 2 in Crossgates
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Severn Arms Hotel
Severn Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Penybont
59 reviews
0 mi away
Fedw Farm
Fedw Farm
#2 of 2 in Hundred House
32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greylands Guest House
Greylands Guest House
#2 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Moors Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Moors Guest House

Address: Wellington Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5ND, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: £52 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Moors Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 13 spacious rooms, including huge family rooms and elegant bay rooms with luxury walk-in shower en-suites. All rooms have flat screen TVs, hospitality trays, leather sofas/comfy chairs. The guest lounge offers evening comfort with sofas, real log fire, pool table and games. Outside there is a children's play, new decking with BBQ and picnic tables. Dogs welcome and secure garden to exercise them. Car park and driveway resurfaced, free secure off-road parking and a secure lockup for valuables i.e. motorbikes, mountain bikes and golfing equipment etc. Wifi and hardwired broadband points available free. We source the freshest, free range, local and non Halal produce and offer a generous breakfast choice including cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, full cooked breakfast, omelettes, kippers, waffles, porridge, and hot & cold drinks. Three course dinner options available with a minimum of four guests and with prior booking. Budget meals for easy catering includes curries, chillies, pies for large groups, cyclists and walkers. Families and children needs catered for and are very welcome. Special mini-break offers available in the Winter. Highland Moors is ideal for conferences, meeting, training, retreats, functions, parties and a base to enjoy a huge range of outdoor adventure sports and activities. We are happy to put together a package for your group. Outdoor adventure activities in the area include: 4x4/off-roading and green laning, rally driving, golfing, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, cycling, horse riding, go-karting, trail bike riding, kayaking, sailing, canal boat trips, archery, classic car touring, canoeing, outdoor adventure centres and walking. Other attractions within easy access include the National Cycle Collection, Elan Valley, Powis Castle, Gigrin Farm Red Kite Feeding Centre, Spaceguard Centre, Silver Mines Experience, Dan-yr- Ogof Showcaves, Devil's Bridge, beach at Ynyslas/Borth, Abbeycwmhir Hall, Cantref Adventure Farm, Owl & Small Breeds Farm, Judges Lodging, Thomas Shop, Glansevern Gardens, Water-break-its-neck waterfall & woodland walk, Brecon Mountain Railway and others, Brecon Beacons & Pen-y-fan, Welsh Royal Crystal and Gilfach Farm longhouse and nature reserve. We are sure that you will enjoy your stay and we look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. Always book direct for best price ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Highland Moors Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Moors Guest House Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing