We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highland Moors Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed a short while ago (May 2014) during the Bank holiday weekend and Hay festival so my review is probably biased. Actually this was the only room we could find for a decent price at the last minute in a 60 miles range.... so I would take this in consideration when reading the review.
First of all, the staff were amazing. We arrived at 9 pm and were immediately greeted with a warm smile. Our luggage was carried for us to the second floor which was quite a break and the room was enormous with many small treats by the kettle. The downside was the separated beds, the thin walls (lucky our neighbors with children were extremely polite) and especially the bathroom which was not ensuite. It was quite an adventure walking around the floor in our jamas and I am aware it was due to last minute and high occupancy but it was a downside for us. Almost forget the 'antique' tiny TV which could not be operated with the remote so I literally needed to go up to the tiny TV to change the volume and channels. Breakfast was fabulous and the staff were extremely nice. Of course the major attraction is the scenery and we loved the drive to and from. It was a good solution for our needs but if we had more to choose from, this wouldn't have been it. I should say, though, that the house's history is quite interesting on itself.

Room Tip: Make sure you get bathrooms ensuite :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Advush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

A lovely comfortable relaxed place to stay. Had everything we as a family needed with space to spare.

We only stayed 1 night and enjoyed breakfast, but did not choose the dinner option as we'd spent most of the day grazing from cafe to cafe!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stonemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this very comfortable guest house the night before The Royal Welsh Show. The evening meal was cooked perfectly and the proprietors were very welcoming.
My room was stylishly decorated with a clean spacious ensuite. Looking out my window I had lovely countryside views-perfect!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here about 4 years ago and Sue remembered us which I thought was great. The good thing about this place is it is family run with both sue and her husband very friendly and chat to you as if you are old friends. The rooms are comfortable and as soon as I said our room was a bit cold an extra heater was brought to the room. Breakfast great, best eggs I have ever had. Would definitely return if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We've stayed here for the last 4/5 years, but this year was made even better when Sue cooked a fantastic 3 course meal for us on Friday night, (with hardly any notice of 'booking'). We were in a different room to the usual, but this was just as comfortable & clean. Please don't hesitate to book here - the atmosphere, rooms & food are A1. Can't wait to stay here again next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights with work the couple who run the place are great very helpful and couldnt do enough plus she makes a great breakfast. The place is clean. I will be back. Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I was pleasantly surprised that Jeff remembered my surname even though I had only stayed once before 6 years ago! We stayed here just for one night, New Year's Eve whilst visiting relatives nearby. We received a very warm and friendly welcome. This is a true family run guest house. Service was just right, efficient and not overly intrusive. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NobbyBCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandrindod Wells hotels
0.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Greylands Guest House
Greylands Guest House
#3 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 4 in Howey
180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#14 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Moors Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Moors Guest House

Address: Wellington Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5ND, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: £67 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Moors Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 13 spacious rooms, including huge family rooms and elegant bay rooms with luxury walk-in shower en-suites. All rooms have flat screen TVs, hospitality trays, leather sofas/comfy chairs. The guest lounge offers evening comfort with sofas, real log fire, pool table and games. Outside there is a children's play, new decking with BBQ and picnic tables. Dogs welcome and secure garden to exercise them. Car park and driveway resurfaced, free secure off-road parking and a secure lockup for valuables i.e. motorbikes, mountain bikes and golfing equipment etc. Wifi and hardwired broadband points available free. We source the freshest, free range, local and non Halal produce and offer a generous breakfast choice including cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, full cooked breakfast, omelettes, kippers, waffles, porridge, and hot & cold drinks. Three course dinner options available with a minimum of four guests and with prior booking. Budget meals for easy catering includes curries, chillies, pies for large groups, cyclists and walkers. Families and children needs catered for and are very welcome. Special mini-break offers available in the Winter. Highland Moors is ideal for conferences, meeting, training, retreats, functions, parties and a base to enjoy a huge range of outdoor adventure sports and activities. We are happy to put together a package for your group. Outdoor adventure activities in the area include: 4x4/off-roading and green laning, rally driving, golfing, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, cycling, horse riding, go-karting, trail bike riding, kayaking, sailing, canal boat trips, archery, classic car touring, canoeing, outdoor adventure centres and walking. Other attractions within easy access include the National Cycle Collection, Elan Valley, Powis Castle, Gigrin Farm Red Kite Feeding Centre, Spaceguard Centre, Silver Mines Experience, Dan-yr- Ogof Showcaves, Devil's Bridge, beach at Ynyslas/Borth, Abbeycwmhir Hall, Cantref Adventure Farm, Owl & Small Breeds Farm, Judges Lodging, Thomas Shop, Glansevern Gardens, Water-break-its-neck waterfall & woodland walk, Brecon Mountain Railway and others, Brecon Beacons & Pen-y-fan, Welsh Royal Crystal and Gilfach Farm longhouse and nature reserve. We are sure that you will enjoy your stay and we look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. Always book direct for best price ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Highland Moors Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Moors Guest House Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing