We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage Bed & Breakfast

The Cottage Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandrindod Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Interesting property, very conviently situated in the centre of Llandrindid Wells. The room was clean & spacious with a comfortable bed & small ensuite shower. There was a hospitality tray with a small selection of drinks.
Mark, our host was very friendly and cooked a good breakfast, special mention must be made of his delicious homemade preserves.
A comfortable stay and good value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandapatch29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Mark the owner makes you feel very welcomed and comfortable. The rooms are lovely, spotless and beautifully presented. The beds are very comfortable, no problem having a good night sleep. The breakfast is delicious, good quality food, for the cooked breakfast, cooked well, with Mark's own homemade preserves to finish off the breakfast with "gallons of tea and mountains of toast" if required. The hotel is well positioned, close to everything. I can highly recommend a stay at The Cottage.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

A warm welcome from the host Mark started our overnight stay in this period house; conveniently located in the centre of Llandrindod Wells and central Wales.

The interior decor and furnising are sympathetically in keeping with this period building, which was built for a local Doctor; a dignatory of the town.
The instruction from the Doctor was that no room be square: the builder did not fail.
This design gives great character to the interior without inconvenience to practicalities.
This character is further enhanced by, interesting pictures and objet d'art ;which our hosts have collected over the many years of residence.

The house is clean and bright. Our room was spacious, with a very comfortable bed, and a large window affording a delightful view (of the garden and the town) giving much light and air to the room: no television, a plus for us, no temptation to be distracted and, we felt, that this house would not have had a Television; delightfully reflecting the period aura of the room.

There is a 'Television lounge' with comfortable sofa and chairs, if you want to step back into modern life. There are plenty of interesting books and magazines to read: conveniently located outside of the bedrooms for all to use.

Mark's breakfast offering of a full choice of English or your own favourite variation: enhanced by a good cup of tea and then Mark's coup de gras, his own self made jams, delicious, especially the Blackberry and gooseberry; sweet fruity and tangy:
Mark then gave us friendly farewell: we promised to return and we hope to do so: soon.
'Enough said' so don't hesitate to book.

Room Tip: We stayed in room two, on the front. read the review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STEPHEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

very nice and clean place for the price you pay it is one of the best in this area. mark, the owner of the b&b together with his wife areboth very friendly and welcoming. treated me more like a member of the family rather than a customer. nice toilets and well presented rooms.

Room Tip: choose the rights side rooms as there's better wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Coming from Bavaria, we spent a very hospitable and pleasant week at The Cottage in 2010 so that we now are returning in Medi 2012. Mark is a host making everyone feel at home especially with his homemade breakfast and his knowledge of the surroundings of this beautiful area. We are looking forward to staying at The Cottage again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Weyerer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

My husband and I stayed one night and our room was just beautiful, we would have stayed longer if time permitted - everything was perfect. Mark was an excellent host with a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding areas and best places to visit while on holiday from Australia. You owe it to yourself to visit The Cottage Bed and Breakfast and just ENJOY.
Yvonne & Wayne (Australia)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blyington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

I had the joy of spending a night at The Cottage back in August last year. My friend and I stumbled upon it when we arrived at Llandrindod Wells during Victorian Week. Nearly all the guests were dressed in all their victorian glory. Mark and Jayne were great hosts and made us feel very welcome. We were lucky to see them at a time that they enjoy very much - Victorian week is a must in Llandrindod Wells. The Cottage is a beautiful house built in the Arts and Crafts period. The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated with lovely furniture. There was also a room where guests could relax, read and watch TV. Definitely recommend The Cottage to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandrindod Wells hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Greylands Guest House
Greylands Guest House
#12 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#1 of 5 in Howey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#10 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Cottage Spa Road | Llandrindod Wells, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5EY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Llandrindod Wells
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Cottage Bed & Breakfast Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing