We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good range of good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herb Garden Cafe

Herb Garden Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caergwrle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good range of good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2015

Situated under the same roof as a supermarket, but don't let that put you off. This is a good cafe and snack restaurant, with a decent range of standard and quirky foods, and a lively atmosphere. It looks to be the place to be for locals, which is always a good sign.

Visited February 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeD1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    41
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
171 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Worth The Detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2015

We were sufficiently impressed by our chance discovery of the Herb Garden on our last trip to the Welsh coast a year ago that we diverted to Llandrindod Wells on both our outward and inward runs this time.

The first time was for (very good) coffee and excellent (dairy-free) cake - my wife, who has the intolerance, had a rich chocolate cake with similarly rich topping, while I had the cinnamon and apple variety (nobody should believe that you need dairy ingredients to make first rate cakes).

The second time was for a (similarly excellent) light lunch - hummus and salad roll for my wife, tasty soup with roll for me (the rolls both wholemeal of the best quality, baked with flour from a local watermill), followed by (again very good) coffee and (smaller, having already had a big breakfast at our hotel before our departure, but still excellent) baking.

On both occasions the staff were very helpful and friendly, the food was of a consistently high standard and the bill very reasonable. We hope to be back sooner than later.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MAH3862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly efficient service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2015

Only popped in for 'tea for two', the free wi-Fi was a bonus. Prompt and friendly service. It seemed to be one of the few places that was actually open on a Friday afternoon - besides a couple of supermarkets.

Visited February 2015
Helpful?
Thank stoptree789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five Stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2015

Top service no matter who is on duty, quality produce used equals fantastic meals and a lovely setting emphasised by the attention to detail within the cafe. I love a window seat with the beautiful plants all around me but sometimes just like to lounge on the sofas with a coffee. Top rating across the board.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“How I found that a cashew-burger tastes better than a beefburger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2015

The Herb Garden is not a "vegetarian restauran|", but uses locally-grown produce for all meals, including non-vegetarian. However, as a regular visitor I tried the cashew-burger one day and never looked back. Not just good for you, but absolutely delicious. The main courses are different every day, which therefore attracts a lot of regulars working in town. The atmosphere is homely but professional, and the home-made salads are excellent. But, if Raspberry Roulade is on the menu and you go in for lunch: be warned, you will not be able to resist it. Coffee is excellent, and the self-serve soup tureen has a different ingredient r every day.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herb Garden Cafe also viewed

Llandrindod Wells, Powys
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 

Been to Herb Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing