We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll never forget this holiday, best yet!”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Completely forgot to write a review for this wonderful hotel. We stayed in Aug 2010 for a weekend deal on Travelzoo, and we've always wanted to return. Wonderful hotel, fantastic amenities and the best food we've ever tasted. Friendly staff on reception to welcome you and the rooms were quirky but fab. Can't remember the number of the room we stayed in, but it featured some steps down into a beautiful bathroom. We always talk about this being the best holiday ever and always use it as a comparison for any other breaks we get chance to go on. We received a complementary 'packed lunch' on departure, unfortunately the order was wrong but it didn't matter a jot as it was lovely. We receive emails from The Metropole but 'normal' prices are too much for us to afford, but you pay for quality. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Fantastic spa facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LittleGingerFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Metropole for a Welsh Rarebits function, we were put up in a corner suite located on the top floor in the corner with great veiws over the surrounding contryside the place, atmosphere, event and hospitality were outstanding, and Justin was a fabolous host, we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The corner suite was sunny and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel over the Christmas and we were pleasantly surpised by the standards of service the hotel provided. Nothing was too much trouble and anything you asked for was granted without question or hesitation.
The food was very very good. Cooked beautifully and served with an efficient but extremely polite staff . The freshness and variety was delightful.Catering for veggies or meat eaters the chef and his staff "cared" about the food they offered.
The seving staff were delightful insofar as they were attentive but not overbearing. If you wanted more,it was provided as requested without hesitation .
The place ,for such a large hotel, was spotless.
The cleaning staff started at 6am in the common rooms and finished late into the night.I don't remember seeing anything left over from the night before on our 4 day stay.The entertainment was a little tired but we were with generally older generation guests, but all were made very welcome.Disco came later in the evening which was a mix of old and new but very well done.We would recommend this hotel as a jewel in mid wales and will be booking to go again 2012.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Recntly stayed the night with my husband. The staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful, the food was gorgeous and the facilities in the room & pool were excellent.
We will be staying again when we're next in the area,

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights with my family and was taken back by how stunning this hotel is. The hotel has lots of character and is currently a bit of a mixed bag as there are stunning hallways passages that have all the charm of an an old Victorian era hotel although these passageways are looking a little tired, they are still rather charming. On the other hand here is where the mixed bag comment comes in, the hotel is being modernised & refurbished to a high standard of modern decor, which nice as it is takes away the charm this hotel has.

Putting aside the appearance, the staff are all very helpful and friendly. Having read previous comments I was worried I would have nowhere to park my car but the hotel has a huge car park to the rear of the property, and to the front you step out of the hotel look right you see the Welsh Mountains looming up in the distance and the shops nearby. Within walking distance is a large Tesco, the Train Station and the Town Centre. Also nearby is the Rock Park which has a lot of victorian history, and you can go and see the original spa and springs there. It is also a lovely walk through there. This is also fairly near to explore the stunning Elan Valley by car.

The hotel has 2 restaurants, there is the fine dining restaurant to the rear, where they also serve breakfast, and they have the brasserie at the front. The brasserie was really lovely with great atmosphere, the food and service were excellent in there, I had a child with dietary issues and they cooked a meal upon request (having ordered earlier in the day) and it seemed nothing was too much trouble for them. I was very impressed with the brasserie.

Breakfast which was in the main restaurant was not quite so impressive, the buffet is all over the place, in one room they have the pastries, breads & juices, then in the next room there is the hot plate with the hot food & bread, then in the next room they have cereals, fruits & yoghurts. Not sure why it cant all be in one place it was a bit of a pain being in 3 different places. We were also given a pot of tea and coffee, why? We were not asked which we wanted just given both, bit of a waste really. The staff were very nice though.

The hotel has a lovely swimming pool but, lovely is just in the looking! The water was so cold it was not useable! My children and I went to the pool and the children who tolerate even the cold seas of this country, could not swim in the pool as it was too cold! That was a shame as it was a lovely pool.

The room was very nice, I had a bunked family room and the bunk beds were actually very nice, larger than average bunks and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge! My only critiscm in this room was that for a family room, they had a tea & coffee making facility that was on a very low down table and was a fixed tray that was not removable to a higher height away from little peoples reach. It was a well stocked tray though, with tea coffee and biscuits.

I would recommend this hotel, and I definately plan to go back again, although hope to get a deal as the hotel is a little pricey.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julesbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

A big thankyou to all at the metropole. We stayed there for a midweek break whilst we went mountain biking on the brecon beacons.
The staff were very helpful and provided a room for our bikes when we got back each day so we didn't have to leave them in the car park.
The massages in the spa were excellent, just what we needed after a hard day!
We ate every evening in Spencer's brasserie - excellent food and service.

We would definitely stay here again. Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed while attending a conference, was not looking forward to it, but was pleasantly surprised, the outside looks a little depressing being a very dark dingey green, inside is very pleasant and the room I stayed in was so much better than last time, ongoing refurbishment really working well.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huw P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
11 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
243 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
652 reviews
0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
278 reviews
21.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: £120 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing