We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in one of the newly refurbished top floor rooms, last easter time. (They have probably all been refurbed by now.) The room was very clean and absolutely lovely, with some stunning decor.. The staff were amazingly helpful, breakfast in bed was sublime (if a little on the pricey side.)
I can't draw much comparison on the Spa facilities as I'm not a regular spa- goer, but I would say that the facilities were well staffed and clean, with a nice jacuzzi and sauna. When we asked if we could carry a coffee from the bar up to our room, we were ushered into a nice fireside lounge and our drinks were carried out for us, with some delicious chocolates on the side. On Easter sunday we were given Easter eggs with our breakfast. The location was not all that exciting, but a good base for exploration. The disco left a little to be desired as well, but lets face it, who goes to a Spa hotel for the disco?
Cannot really fault the hotel, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjy_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel considering its age is in good shape, clean and staff very friendly. Spa was good and facilities modern. Location good for exploring mid Wales....and walking.
The most dissapointing bit was the food, its a conveyor belt of pre-prepared fodder....all obviously plated up in advance and not much flavour. Presentation was good, but taste...virtually zero. We had a 6 course taster menu, best bit was the glass of champagne, after that it was downhill fast..... Concrete pate, tastless salmon, butternut squash and coconut soup ( this was okay), chicken stiffed with what looked like and tasted like sawdust, creme brulee.... With no crunch....and cheese that looked like it had come of one of those huge blocks..... All in all not good, however speed was of the essence, as all courses were served within 50 mins.....
Now dont get me started on breakfast, .... Worse than dinner, however all credit to their artisan bread supplier.... The bread was supurb... So good i would have been happy to have a basket of bread and nothing else.
I would go back to the hotel but give the restaurant a miss!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoHinshropshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have stayed at the Metropole on many occasions, always for a function, with a Motor club, we have always been disappointed, so when this offer came along from Travelzoo we were apprehensive. However, the welcome was good, the room was lovely, the meal, a 6 course experience was absolutely fabulous we could not fault it. The service during the meal was fantastic, and finally the breakfast was very nice, we shall certainly look at te Metropole in a different light and would certainly recommend it most highly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwyneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We came to the Metropole for a two-day break using it as a base to see Central Wales.
Whilst your first impression of the exterior is of a large imposing victorian building you will be pleasantly surprised and delighted once you step inside.
The staff are brilliant; from the warmth of welcome at Reception through to the service in the Bar Brasserie, the Restaurant and the Leasure Centre. Also the support staff were polite, helpful and cheerful.
We were offered a Double executive room ensuite, which had been refurbished quite recently. Excellent quality of fittings and furnishings and very comfortable indeed.
The first night we ate in the Brasserie and enjoyed a delicious reasonably-priced meal.
The second evening we enjoyed the Hotel's 'Taste of Wales' menu in the main Restaurant; a delightful experience.
Do try and read the history of this family run hotel. From it you will see why the service is so good; modern in outlook yet upholding traditional four star quality.
Outside the country side of Wales is stunning...even in drab February.
The test is...would we book another stay at the Metropole ?
."...oh yes!"

Room Tip: Our Executive Double was recently refurbished and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Don't let the outside appearance put you off. This is an old but very well appointed and very well run hotel. It is slightly dated in places but that shouldn't put you off. The staff are very helpful, the restaurant well run and the food excellent. We had a very relaxing stay despite the hotel being quite full.

Definitely on the places to return to list.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumbleweed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Had a very comfortable short break in this excellent,apparently privately owned hotel.Weather was cold but hotel and facilities were not. Ideal centre for touring

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delvesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

A traditional, big old-fashioned hotel but updated throughout. A lovely big room with nice ensuite, all newly refurbished and very clean. An excellent 6 course taster menu, which included good sized courses. A glass of champagne. A really good, english breakfast with locally sourced products. £99 for two of us!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveDonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
824 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
638 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 4 in Howey
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: £123 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing