We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charactherfull - Superb Faded Glamour !”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Metropole is providing wonderful service with comfortable ambiance.The place has that attractive faded glamour of certain Hotels.
It has an updated pleasant Brasserie supported by the Main Restaurant serving a well thought out and executed Rosette 6 course "Taster" Dinner.
Very good staff - all of whom are going those extra miles !

Quite superb and will come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TENZNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Tenz, I am responding to your review on a Monday morning after another busy weekend and I think it is worth picking up in particular on your kind comments about the staff going the extra mile. They are a fantastic team that I have here and every department has to pull its weight to make things work and they all do. So thank you for your kind feedback and thank you to my excellent staff. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent a night at the hotel as part of a group of 4 friends (2 couples). Both double rooms were nice, clean and comfortable but our friends room did have a fire escape which obstructed the view from their windows. We took advantage of the good leisure facilities which included pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. We experienced an excellent evening meal which was a 6 course taster menu. We all agreed that this was one of the finest meals we had experienced with outstandind service from the staff. All the staff at the hotel were efficient, pleasant and helpful.
We enjoyed lunch on both days in the comfortable hotel bar and benefitted from a tasty breakfast with a good choice on the menu.
An excellent experience, which we hope to repeat in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room that has a fire escape outside your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Owen, thanks for your feedback and I hope that we will be welcoming you and your friends back again in the near future. Sadly of the 110 rooms there are a very small number, about 4, that are effected by a fire escape, but I suspect your friends would have been more upset if they had needed to use it and it was not there. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

One night travelzoo deal.Good welcoming feel when you arrive and after a considerable drive enjoyed great brasserie lunch.Our room (executive) was small but comfortable and well equiped although the television was small and wall-mounted high in the corner making it difficult to see clearly.Bathroom good and apart from one minor issue (promptly dealt with) good standard of cleanliness.We enjoyed the pool and spa,the staff are all helpful and efficient.The 6 course taster menu was the best we have experienced,our evening meal was memorable and for this reason alone we will look to do this again soon I hope!

Room Tip: consider upgrade for a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Eve, we would be delighted to welcome you back again soon. The £99 offer will be running until the end of April so there is plenty of time to return and we still have availability over easter. I have noticed in the last few weeks a lot of people coming in parties of up to 8 which seems like a really good way for friends to have a night away together. I hope we will see you again soon. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Another visit here this time overnight to sample their taster menu. Room a bit on the small side but obviously recently (and tastefully) renovated.
Excellent food, menu well balanced and just the right amounts with a complimentary glass of (genuine) champagne.
Would certainly return again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caecaradog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed via a Travelzoo deal for two nights. We were made very welcome at the hotel reception; the hotel staff overall were attentive and efficient. Large car par which had an electric charging station, first one I have seen at an hotel! The hotel looks in places a little tired but nothing that should put you off unless you are very critical. Room was big but oh dear, no double glazing! There were six windows and the two radiators were doing their best, but the bedroom lounge area was large and on a protruding, rounded corner. The room took a while to warm up as the windows, even with the very heavy curtains, were acting to nullify the radiators, due to the coldest day of the year complete with very cold winds. The heating needed turning up to maximum all the time we were there. Excellent four poster bed, vast and soft and warm. Bathroom a good size and well appointed, but showing signs of use. Had the six course gourmet meal on the first night, in the very welcoming restaurant, superb! Good selection of wines from £16 and upwards. Second night we had booked for the same experience but found the menu was the same again, so ate in the brasserie instead; a well presented and tasty meal. The breakfast on both mornings was excellent with a good choice of both hot and cold food. The spa area was nice, well laid out with bags of equipment for the health freaks, good pool, steam room and jacuzzi, with excellent changing facilities but could have done with a few more lockers. Checking out was completed without any fuss, and an accurate bill for the extras.
In all a pleasant experience which I would be not averse to experiencing again.

Room Tip: Go for the rear of the hotel, corner rooms larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m9m9g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Along with lots of others, a group of four of us took avantage of the excellent Travelzoo offer. When we first saw this huge hotel, we weren't very enthusiastic (looks old fashioned and painted a bottle green) however we arrived to a very helpful and friendly receptionist. Our two twin executive rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with a lovely bathroom with a two headed shower (no bath). Took advantage of the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. Again, fautless. Nice touch having hairdryers and bathing cosume dryer in the changing area. Lovely shower facilities with complementary shower gel in the cubicles- again so clean. Tried to book a massage but they were fully booked unfortunately. Evening meal was a delight- 'taser menu' was more than enough for our appetites- presentation fantastic and waiting staff were efficient and proffesional. Breakfast was plentiful and a huge choice of hot and cold food. Had lunch in the bar before returning home- such a comfortable and chilled out hotel. Can't recommend this hotel enough...all this for just £50 a head!! I'd go back like a shot! I'd checked out the reviews on Tripadvisor before booking and what's impressed me too is that the owner obviously checks out the reviews and feedback and replies to them too! Don't usually see that. Very impressive. Go there!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janini45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Just got back from 5day break at this Hotel Went with some friends ,The hotel is very big ,lot of conference rooms ,all the staff were very friendly and helpful ,we had a little problem in our room and it was delt with straight away,There is a gym pool,sauna,steam room and therapy rooms,a lovely big lounge and bar ,The hotel serves excellent food ,Our ensuite had a bath with shower over but some rooms just had a shower.our room was nicely decorated.lovely and cosy,would recomend this hotel ,

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
925 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
242 reviews
15.6 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: £122 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing