We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing To Fault Here”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing To Fault Here”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

As with many others here, we bought the Travel Zoo offer at £99. We had room 139 which was a large double overlooking the car park. Room was clean and obviosly refurbished. The en suite was spacious and again, spotless. The food in the evening was very good so was the breakfast. Made use of the spa, which again was good. You cannot really go wrong at this price. Not much to do ine town but had a pleasant ride to Devils Bridge and the Elan valley.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidtj0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    437
    111
    37
    19
See reviews for
133
691
24
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Had a Travelzoo break like many others on here. The hotel looks like something out of The Shining.... its large and imposing and not in the best green colour! When you enter the hotel is like a mixture of old and new and makes a refreshing change from going into a chain hotel where everything is the same. Our party had two rooms and both were huge and spacious with plenty of amenities and the bathrooms were as big as many bedrooms in other hotels! The six course evening meal was excellent, good portion sizes, extremely well cooked and very good waiting service. Breakfast had everything you could wish for on the buffet and then the opportunity to order things like scrambled eggs or kippers. Really couldn't fault it, and for £99 for two people its amazing value.
Not a great deal to do in Llandrindod but plenty of walks etc., we also went to Hay On Wye which is a quaint little town with various shops and great places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Bob, thanks for your feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully see you back again soon. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I attended a conference in the Wedgewood room, there's a large carpark and the hotel is easy to find. I didn't stay overnight so I can't comment on the hotel rooms. The metropole is a grand old building and unfortunately suffers from the (presumably) crippling costs of heating such a large building.
The wedgewood room was cold. The conference delegates kept our coats on. The upside of this meant the meeting was over 2 hours early! Tea, coffee, blueberry muffins and biscuits on arrival was great but there were not enough cups. As the room was cold we were drinking more tea and coffee, just to keep warm. We requested extra coffee/tea, but were refused because it would take too long to make!!!
The minimal buffet lunch arrived on time - plates of sandwiches with one helpfully labelled vegetarian, I've no idea what was actually in the sandwich. The sandwiches were cut into fingers, which meant they fell apart when eating them - not a pretty sight. The quiche could have been anything - meat or vege who knows? The plate of fruit was inviting, and at least there were finally enough cups for everyone.
I didn't want to linger and was happy to hit the road home.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Julia, you are right about the crippling costs of heating The Metropole. With utility bills of around £250,000 a year and going up annually I sometimes wonder if I am not paying for the heating costs of a small town! I am sorry if the the room was cold. It is one of our most popular rooms and in the 17 years I have run the hotel I can say this is the first time I have been told it was cold. Because there is no date on your feedback and the room is used so frequently I cannot be sure exactly when you attended the hotel but I will investigate and find out if there was a problem with the heating at anytime recently.
I will have a chat with chef about the finger buffet you received. As you will know from reading other feedback on Tripadvisor we can and usually do provide excellent food. There is no reason why this should not be the case whether you are enjoying a sandwich or the 6 course taster menu. Thank you for bringing your thoughts to my attention.
I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit the hotel again either on business or for pleasure. Regards Justin Baird-Murray owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Metropole is providing wonderful service with comfortable ambiance.The place has that attractive faded glamour of certain Hotels.
It has an updated pleasant Brasserie supported by the Main Restaurant serving a well thought out and executed Rosette 6 course "Taster" Dinner.
Very good staff - all of whom are going those extra miles !

Quite superb and will come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TENZNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Tenz, I am responding to your review on a Monday morning after another busy weekend and I think it is worth picking up in particular on your kind comments about the staff going the extra mile. They are a fantastic team that I have here and every department has to pull its weight to make things work and they all do. So thank you for your kind feedback and thank you to my excellent staff. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent a night at the hotel as part of a group of 4 friends (2 couples). Both double rooms were nice, clean and comfortable but our friends room did have a fire escape which obstructed the view from their windows. We took advantage of the good leisure facilities which included pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. We experienced an excellent evening meal which was a 6 course taster menu. We all agreed that this was one of the finest meals we had experienced with outstandind service from the staff. All the staff at the hotel were efficient, pleasant and helpful.
We enjoyed lunch on both days in the comfortable hotel bar and benefitted from a tasty breakfast with a good choice on the menu.
An excellent experience, which we hope to repeat in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room that has a fire escape outside your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Owen, thanks for your feedback and I hope that we will be welcoming you and your friends back again in the near future. Sadly of the 110 rooms there are a very small number, about 4, that are effected by a fire escape, but I suspect your friends would have been more upset if they had needed to use it and it was not there. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caerphilly
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

One night travelzoo deal.Good welcoming feel when you arrive and after a considerable drive enjoyed great brasserie lunch.Our room (executive) was small but comfortable and well equiped although the television was small and wall-mounted high in the corner making it difficult to see clearly.Bathroom good and apart from one minor issue (promptly dealt with) good standard of cleanliness.We enjoyed the pool and spa,the staff are all helpful and efficient.The 6 course taster menu was the best we have experienced,our evening meal was memorable and for this reason alone we will look to do this again soon I hope!

Room Tip: consider upgrade for a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Eve, we would be delighted to welcome you back again soon. The £99 offer will be running until the end of April so there is plenty of time to return and we still have availability over easter. I have noticed in the last few weeks a lot of people coming in parties of up to 8 which seems like a really good way for friends to have a night away together. I hope we will see you again soon. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caecaradog
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Another visit here this time overnight to sample their taster menu. Room a bit on the small side but obviously recently (and tastefully) renovated.
Excellent food, menu well balanced and just the right amounts with a complimentary glass of (genuine) champagne.
Would certainly return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caecaradog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
235 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
791 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
596 reviews
19.2 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing