We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character plus a re furb”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Character plus a re furb”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a regular for those invovled in Mid Wales Conferences and with its refurb provides a good combo of modern facilities with an individual setting coming from its history. Theres a larger restaurant for bigger groups or bistro for when you are Billy no mates. Double Dragon ale on tap in the bar is a bonus

Room Tip: 104 has a weird but interesting bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    444
    111
    37
    19
See reviews for
135
694
25
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent one night at the Metropole having won a dinner, bed and breakfast package in a Welsh Rarebits competition. On arrival at the hotel we learned that we had been upgraded. Our room was lovely , with a separate sitting room and excellent bathroom with separate walk in shower and bath. Comfortable king sized bed.
Dinner was excellent, presentation very good and portion sizes just right. Breakfast also very good and all the staff we met were courteous and attentive.
Only issue we had was a lot of noise from the wedding but when we spoke to reception that was quickly resolved apparently by closing doors.
This hotel is huge and a bit quirky but it seems to work. We had a drink in the bar which is very modern, didn't use the spa or pool but they looked good.
We really enjoyed our visit. Thanks to everyone at the Metropole.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJHNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frieth, Oxon. UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was one of the organisers of a 3 night 4 day touring event for pre-war MG cars.

We selected the hotel for a variety of good reasons: It is ideally situated; over the years it has been the preferred event hotel for a great number of historic car clubs; it specialises is supporting events such as ours; it is a 5th generation entirely independent business; its facilities and comforts are of a high standard; and above all they are really nice people!

The team entrusted with our event were readily available, highly professional and easily able to cater for the demands of a group of our size - around 120 people.

This is very much a family-owned business and we were all treated as though we were 'family'.

The allocated rooms were comfortable, well appointed and spick and span.

Breakfasts offered an excellent choice of dishes while the evening meals were nicely varied, well cooked and most appetising. Although one of the three evening meals was a set piece gala dinner, many of our guests said that they particularly enjoyed the served buffet which was taken on one of the other evenings.

The bar and brasserie area was also popular with our group - again a good selection of food at reasonable prices and a nice variaty of beverages.

If only other hotels could be like the Metropole .....

Room Tip: Try a Tower Room - it's worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGPAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Every time I go back, it simply cements in my mind why I do. Great service, lovely surroundings, the perfect weekend away. Also, the food, breakfast goes without saying as fantastic, but dinner was even better !
Luckily there is a great Spa to work off some of the calories.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear John, thank you for your very positive feedback and delighted that we continue to meet your expectations. Should that ever change please let me know directly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Kind regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Spent four nights at the hotel. Room faced an airshaft, which made it wonderfuly quiet for sleeping, but unfortunately because it had no air conditioning or fan also made the room very stuffy and rather hot. Front desk of hotel shuts down at night and really does not become active until 8am in the morning
Meals service was good and the food selection and quality was good. Parking is good and WiFi works well. I would have rated this hotel as very good had the room been better ventilated and the front desk available earlier.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AubreyP695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Aubrey, thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. I am sorry you found your bedroom stuffy. Air conditioning is not a requirement 98% of the time in Wales but we would have happily supplied a cooling fan.
The reception has a night Porter on duty from 10.30pm to 7.30 am and the reception staff come on duty at 7.00am. There are also cleaning staff in the hotel public areas from 6.00am. I apologise if you were unable to get attention for any unspecified issue but will raise the point you have made with my front of house team.
I hope we will be welcoming you back again in the future.
Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We visited the Metropole for a night for a family wedding. My first impression was how massive the place is, I've driven past quite a few times before and was deceived by the facade. At the front of the building is a seating/smoking area which is really nicely decorated with hanging baskets and has ample seating. There is a large car park round the back of the hotel which had two coaches in when we arrived but there was still loads of available parking. The hotel has a mixture of Victorian and modern features and the bar at the front of the building is a lovely example of this. We used a bar down in the heart of the building for the wedding which was staffed by some really knowledgable and enthusiastic staff. Expect to pay the usual 'hotel prices' though! If you're nervous about trying Guinness in new places like I am, don't worry, it's a great pint!! The room we stayed in was nicely decorated in a Victorian style. High ceilings, 20 inch skirting boards and well maintained. It also had a flat screen TV and the usual tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom was adequate and roomy, breakfast was great with a good selection of healthy fare and also the usual 'full English'. If you get time to use the gym and pool, I'd definitely recommend you do so. The gym is better equipped then some of the 'fitness rooms' I've seen before and the leisure pool is nicely kept. The jacuzzi wasn't switched on but the steam room and sauna were working fine when we visited. Overall, we really enjoyed our visit and can't wait to stay again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SteveRob77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear SteveRob, I was very pleased to read your feedback and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Jacuzzi has been misfiring but as I mentioned in a previous response to feedback it is now back up and running. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed for a 2 night spa break. It was a great value break and the hotel looked after us well. The service was good, the food a high standard and the spa treatments hit the spot perfectly. The hotel is big and old but don't let that put you off, its friendly and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a tower room which cost a little more but was well worth it for a 2 night stay when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerbhx95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Roger, I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your Spa break and I hope that it will encourage you to visit again soon. During the Autumn and winter we will be running our £99 offer which I hope you will be able to take advantage of.
Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
236 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
799 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
607 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing