We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality friendly hotel”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality friendly hotel”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights as part of a special offer, the standard of service was excellent,
nothing too much trouble. The food is excellent and especially the choice for breakfast, swimming pool good and the room we had was enormous, with the usual facilities .
We had problems finding the car park which is massive, it is located at the back of the hotel, but we may have missed some information.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekOPlimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Derek

Thank you for your very positive feedback. Any confirmation you recieved from us should mention the car park is at the rear of the hotel but I shall certainly check up on this. I hope it did not inconvienience you too much.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    437
    111
    37
    19
See reviews for
133
691
24
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights on an organised event over a weekend. I was allocated a quiet room on the top floor which had a very modern and bright shower room. Evening meals were filling and the buffet breakfast very hearty, just what you need for a day exploring mid Wales. Didn't have time to use the spa so unable to comment on that aspect.
Staff were very helpful and attentive, and if visiting the area again would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear PCGS,

Very pleased to read that you would return to the hotel on future visits to the area. I hope that will be in the very near future.

Kind regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yelverton
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We find this hotel a great base to use when visiting mid and north Wales.Areas of the hotel could do with updating but the bedrooms are pleasant and the food and service are both excellent.
The bar area is great for drinks before dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggjsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear ggjsg, I was delighted to read that you have returned again so shortly after your last visit. In an old building like The Metropole there is always something needing updating and we do try to keep on top of it. As I type the back terrace is being repainted.

I look forward to your next visit and hopefully by then you will be able to give us a 5 star rating having gone up to a 4 this time.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night and was very comfortable. The room was spacious with a separate lounge area and the bathroom was very modern and clean. There was a tv and tea & coffee making facilities. The only criticism I have is the room didn't have a mini fridge which I would expect in a 4* hotel. The spa facilities were good also with clean changing rooms. I stayed at the hotel as part of a special offer but felt the standard of service was the same as if I paid full price. The dinner and breakfast was good quality.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayolite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Mayolite99,
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. I am pleased that you were comfortable and hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We have stayed at this Hotel 4 times and loved it each time. The food is top notch especially breakfast, spa clean and well equipped and the rooms are fab. The packages they offer for 1 2 night stay are excellent value.
We had our first trip here as a couple and have made it our hotel with lovely memories

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Christina, how very nice to read your lovely comments about The Metropole. I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Attended the Metropole on business for a conference.
The building is very old and well preserved but inside there's a touch of modernisation!
My room was well equipped and comfortable, although a little warm, but this was probably to do with the weather! But my room had its own temperature thermostat.
Evening meal was delicious and plentiful and staff were most helpful and attentive to needs.
I spent a few hours in the bar which again was comfortable and uber modern with drinks priced, at what I thought was quite reasonable.
Breakfast the next morning was delicious with plenty of choice and again staff on hand.
I didn't have opportunity to visit spa facilities but I know that colleagues comments were positive about the amenities available.
Enjoyable 1 night stay. Would love to visit again.
Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Omi, I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable visit to The Metropole for you conference.

I hope that you will able to return for a relaxing break at some point in the future. We are running a very good offer of £99.00 DBB for 2 people through the winter that can be booked on our web site. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I booked a cheap one night deal with TravelZoo - B&B, glass of champagne, use of the spa facilities and a 6 course tasting menu. all for £99. To be perfectly honest we weren't expecting all that much as at that price it just seemed too good to be true. But from the moment we arrived our expectations were greatly exceeded. The hotel has clearly been refurbished relatively recently and it shows - lovely public spaces, an elegant bar and a great spa. We had anticipated a small room but we were given a large executive room with a bay window. It was clean and in good condition. And dinner - wow! Six lovely courses, all beautifully cooked and presented.

Honestly there was just nothing to complain about. This is a big, busy hotel but it has none of the 'old fashioned' or 'tired' feel of so many of this ilk. Congratulations to everyone at the Metropole and our thanks for a great one night stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brynmelyndavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Brynmelyndavid, delighted that we exceeded your expectations.

The £99 offer continues to be available on our web site which is our preferred way of you taking advantage of the offer as it saves on commission to Travel Zoo. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
235 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
791 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
596 reviews
19.2 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing