We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel few niggles ”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Worcs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel few niggles ”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We bought a deal from Travelzoo. The hotel exceeded our expectations in most respects: lovely spacious room, large comfortable super king bed, excellent service. The food is AA rosette so we were expecting something local and special. It looked lovely but the fish was overcooked and amongst the veg were baby sweetcorn and little beans which must have been flown in. We asked for a wake up call at 9am because breakfast service finished at 9.30. The call was forgotten and we made the meal by the skin of our teeth. Breakfast was very good: Excellent quality bacon and sausages.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wickedwilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Wilf,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us at The Metropole.

I am sorry there was a problem with your wake up call. This should not happen so please accept my apologies.

The use of local produce is something I have championed from long before it became fashionable and much of our produce is locally sourced. There are however some occasions when a compromise needs to be achieved simply because of the quantities we are using. For example in our garden we grow produce such as courgettes which we do not use huge amounts, however we simply do not have the space to grow carrots so we do have to rely on our local suppliers to provide these. It is about finding a balance and I hope we do that pretty well.

I hope we shall be welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future,

Regards
Justin Baird-MUrray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    433
    111
    35
    19
See reviews for
131
687
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked a one night stay with a 6 course taster Menu and full breakfast. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with an excellent bathroom en suite that included a separate bath and shower.

The taster menu was excellent considering how busy the Hotel was with 'proper' guests. The only downside was that our fish course was slightly over cooked and therefore, rather dry. The steak was excellent as were the two savoury courses.

The breakfast was to die for. The choices were unending ranging from full English through Cereals to continental.

The service was unobtrusive whilst being excellent.

A most interesting stay as it was a little like going back in time to a more refined and gentile time. Extremely relaxing and very enjoyable. I would certainly recommend anyone to try The Metropole and to enjoy the food and the ambience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Nick,

Thank you for your helpful feedback following your stay with us. I have passed on your point about the fish course and we will address this.

I hope we shall be welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We've just returned from an overnight stay at The Metropole. We were there on one of their special offers, £99 with a 6 course taster dinner. Room and bathroom were spacious and clean; bed probably one of the best we've slept in, in a hotel. Dinner was very good, more than enough for us; but I suspect possibly not enough for a young man, (I'm thinking of my grandson here!!). Spa facilities were excellent. Staff extremely hard working and attentive. Will we return? definitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandJean2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Metropole for a weekend with our walking group the hotel gave us a very good rate for dinner bed and breakfast.
My first impression of this huge family run Victorian hotel was good, I have been to other hotels of this age and found them to be in need of a facelift.
Our room was on the second floor a twin with two bathrooms one which was intended for disabled visitors and the other a spacious bathroom with excellent shower and bath toilet etc.
Both room and bathrooms were in excellent repair and very clean.
The Bar area is newly refurbished and modern,
The restaurant was excellent as was the food and service.
This is a very friendly hotel with some beautiful countryside within walking distance from the hotel door.
Hopefully we will return next year and discover more of this lovely area

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We visited this hotel on a two night special offer break. We had a 6 course Tasting Dinner Menu the first night which was very good and really interesting. Our meal the next night was also excellent. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. We had an executive room which was really comfortable. We had a most enjoyable break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We booked a special one night with taster menu and thought it was excellent value. Huge room with modern, large bathroom and very comfortable bed. Good pool with sauna and steam only disappointment that the Spa was closed even though advertised as open on Sunday. Included tasting menu was beautifully presented and good quality. Good wine list, well priced - only spoilt by our nice wine being served in pub wine glasses with a measure on!
All the staff were very friendly and helpfuyl. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice.

Room Tip: Room 218 - no view but large and lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rumpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Rumpuss,

Delighted to read that you had a good stay with us. The Spa is open seven days a week so I cannot understand how you came to understand it was closed. If you wished to have a treatment is is always advisable to book in advance however the facilities are available every day from 7am to 8 pm. I am sorry for any confusion.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Booked a 1 night stay for 2 off Travelzoo, £99 included a 6 course taster menu dinner, stay and breakfast.
Staff were very nice and polite, no issues at all, rooms were very basic but very clean, very very noisy with people slamming doors to their rooms and early morning 'walkers' not being considerate to other guests at all, making a hell of a row, then the house cleaner comes round to knock your door/wake you up at before 9am, tapping on the door with a coin possibility?, really not amused by this at all, I do not need to be told to move from my room!
Dinner was poor at best, the couple sat next to us also said it was probably a 4 out of 10 at best, not a very good experience at all, would not recommend, a small amount of soup in a huge bowl, a small piece of fish, a chicken terrine, beef (beef?) small piece with 1 potato and lastly a Camembert with a few cheese biscuits, all in all not a great eating experience.
Would I return, no, not even at the discounted rate we had, really a tired old hotel with a chef who thinks his food is better than it really is, there are better deals out there to be had.

Room Tip: Top floor maybe away from anyone else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SFry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Mr Fry,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your dinner at The Metropole last Friday night. I think that at 49.50 incl VAT per person the package which includes dinner, a glass of Champagne, overnight accommodation and breakfast represents tremendous value for money, a fact recognised by the majority of our guests.

We will have to disagree on the hotel being tired. It is of course old, built as it was by my great great Grandmother, something we are very proud of. Visitors to the hotel this winter who enjoyed last years winter deal will note that since their visit we have redecorated and added a fire place to the lounge behind reception, repainted the rear terrace and added a lovely relaxation room to our Spa offering. There is always a lot of work to be done keeping an old building in good condition and whilst never being complacent I think we do a pretty good job. Indeed there are not many hotels of our size and age in the borders and Herefordshire that can compare.

Nic has been my head chef for 10 years and he is his own fiercest critic. I am sure we will have a spirited conversation over your views.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by other guest and a housekeeper going about her duties. May I suggest that in future hotel stays use of the 'do not disturb' sign might assist.

Thank you for your view of your stay with us.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
254 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
787 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 5 in Howey
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing