We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Break”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We took advantage of the special offer one night stay - dinner, bed and breakfast for £99.00. So glad we did, as we have had a delightful time. We arrived earlier than the stated check-in time of 4.00pm, but were able to get into the room at 2.00pm, which was great. It gave us time to have a short wander around the town and have a drink in the friendly hotel bar. Our room was in one of the first floor towers, giving us a bedroom and separate little sitting area. It was clean, warm and well appointed. Really good bathroom with bath, walk-in shower and loads of towels. The 6 course taster menu was lovely - service was polite, prompt and non-intrusive, and the food was well cooked and nicely presented. Couldn't fault anything. Breakfast next morning was delicious with loads of choice. The food on the hot buffet was very good, with everything fresh and, unusually for a hot buffet, not at all dried out. Great bacon and sausages. We had a wander around the leisure facilities, and although we didn't get a chance to try them on this occasion, were impressed by the cleanliness and the attitude of the lovely lady on reception. Check-out was prompt and polite. We will certainly be back again, and try the spa next time. Well done to everyone.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor in one of the towers. Large and well placed for the stairs and lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliBrown1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Ali,

Thank you for your kind feedback following your recent stay at The Metropole.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again soon and I hope on this occasion you will have time to make use of the Spa.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is a large rambling Victorian edifice. Some parts are modern - the spa and bar/brasserie, for example. But other parts are a bit quaint - the reception area and the lifts await refurbishment. If arriving by car, you need to find the large car park to unload - it's discreetly tucked behind the hotel, without too much direction signage. Our fourth-floor room was a bit of a tired attic garret, which was very snug - poky even. But the staff were helpful when we complained about the accommodation quality, and moved us to a much larger suite for the second night of our stay. There's a large restaurant, with a good dinner menu and an excellent buffet breakfast. A very pleasant spa, with a good swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room, but the sauna could do with being a little warmer. A good base to explore mid-Wales.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Have stay rwice now March 12 and March 13, both time arranging a group stay
Looked after us well, Sorted a private room for a meal for us all on the Saturday night,, good food and service, ample parking, entertaining bar afterwards,,
Only downside was, after having a nice "turret" room the first time, somewhat disappointed to have the box room this year !!

Room Tip: Turret rooms are better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We visited this hotel on a Travelzoo offer. This was very good value and we had a lovely stay. After check in (we were early) we had lunch and went to our room. We had a lovely spacious room and very comfortable. The 6 course tasting menu that night was lovely. A good menu with nice dishes. Breakfast in the morning was buffet style and thought that the quality was not quite as good as the restaurant the night before. The staff were all pleasant and friendly. The hotel was an old building in the town. We did enjoy our stay and if we were in the area again, we would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVS603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Where do we start........Excellent, Excellent, Excellent just returned from a weekend and had a fabulous time, booked through travel zoo and value for money was outstanding. All staff professional and friendly, Spa was superb, we booked a massage with a 35% discount voucher which was given to us at reception and the therapist came in early to fit us both in what better service could you ask for. The room was large and clean. We had a 6 course taster menu included which was just delicious the only fault we could mention was that the service was a little too fast once the plate was cleared then the next dish was served. Breakfast was also faultless and very very tasty. Would definitely return, change that we will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Pros:
All staff were friendly and went out of their way(s) to be flexible and helpful too - very noticable.
First family room ok (with only 4'6" double). Second was better as it had larger double.
Excellent tasting menu in the main restaurant - great quality and value.
Brasserie was acceptable alternative too.
Decent pool and Jacuzzi.

Cons:
Menu in main restaurant didn't change, didn't want tasting menu twice even though it was excellent.
Invariably some stairs to rooms, even having taken lift, due to the age/character of the building.
A few too many cobwebs on the light fittings etc - perhaps a reminder to housekeeping required?
Didn't like the bathroom light coming on automatically at night - it was too bright and disturbed others. Could this be selectable?

Room Tip: Some family rooms have bigger double beds than others - if you're used to a large bed, check fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shentodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Agree with Hereford Spike completely. Excellent value with Travelzoo voucher. Lovely restored Victorian hotel. 6 course taster menu delightful. May even go back at full price ! Only slight disappointment was breakfast - bacon, and scrambled eggs very dry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimVenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
824 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
638 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 4 in Howey
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: £123 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing