We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bergerac
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

A very lovely, large, Victorian privately owned hotel. We did the Travelzoo overnight break £99. Visited with our 2 spaniels. Received a warm welcome, lovely, quiet, warm corner room number 235. Big bedroom, comfy bed, large bathroom and everything spotless. The hotel is well maintained,warm, appropriately furnished, the staff very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is nicely decorated. The food is delicious. The 6 course dinner menu was an eye opener. Food well cooked, with soup, chicken terrine, sea bass, fillet steak followed by dessert. The English breakfast offering next morning was scrumptious and somewhat better than some other 4 or 5* establishments we have visited. Would highly recommend and will return, Travelzoo voucher or not. This hotel does not try to be something it's not. It's a friendly, cosy, efficient, appropriately furnished establishment with great staff and great food. Well done.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Fonclose,

What very kind clear feedback following your stay with us, thank you.

The £99 offer will continue to run through the winter and as I always say in my responses to feedback please book on our web site, it saves us a great deal in commission and enables up to continue to offer great deals.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    416
    105
    31
    19
See reviews for
123
665
24
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The staff were good, the rooms and facilities OK. The food was fairly good. Directions into the car park could be much better... not easy to find, given the car park is down a road behind the hotel.

My stay was fine, so would like to give it 3.5 stars, rather than 4. With some small changes, it could easily each 4 star.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanniebren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Nanniebren,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay. The car park is quite large and at the rear of the hotel from which there are 2 entrances into the hotel. We do mention in our confirmations that the hotel is at the rear and there is a sign at the front of the hotel.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Let`s face it we came here because of a great on line offer.£99 for a superior room with 6 course taster menu,glass of champagne and full welsh breakfast.Was it good value - YES.Was the room good - Yeees.More 3star. plus than four star bedroom curtains frayed over radiator or more accurately almost melted.Rather small TV and no bottled water.Was the taster menu good- YES.The food and service were delightful and far exceeded our expectations.No criticism whatsoever.The glasses of wine that we chose to accompany the meal were excellent.Was the bar area and coffee good - YES. Again excellent service and coffee.Was the breakfast good yees to a point.Good service , other than tea and coffee which were served at the table in good quantities it was standard big hotel self service which is probably the best you can expect.
Overall this is a well run very large hotel in a sadly declining town which is doing an amazing job.My wife and I would happily come again and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor at the rear but I should think that it doesn`t matter where you stay.The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harveyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Harvey

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us and YES we would be delighted to welcome you and your wife back to the hotel anytime soon.

I will speak to Caroline my housekeeper about the curtains. These things should be repaired.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

The Travelzoo overnight break, including breakfast, champagne and the 6 course tasting menu was brilliant value. The staff were extremely friendly, the room was lovely and we enjoyed a pre dinner swim in the pool. The food was excellent. We will certainly visit again, even without a special deal voucher!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank willyw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Willy

Thank you for your generous feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have had breaks here before and returned for our 25th .We were given a couple of nice treats but staff were not over the top , just ideal.The manager / owner also introduced himself, again in a nicely balanced way.
As an independent things are often a bit different from others and the Metropole still offers great value. We enjoyed the chefs taster menu and the great breakfast.
We will be going back.

Room Tip: We like the higher floors in this lovely pile but avoid if they are not your thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happychap103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Bardwell,

It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay and am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning.

Kind regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torfaen
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed one night on a deal of £99.00 for 2 with breakfast and dinner. We arrived well before 2 and didn't think our room would be ready as normal check is 4.00. When we checked in we were politely told our room wasn't ready but would update us as soon as they could. We then went into the coffee shop only to be followed by the assistant manager to say our room was ready. We we're given a room on the 3rd floor and must admit it was lovely. A huge room with a huge bathroom. All very clean with all the necessary essentials e.g. Coffee/tea facilities with biscuits, toiletries hair dryer. It would have been a nice to have had a bathrobe supplied as after using the spa swimming facilities it would have been nice just to put the robe on instead of getting fully dressed.

It's a huge hotel with lots of different rooms, plenty of sitting lounge areas. The coffee shop/bar was lovely we had a nice snack there. The service and politeness of staff were excellent. Our only gripe we had was that the tv wasn't working and we and others wanted to see the rugby match so had to go else where which was such a pity as the bar was very comfortable and warm.

As part of the deal we had a 6 course taster meal which have to say was lovely and more than enough food followed by a glass of champagne. All served with friendly and efficient staff.

The breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice. Overall a lovely hotel for a night get away. Nice food, friendly staff and a lovely spar facility.

We would definitely recommend this hotel especially if the deal came up again. There is not much do do outside the hotel within walking distance but nice areas to visit around with a car.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torfaenwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Torfaenwesty,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry the TV was not working. The TV in the bar is only allowed on for very special occasions and that includes whenever Wales are playing rugby. I suspect this could be more of a training issue than anything else. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Metropole again soon.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is our fourth visit as a family to the Metropole and we have just returned from yet another wonderful stay. Each year when looking for a short October break we look elsewhere, with the thought of trying somewhere different, yet each year we end up returning here. The family bedrooms are clean, comfortable and spacious, the food on the gourmet break was excellent (childrens meals at extra cost were very good), and the spa is superb with many an hour spent enjoying the facilities - all at a great price. We find the hotel warm, relaxing and welcoming with attentive service and over the years we have been visiting we have seen many improvements and changes to the decor and layout as they seek to update and improve.
This is an old victorian family run hotel - a rare (and commendable) thing in itself these days! - so if you're looking for modern, chic, new and up-to-date then this may not be your thing. If however, you want somewhere you can relax in comfort, warmth, old but clean and well maintained surroundings, with an element of endearing querkiness and with staff quietly always nearby to help, then we would certainly recommend the Metropole.
As it's an old hotel in the middle of Llandrindod, you perhaps wouldn't expect to find the car park next to the front door of the hotel, you will however, find a huge spacious car park at the rear (with a pleasant terraced staircase to the rear door) and it's safely tucked away in a quiet residential street - and easy to find. Out and about the Elan Valley and reservoirs are spectacular at this time of year with plenty of walking opportunities and a visitor centre with cafe and chidrens play area that is worth a visit.
In summary, our children continue to enjoy this hotel, the grown-ups always come away feeling relaxed and I have no doubt that we will return again for another short break in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alcazemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Alcazemka

Thank you for your full and generous feedback of your recent stay at The Metropole. It is lovely when people appreciate exactly what we are and what we are trying to offer.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
21.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing