We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempting taster menu, beautiful refurbishment & sumptuous spa”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Tempting taster menu, beautiful refurbishment & sumptuous spa”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Metropole with my mother and daughter on a DBB basis.

The room was large with a modern bathroom, huge walk in shower and appeared freshly decorated. The bedroom had older furniture to fit the period of the hotel, a huge bed, big enough for all 3 of us and a cot was provided free of charge.

The spa facilities are free to use for guests with
towels & lockers provided. Adequate sized indoor heated pool, arm bands for little ones, jaquizzi and sauna. Beautifully finished throughout.

The restaurant served a 6 course taster menu. The starter was the weakest course, Tuscan bean soup, decent portion but it wasn't as refined as other courses. The fish was cooked perfectly, the beef rare and the goats cheese melted...perfect. Staff were polite and attentive throughout.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HevNige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Hevnige,

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay at The Metropole. Chef and I will have a chat about your comments regarding the soup which I have some sympathy with.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    444
    111
    37
    19
See reviews for
135
694
25
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A 4 star hotel in the old tradition. Yes, it is a bit of a rabbit warren, but what old, large hotel isn't? Its called 'Character'.
We had an 'Executive' room, which was very comfortable. A good sized room with a king size bed (or was it 2 singles zipped together?) and a small round table with 2 chairs. (plus the usual dressing table & tea making facility, of course) The bathroom was something else!!! A good sized bath AND a separate walk in shower that had a dual head - a big fixed drench head and a smaller one on a hose. Good temperature and water flow. We could have stayed in there for ages!
The food was as you'd expect from a 4* - well prepared and presented. Personally I don't like the 'haute cuisine' style - small portions artistically arranged on a large plate, but my partner assured me that it was excellent. (Although, it did leave room for all 3 courses, so maybe I need to change my eating habits....) For my second meal I went for a roast. Much more to my liking! Not too much china showing there! (But I did feel rather full...)
At breakfast I was that awkward customer that wanted poached eggs, not fried, with my full english. No problem - poached eggs provided very quickly, with a smile.
Fantastic old place, recently had a LOT of money spent on it on the inside, but it still needs more spent on the outside. Don't worry about the way the outside looks, the insides are sound!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblinpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Pete

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. Not everyone actually 'gets' what The Metropole is about and after an earlier feedback it was a pleasure to read feedback from someone who does.

I am delighted your request for poached eggs was a success. Lesley my breakfast chef is a pretty dap hand at poached eggs. Some hotels for some reason use vinegar in the poaching process which is a complete waste of time.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Not sure what other reviewers are raving about? I received a fairly standoffish welcome at reception was told my room was on the second floor, no directions and given that it is a rabbit warren of an hotel, it took some time to find my room. The room was ok, but not what I would have expected given the room rate! Beware of the stairs, they are steep and the tread is very narrow, not good if you have any infirmities, I ate in the bistro which was fine and the staff here were very attentive, in fact it felt as if they were overstaffed! Breakfast somewhat made up for the room and was of a good standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Pedro,

I think what the other reviewers are raving about is the fact that in an age when traditional hotels that employ people and contribute to the community have almost completely disappeared The Metropole continues to flourish as a family run hotel.

I am sorry if your welcome was less than warm, that is most unusual from the lovely team I have working on reception.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Found out about this place via the Travelzoo offer, which was fantastic value, and have been telling everyone about it since. We had a large room on the 3rd floor with an equally huge bathroom, a very comfy bed and a view over the park. The room was well laid out, with the desk tucked away round the corner so work didn't intrude TOO much! The taster menu was delicious, much better than I'd been expecting, frankly. It was great to be able to have a swim before supper in the well appointed spa. The staff were, without exception, helpful and friendly, a real credit to the place. As others have mentioned, the car park is vast and handily placed. This does mean there isn't much in the way of grounds, but in November this is hardly a problem! And anyway, this is a town centre hotel, not a country house. We really enjoyed our overnight stay, and wished we'd booked for longer. Difficult to think of any suggestions for improvements: bottled water and facecloths are the only things I can come up with.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billb0ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Bill,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and are passing this on to friends. Please encourage them to book directly though. All offers are available on our web site and by booking directly it saves us paying the massive commissions we have to pay to companies such as travel zoo, up to 25% in some cases!

The £99 offer will run through to the end of April and hopefully you will find the time for a return visit.

Thank you for your very kind comments

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergerac
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A very lovely, large, Victorian privately owned hotel. We did the Travelzoo overnight break £99. Visited with our 2 spaniels. Received a warm welcome, lovely, quiet, warm corner room number 235. Big bedroom, comfy bed, large bathroom and everything spotless. The hotel is well maintained,warm, appropriately furnished, the staff very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is nicely decorated. The food is delicious. The 6 course dinner menu was an eye opener. Food well cooked, with soup, chicken terrine, sea bass, fillet steak followed by dessert. The English breakfast offering next morning was scrumptious and somewhat better than some other 4 or 5* establishments we have visited. Would highly recommend and will return, Travelzoo voucher or not. This hotel does not try to be something it's not. It's a friendly, cosy, efficient, appropriately furnished establishment with great staff and great food. Well done.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Fonclose,

What very kind clear feedback following your stay with us, thank you.

The £99 offer will continue to run through the winter and as I always say in my responses to feedback please book on our web site, it saves us a great deal in commission and enables up to continue to offer great deals.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The staff were good, the rooms and facilities OK. The food was fairly good. Directions into the car park could be much better... not easy to find, given the car park is down a road behind the hotel.

My stay was fine, so would like to give it 3.5 stars, rather than 4. With some small changes, it could easily each 4 star.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanniebren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Nanniebren,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay. The car park is quite large and at the rear of the hotel from which there are 2 entrances into the hotel. We do mention in our confirmations that the hotel is at the rear and there is a sign at the front of the hotel.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Let`s face it we came here because of a great on line offer.£99 for a superior room with 6 course taster menu,glass of champagne and full welsh breakfast.Was it good value - YES.Was the room good - Yeees.More 3star. plus than four star bedroom curtains frayed over radiator or more accurately almost melted.Rather small TV and no bottled water.Was the taster menu good- YES.The food and service were delightful and far exceeded our expectations.No criticism whatsoever.The glasses of wine that we chose to accompany the meal were excellent.Was the bar area and coffee good - YES. Again excellent service and coffee.Was the breakfast good yees to a point.Good service , other than tea and coffee which were served at the table in good quantities it was standard big hotel self service which is probably the best you can expect.
Overall this is a well run very large hotel in a sadly declining town which is doing an amazing job.My wife and I would happily come again and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor at the rear but I should think that it doesn`t matter where you stay.The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harveyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Harvey

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us and YES we would be delighted to welcome you and your wife back to the hotel anytime soon.

I will speak to Caroline my housekeeper about the curtains. These things should be repaired.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
236 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
799 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
607 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing