We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent gourmet break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Trimsaran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent gourmet break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Enjoyable 1 night 6 course taster gourmet break,amazing value at £99 per couple including a glass of champagne!All the staff were very friendly and efficient,rooms clean and a decent size we somehow managed to be allocated a room we usually have when we stay for a weekend with a car club at Whitsun! It would have been nice to have been allocated another room but this did not deter from our enjoyment ,full breakfast was also included in the deal which was plentiful with plenty of choice snd freshly cooked to order.Spa facilities were available but we did not use this time,A lovely hotel which we are looking forward to returning to in the near future

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfiemillie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Allfiemillie

Thank you for your helpful review. Our guest history will have indicated that you had stayed before and upon returning we would have allocated you the same room on the assumption that you would not return if you did not like the bedroom! This policy tends to work however please let us know next time you come and we will ring the changes for you.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    416
    105
    32
    19
See reviews for
123
665
24
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
south staffs
Level Contributor
95 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had a one night deal including breakfast and six course meal including use of leisure facilities and it was great.
Excellent food ,staff and modern swimming pool ,sauna and hot tub.
I have to have a gluten free diet and the restaurant had all i required....well done.
A great deal of money has been spent here recently , and it shows.
There was a pump like noise outside our room , 123 i think , we reported it and was told that it will be dealt with promptly.... i trust they will.
Don't be put off by the green exterior .
All in all a very good experience and would have no hesitation in going again.

Room Tip: May get hectic if a wedding or party is going on ...check first
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joebloggsSouthStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Joe,

Thank you for your feedback and I am especially pleased that we managed to cater for your diet without any hick ups.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Thanks to the Metropole for once again making a special occasion feel special . Had a fantastic meal served by a young lady Fiona , whose service was professional pleasant without being over the top or false . The food was tasty ,cooked to perfection and good value for the quality on offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sg51267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Sg

I am so pleased to read that you had a happy birthday at The Metropole and was so well looked after by Fiona. I will insure she is aware of your kind comments.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
230 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Excellent food and service, wye room fantastic, super swim+Jacuzzi. Party 14 all served hot fab food. Breakfast top quality. Only gripe i had a massage last visit £20 ish. Had one this time, didnt check price as thought was ok last time! My friend who had already booked in said u get 35% disc if u go an hr later! The 25min massage was £50! !!! I said can i get the disc or rebook for later, was told no! So was rather annoyed with being so blatently ripped off. Disappointing! Emailed the spa! No reply! Shame! My fault?... or was that extortionate???

Room Tip: Wye or tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Rocky,

I am sorry that you felt let down by your spa experience. It does appear that there was an element of inflexability about how you were treated and this is not how I like things to operate.

I know you are visiting again in January and we will shall endeavour to make up for our shortcomings on your that visit. Please accept my apologies.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was a birthday present and well worth it. We had a voucher for one night stay and tasting menu. Check in was easy the room was big, the bed was huge(!) and very comfortable, the shower , modern, clean and powerful. The food was delicious and it was a treat to have something so different from the usual. Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty.
On the negative side atmosphere was a bit dull and the newspaper we ordered was not, in fact, ordered.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Hotel Metropole will tick all your boxes .This is the second time we have been here in the last few weeks and it was excellent on both occasions.This time we opted to dine in the restaurant. The service was flawless - courteous, warm and polite. The food was excellent , every course delicious! The table was laid beautifully and everything on the table was sparkling clean. We all had the Christmas lunch . It was excellent on all counts. Everywhere in this hotel is clean. They work very hard at this hotel and it shows!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerefordRitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear HerefordRitzy

Thank you for your very kind feedback. I am very fortunate to have an excellent team of very hardworking staff and it is very nice you to highlight there contribution.

I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Metropole again soon.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have driven past the Metropole dozens of times but never stopped or stayed. We saw a Travelzoo offer and decided that this was the time to find out. What a great offer!.
The green painted exterior doesn't do it any favours i'm afraid, but once inside it's all forgotten. Plenty of parking at the rear of the hotel which is not obvious from the front. There is access from the car park with a lift also. Warm friendly welcome. Nice room, spacious and great bathroom with separate shower. We had tea and cake in the bar which was served by a nice friendly member of staff - nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed the 6 course taster menu very much - excellent. Breakfast was brilliant - plenty to choose from. Tasty food using local produce. This hotel has been in the same family for many, many years. This is an old Victorian Spa town with some nice architecture with a picturesque lake. Good area for walking and is also near the Elan Valley reservoir which supplies Birmingham's water - by gravity !. Great scenery abounds in these parts. Llandrindod Wells also has a train station - on the beautiful Heart of Wales line from Shrewsbury to Swansea. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenBrierley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Mr Brierley

Delighted to read you enjoyed your stay on the Metropole offer we sell through our website and online agent Travel Zoo.

Lesley, my breakfast chef will be delighted at your assessment of the breakfast she provided. She is a great asset to the hotel and deserves all the praise for a 'brilliant' breakfast.

There is a sign on the Iron work at the front of the hotel directing people around the square to the rear of the hotel for our car park, but I appreciate that in the excitement of arriving this can be missed.

You are right about the wonderful scenery that abounds and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon. I would encourage you to book directly on our website as this saves the high commission charged by agents.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
21.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing