We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Room was a good size. Disappointing bathroom. Did not get any hot water! At best it was lukewarm and the shower would flood. There was a time/motion sensor in the bathroom that would turn off while I was in the bathroom getting ready or taking a shower. Nice lobby area and dinner was very nice. I didn't find much in the town but it is a good base for exploring Mid Wales. I was just left underwhelmed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sarah,

I am sorry that you were left underwhelmed by your stay in Llandrindodod Wells. Judging by your comments on the other hotels you stayed in during your visit to the UK it was not the greatest trip, which is such a shame.

I am in the dark over the hot water. As I live in the hotel I am usually the first to notice any problems on that front and I have not been aware of anything. Obviously I would not doubt your experience and I do apologies. I trust you brought it to the attention of one of my staff.

I am pleased that you enjoyed dinner and hopefully relaxing in our lobby.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    433
    111
    35
    19
See reviews for
131
687
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having stayed in the hotel with a group of 18 golfers I can only say staying at the Metropole is an ideal choice for visiting mid Wales and Hereford. The hotel staff were very attentive and cheerful and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were large and spacious and well maintained and clean. We had an evening meal which was of a good quality and quantity. Breakfast was plentiful but there was a bit of a wait for fried eggs as everyone appeared for breakfast at the same time. There is plenty of parking which is at the rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elovabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Elovabloke
Thanks for you feedback following your recent stay and I hope that the golf went well. On rare occasions there can be a bit of a charge at breakfast for the buffet but on the whole the kitchen are very good at keeping on top of it. I am sorry if there was a delay on this occasion.
I hope that we will see you back in 2015 for a rematch.
Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire Wales
Level Contributor
168 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for a night last Wednesday and had a great stay.

the Hotel has character and great staff that ensured our stay was enjoyable. We did not eat here so can't comment on the dinner, but the breakfast was excellent.

wish we had been able to get there earlier in the day to make use of their fabulous spa facilities !next time hopefully.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ew6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear ew6460,
Thank you for your feedback following your brief stay with us. I am sorry that you did not get the opportunity to dine with us or use the Spa. I hope that on a future visit you will find the time to make use of these facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
470 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights DBB on one of their Getaway Breaks, including upgrade to executive room, tasting menu one night & 3 course dinner the other.
We've stayed here a few times over the years on special offer rates and think it's a nice base for visiting the local area. However, it's expensive for what's on offer if you pay anything like the rack rate.
Room was recently refurbished and a reasonable size, but had an uninspiring wall and roof outlook. The heating didn't work, but we were given 2 fan heaters.
Food was pleasant enough. Breakfast was the usual business hotel luke warm buffet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Angus,
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. I don't get the feeling from your feedback that there was much of a 'wow' in your stay which I am sorry about. I hope that on future visits we can make things a bit more special for you.
Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talbot Green
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Metropole was a lovely venue for a Valentines Day weekend. We took advantage of their 'dinner, dance & overnight stay' inclusive package. Great value as this included use of their indoor pool & breakfast.
Don't let the outside fool you - it's a superb place. (Often used for government conferences etc as central location for Wales, so obviously considered to be more than good enough for the 'top brass').
The room was lovely, nice coffee & biscuits, excellent bathroom - the whole place was spotless.
Swimming pool is delightful (but was a little cold). The location is beautiful - we took a morning walk around the lake near to the hotel.
Can't recommend highly enough - service is fantastic, very efficient but friendly.
Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Kevin,
Thank you very much for such praise following your stay with us. I have a great team working with me here at The Metropole and they endeavour to make everyone welcome and treat everyone as 'top brass'.
I hope we will see you back again soon,
Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Saw and overnight break advertised for BB and evening meal, however the evening meal was a 6 course taster with a glass of prosecco each. Bit sceptical as not used to this type of food. But it was stunning. The staff were professional, the layout in the dining room meant you weren't sitting on top of each other and the evening just flowed. Couple of beers in the bar afterwards and we were all stuffed. If you an offer like this jump at the chance,

Room Tip: try and leave enough room for breakfast because it's equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Nick
Thanks for your feedback following your stay with us and delighted we went beyond your expectations. Offer are general available on our web site and we will be running the 6 course taster menu again from October so hopefully will see you back again soon.
Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Thanks once again to Justin and all at 'The Metropole'. Always a pleasure to stay at this family owned hotel. Staff are very professional and friendly. Good food and leisure facilities. We will be returning next year with our motorcycling mates.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Kay,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback following your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Regards
Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
254 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
787 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 5 in Howey
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing