We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good leisure facilities”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here for one night on business.It is a nice Victorian hotel in the centre of LLandridnod Wells, not far from the train station. It is not much to look at from the outside but is very nicely decorated inside and has extensive communal seating areas, a bar/restaurant, a more formal restaurant and a gym/spa. There is also a well maintained public garden over the road and a large car park for guests.
The check in was efficient and friendly. The room was large, well decorated and clean and had everything I would expect. The bathroom had a bath and separate shower and the the toiletries provided were OK. I ate in the bar restaurant, where the food was good and the prices were OK too. Breakfast the next day was also very good. There was a large selection of hot food and some continental. I used the pool before breakfast. It was larger than the average hotel pool and also had a sauna and steam room. The gym looked good too. My only gripe was that the WiFi did not work consistently during my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Kerry,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry you had a problem with the free wifi and I have raised this with our wifi providers. I am pleased to say the Llandrindod is due to get super fast broadband connectivity by December 2014 which will be great for everyone in the town, residents and visitors.
Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend.
The hotel Is nice Bar area very clean tidy and the staff very efficient.
We had a room on the first floor overlooking a flat roof, Not much of a view But the room was nice and comfortable,

As we were with a large group, meal times were military operated and it felt a bit rushed at times.

Cant fault the staff, they were all pleasant and helpful.

I would go back again, but rather as a twosome it might be a bit more relaxing at mealtimes.

Room Tip: First floor rooms at the back if its a hot weekend. Front rooms were stifling hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank streetcrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at The Metropole and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just got back from a two night stay at this hotel... The staff were fantastic, food was great... Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room was a nice size and very clean. would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel6349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Mel
Thank you for your very kind feedback following your stay at The Metropole. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Justin Baird Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

What a great place!

Fantastic food, brilliant friendly helpful staff. Huge room. Safe parking.

Spotless room keeping. Wifi everywhere.

The quality of food was wonderful too.

Could not fault it.

We loved it and look forward to returning next year.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank scottchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Scott
Thank you for your awesome feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back next year if not before.
Regards
Justin Baird Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just returned from this Hotel while on a coach trip of Mid Wales.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food a very high standard. Nothing was too much trouble. Hope to return again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Marie
Thank you for your kind feedback and we hope you will return. There are often special deals on our website and I hope that one of these will tempt you back soon.
Regards
Justin Baird Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed just one night the room was comfortable but seemed cramped compared with other hotels used on this trip. As noted in other reviews it shows its age. The town was closed in the evening when we arrived and we left early next morning.The bed was comfortable but the breakfast more than made up for the small inconveniences. The staff were friendly and helpful and apologised for not being ready when we turned up 5 minutes early for breakfast. However they brought us coffee and all was soon rolling. The welsh seem to have the full English breakfast down to a T. In all the stay was pleasant and the surrounding countryside atmosphere was very relaxing

Room Tip: Some rooms had lots of stairs and the lift, small but efficient took us up to a level where we still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Steve,
I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and the staff looked after you well. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Regards
Justin Baird Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This lovely old hotel in Llandrindod is in dire need of a makeover, its as tired as the town is looking itself really. The hotel seems to thrive on coach triper's and day conference facilities so the footfall is high and the wear and tear on this grand old hotel is showing. In part, i.e. the Spa area its modern and new and fine but the carpets and the rooms and the general decor is tired, got a nice new shower unit though.

Room Tip: ok for a business trip but not recomended for a holiday, ask for a double bed.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiazzaNavonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
11 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
246 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
283 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
666 reviews
7 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: £123 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing